Talbot

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Talbot Hotel, Oundle

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jennifer on 27th July, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: The check-in process went quickly and smoothly, the room was most comfortable and free off-street parking was provided behind the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the service was great and the food was absolutely delicious. The check-out process went smoothly with the account being accurate and easy to read. General review: I really enjoyed my stay and would have stayed longer if time had allowed. I appreciated having a kettle in the room with complimentary tea, coffee and milk. I was so pleased to experience great service and delicious food in such a charming hotel.

Date visited: 2010-07-27

Review by Tim Brophy on 16th August, 2009

Add your review
My wife and I got married at the Talbot in 2000 the best day and service we could of wished for, I booked a surprise return stay for my wife and I this week...... When we turned up we were given the keys to room 48 as we entered the dark room we were greeted with and unmade bed and a wet towel on the floor not a good start. After a 40 min wait were given room 12 which was a much nicer room but had a smell of damp carpet about it! We decided not to eat at the Talbot and had a fabulous meal and service at the Oundle Mill a 1/4 mile stroll away. House keeping knocked on the door at 8.30am asking if we were having a shower as the restaurant had water dripping on the floor! The bucket proved this when we went for breakfast, such a shame for the once grand Talbot to be coming apart at the seams.

Date visited: 15 August 2009

Review by Stephen on 31st March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: In a lovely town and the hotel staff were excellent Bad Points: Room was tired and badly in need of redecoration. General review: Excellent for customer service but the building needs some work.

Date visited: 2009-03-31

Review by helen evason on 11th November, 2008

Add your review
Made the booking with a discount online for a 3 day stay. Having visited here about 3 years ago i was looking forward to a return visit. We were given the fotheringay suite which was very spacious and an unexpected bonus to our online deal. The room was comfortable and the bed was king size and very comfy, bath and a shower which was appreciated on a cold night. The only faults we can find are that there is definitelya nedd for some redecoration throughout the hotel. Our room had sticky tape in the bathroom and on skirting boards and a bad damp stain in the bedroom. The breakfasts were excellent and more than we could eat, but our one and only evening meal was a big disappointment. I would definitely recomend staying here but best go somewhere else to eat.

Date visited: 1 nov 2008

Review by Diane on 8th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Hotel quiet and central, easy to find and not fully booked Bad Points: The booking which I made on line and confirmed by phone within five minutes of having the incorrect confirmation was still wrong on arrival. The tables in the dining room were so sticky the glasses and cutlery stuck to the table! There has obviously boon no updating to this hotel for decades! Room price was extortionate for the decor and nature of the rooms especially the themed rooms! General review: Not a pleasant experience and very disappointing since the website made it look quite nice.

Date visited: 2008-09-08

Review by ian on 12th October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: very nice room , clean and comfortable, nice to have a music centre , bathroom very nice General review: we were very impressed by the waiter and waitress who looked after us at dinner and breakfast time,polite and friendly as was the receptionist , had a nice relaxing stay, highly recommended

Date visited: 2007-10-12

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All that we are not stares back at what we are. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
Boston Massachusetts Founded - 1630, Operation Market Garden - Allied invasion of Holland - 1944, Lord of the Flies Published - 1954
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages