Drunken

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2018: The National Forest

It may be stating the obvious, but the best reason for visiting the National Forest in October is what New Englanders call leaf-peeping. Stuck in ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Drunken Duck Inn, Ambleside

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Eddie Mc on 18th January, 2009

Add your review
Read the latest 2 reviews just before i went and wasn't sure that I wanted to go. However, from the moment we arrived, my worries subsided. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. They were very friendly and helpful - nothing was a problem to them. One of the waiters was an Evertonian but even he was nice! Our rooms were of good quality, size and spotless. Afternoon Tea, Evening meal and Breakfast were excellent. I would highly recommend The Drunken Duck

Date visited: 17/01/2009

Review by Michael Scullion on 7th May, 2008

Add your review
We have been coming to the Duck for the past few years but I am afraid the standards at what used to be one of our favourite restaurants have slipped badly. A meal at the Duck used to be well worth the 90 minute car journey to get there but I'm afraid we will be thinking long and hard before we go back. While the place retains its ambience the service and the food have definitely deteriorated. Are the owners and chef as hands on as they used to be? Are they too busy with their newer establishments? Time for the Duck to pull its socks up!

Date visited: 06/05/08

Review by Jane on 24th June, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I like to stay in small luxury hotels for what is generally a more relaxed form of service, but where standards still count. On first appearance this was the Duck. The slack standard started from check in, I had made a special effort to secure room 11, on arrival we were given room 10. No apology, just tuff thatís what youíre booked. We then decided to take our complimentary tea by the tarn, 50 mins later, no tea and after we had reminded the staff, no apology. On the first night we asked to take our cheese course on the terrace, when we shared our palate with friends we had met there we were told off by a pretentious little barman dressed all in black. Apparently this is not allowed. In the restaurant over our stay numerous requests for butter or juice, well done tomatoes or other small requests were completely ignored or forgotten. On the third night the water pipes decided to play a drum role for 2 hours. The staff were sullen and unfriendly, the only exception being the exemplary lady who cleaned our room. At check out, there was a complete indifference to our complaints and a feeling that we should be grateful for being allowed to stay with them. Good food served with bad grace, we will not be recommending this establishment to anyone.

Date visited: June 2007

Review by L Taylor on 15th July, 2006

Add your review
Ate at the Drunken Duck on the last evening of our holiday in the lakes as it came well recommended - but was very disappointed. Service was average, portions were tiny. Had to ask for another small bread roll to eat with our mussels starter and was asked "Haven't you already had some?" Thank goodness we were allowed another as the mains when they arrived were tiny and not terribly nice. Two very small chunks of pork on a tiny black pudding tart almost disappeared on my plate. On my partners plate two mouthfuls of sea bass managed to hide a completely over-salted rissotto. Luckily we had ordered some butternut squash but I do resent having to pay over the odds for a mediocre main course and then buy the potatoes and veg on top (and I'm not a huge eater). We have paid a lot more for good food but have rarely felt such lack of value for money. I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone - the chef seems to have disappeared up his own and sacrificed taste for style.

Date visited: 14th July 2006

Review by Lesley on 14th February, 2006

Add your review
I booked a night in the Drunken Duck as a surprise for my boyfriend as he loves his beer and they brew their own at the Drunken Duck. We arrived at 12.30 on Saturday and had a leisurely drink in the bar until our room was ready. The staff were extremely courteous and friendly. We stayed in a standard room which was clean, comfortable and well decorated. After an afternoon snooze we sat in the lounge next to the wood burner with yet another drink! In the evening we ate in the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and the service excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet retreat with fantastic food and drink.

Date visited: 11/02/06

Review by joe hadfield on 20th November, 2005

Add your review
Well set out and nice internal decoration - money well spent! BUT They need to work on atmosphere, serving's size and staff training! On our visit we had poor unatentive service, no where to have pre dinner drinks, and for the price was very disapointed! come on £24 for a fillet steak, and pott's and veg extra - have they forgot the value and service the British public love and rave about? Would'nt go again and neither will the 4 other people we were with - not because of cost but SERVICE SERVICE SERVICE!!

Date visited: 19/11/2005

Review by LINDA SHORT on 28th April, 2005

Add your review
Booked as a last minute weekend break as we are keen walkers. The staff were extremely welcoming upon our arrival. Booked a table in restaurant qaulity of service and food were excellent and a very good wine menu. Linda Short of County Durham

Date visited: 23/04/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
That we must all die, we always knew; I wish I had remembered it sooner. - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Statute of Marlborough - 1267, Caxton Prints 1st Book in England - 1477, Table Tennis 1st played - 1889, Battle of the Somme Ends - 1916, Walton Sextuplets Born - 1983, Kings Cross Fire - 1987, Beirut Hostage Terry Waite Released - 1991
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages