The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Bell, Thetford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jan on 4th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: We were able to negotiate a cooked breakfast 15 mins earlier than the weekend scheduled time. The receptionist and breakfast waitress were polite and friendly. Bad Points: The bar staff and night porter were unhelpful. No drinks were available in the guest lounge. One couple belonging to our party ate in the hotel and reported the food was terrible, so none of the rest of us ate there. The hotel overall was dusty and dingy. We were told that it had been taken over and staff were losing their jobs, which accounted for the run-down state of the place and the appalling attitude of the bar staff and night porter, particularly on Sunday night. General review: We were without exception disappointed by our stay. As a group of adults attending a local event we would not recommend this hotel to friends or family, due to the attitude of the staff. We realise that as they would be losing their jobs in the near future they had little incentive to co-operate, but as visitors willing to spend a lot of money in the bar this hotel did not enhance the reputation of Thetford generally. (However, the food and service in the Mulberry was superb, and we would highly recommend this friendly restaurant.)

Date visited: 2008-07-04

Review by Brian, Luton on 30th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The room was spacious, the staff were friendly and efficient and the dinner and breakfast were of a very high standard Bad Points: The view from the room was poor and some parts of the hotel were in need of redecoration General Review: We were generally very pleased with our stay. As stated above the meals we took with you were of a high standard and the room was cofortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave an efficient booking in and check-out service. We would be happy to visit you again if we should stay in the area. Many thanks

Date visited: 2006-08-30

Review by Colin, Shrewsbury on 8th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Comfortable rooms, pleasant setting close to town, excellent food.

Date visited: 2006-08-08

Review by Anonymous on 8th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Clean, reasonable size. Bad Points: our friends got a worse rate than we did when booking online General Review: Hotel was very easy to find - a definite plus after a hard days travel from Libya! We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Date visited: 2006-08-08

Review by Anonymous on 25th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Location + free parking. Bad Points: No aircon meant leaving window open onto noisy square. Toilet was broken in our room (mind you it was fixed very efficiently). Breakfast staff didn't seem that bothered to serve. General Review: A little odd. The hotel was well laid out but looking very tierd. Sorted it out!

Date visited: 2006-07-25

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is no such thing as the pursuit of happiness, but there is the discovery of joy - Joyce Grenfell
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford surrenders to the Roundheads - 1646, The Legendary Newbury Coat Made - 1811, Worlds First Live Satellite Broadcast - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages