Redworth

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Redworth Hall Hotel, Durham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sue Newman on 7th September, 2010

Add your review
We stayed at Redworth Hall for my Daughters Hen party weekend (11 of us.)From 1st arriving at reception until we left, ALL of the staff were brilliant. Harry(the porter)hid the helium balloons in my bathroom and arranged with house keeping so personalised towels were placed on each of our beds. Later that day, myself and my other Daughter were allowed into the dining hall so we could decorate our tables, the staff were really helpful, taking photo's when we asked etc. The following morning when we all came down for breakfast the staff let us push the tables together so we could all sit together. Brilliant place to stay, with even better staff. Highly recommended.

Date visited: 4th & 5th September 2010

Review by Andy Darlow on 1st March, 2008

Add your review
No way on earth is this a four star hotel. I have stayed in four star hotels!! Tried to book in at 3.30, the check in time on the reservation was 2. Was told the room wasnt ready to come back in a bit. Asked what a bit was and was told to come back after 4. I would have expected to be told to go and get a drink on the house while we waited, I paid for the drinks. I would have expected the receptionist to ask to store my bags, she didnt. Walked to the bar down a corridor at the side of the dining area it smelt of sewage. Ordered a pint and a tea, the pint came the tea didnt, waited 25 minutes for tea only came when I asked for it again. Got key card at 4.10, I expect the floor of my room to be clear of rubbish when I first walk into it, whilst it was only a plastic bag that was laid there surely the maids are told to look at the room before they close the door. The lift was out of order all the time we were there. I expect 4 star hotels to empty the bin each day and replenish the soap obviously this one doesnt. Whilst I wasnt bothered I had been asked when I checked in whether I wanted breakfast and dinner they would have sold me 4 breakfasts and 2 evening meals, there loss and a decent restaraunt in Darlingtons gain! Whilst generally the place was adequate, they need to smarten their act up to be a real 4 star hotel.

Date visited: 22 Feb 2008

Review by Y King on 6th November, 2007

Add your review
Our stay was absolutely brilliant. The room was lovely with a fantastic modern bathroom to include a jaccuzzi. The staff were all very friendly and the food in the restaurant was of a high standard. This two night stay made my birthday-break very special. Thank you.

Date visited: 31/10/07

Review by Mike Goddard on 3rd September, 2007

Add your review
We'd booked a family room. When we arrived there was only a double bed. The radiator was stuck on full .Wallpaper was hanging off the walls. The restaurant was charging extortionate prices even though it had been moved to a temporary shabby old function room. We had booked for our wedding anniversary but it was completely ruined by this hotel. A 'standard' Paramount offer of 25% reduction was offered. But there's no way I'd pay 75% of what it cost me to visit this place again.

Date visited: 18th August 2007

Review by Harold Carter on 2nd February, 2006

Add your review
the top restaurant was splendid but only available on the Friday evening as it was taken up by two late firm Xmas parties.Expensive though. The wine list was unreadable. The general restaurant was very average on the Saturday evening & very busy & several complaints but we were OK. Our last evening on the Sunday I had some beef that was completely inedible & the Yorkshire pudding was cold!, many other people voiced their complaints. I expected to see the chef but to no avail. I told other diners that I would not pay for this. My wife dined a la carte & that meal, salmon, was acceptable but expensive. Breakfast on the 30th, Monday, was nothing but a debacle, people waiting for orange juice, then eggs, then bacon & it appeared no tomatoes were available, they were tinned anyway but I do wonder if the chef was responsible for everything that went wrong. On checking out I indicated that I would not pay for my dinner and management agreed not charge us for either my wife's or my meal. Our room was good, upgraded, splendid bathroom, but a split double bed. Be warned you are charged £3.50 for a bottle of water. However there was fresh milk for tea making in the fridge. Staff very excellent but extremely hard pressed at dinner on the Saturday night when management pitched in & helped. I would stay there again but it would appear that many people who write up their comments do not complain. One does not have to be nasty or angry with complaints but tell it reasonably as it is and you will get the best out of staff if you do so. Having said all this I do not know what we paid as it was my wif's treat for my birthday

Date visited: 27th to 30th Jan 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel. - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Lostwithiel - 1644, Battle of Dunkeld - 1689
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages