It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of African Violet and Garden Centre, Kings Lynn

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sarah on 24th July, 2012

Add your review
Avoid at all costs! A complete waste of time and should, as others have suggested, be reported to Trading Standards and the Tourist Board. Dead plants everywhere, not a member of staff in sight.

Date visited: 25/07/2012

Review by Rita Thompson on 24th June, 2012

Add your review
Like the last few reviews l wish l had looked at this before traveling over an hour to visit it. I agree with ALL the comments. My mum had stayed for a few days and wanted to buy me an african violet, so we went to the centre (as she had done some years ago)to buy one. I have more of a collection than they have, and l only have four plants. Very dissapointing for me and my mum.

Date visited: 21.6.2012

Review by jacqueline on 9th June, 2012

Add your review
We popped in here today as it advertised a coffee shop and we were visiting the Chiropodist next door. We walked through the store...through the dead plants and into the restaurant. We met 3 ladies 1 of whom could speak correct English and all 3 were on their mobile phones. We read the Restaurant Menu, nearly fell over laughing and walked back through some more dead plants to our car. We were the only visitors there and as we were quite surprised at the set up, we decided to find some reviews. So here we are and we agree with all of them! What on earth is going on there????

Date visited: 9th June 2012

Review by J Richards on 19th March, 2012

Add your review
Wish we had read the reviews before going here on Sunday. Worst place we have ever been to. Not good for any visitors from abroad. Paths uneven and dangerous. Outside plants dead and neglected. Hardly any English spoken. Coffee disgusting plus expensive. Never Again.

Date visited: 18/3/2012

Review by Neil Warner on 3rd February, 2012

Add your review
Avoid this place at all cost. Now ran by a bunch of cowboys which dirty non working toilets, people,who can hardly speak English and it seems it's a haven for illegal immigrants who are sneaking about. Lots of posh cars at the back in the non public car park. This was a fantastic place when Tony Clememts ran it but please do avoid now as you will get the shock of your life!!!!

Date visited: 29 january 2012

Review by Tony Clements on 19th December, 2011

Add your review
It grieves me to read about the disappointment of visitors to the African Violet Centre which I established and owned for thirty years. I sold the business in 2000 and have had no further connection with it.

Review by d beaumont on 13th May, 2010

Add your review
i was disgusted with the state of this so called african violet centre it will be reported to trading standards it is a disgrace to the garden world and should be closed down there was only one person on duty who could not speak english properly what a farce i drove 80 miles to visit this dump dont waste your time

Date visited: 13 05 2010

Review by Mrs. Baker on 6th May, 2010

Add your review
What a disapointment - as we had visited this centre many times when it was stocked with African Violets . . - I agree it should not be called an African Violet Centre - where was the stock, just a few very poor looking plants, and nobody there with any kowledge. Still looks like a builders yard, surely trading standards should be looking at "This Place" and the way it is advertising itself.

Date visited: 5th May 2010

Review by marion on 30th September, 2009

Add your review
the leaflets in all tourism information centres in Norfolk still advertise this centre as a unique working nursery selling only african violets all these leaflets should now be withdrawn as it is no longer a african violet centre but even on visiting the centre huge signs still state that this is so. its about time trading standards visited this centre, yes its a garden centre selling all sorts of plants just as any other garden centre plus large wooden furniture all made in Poland run by people that can hardly speak english and did not understand what I was asking. I went specially to get advise on my plants as being a collector of african violets a journey wasted.

Date visited: 24.09.09

Review by Chris on 18th May, 2008

Add your review
This place has nothing to do as far as I can see with Tony Clements the man who won the awards at Chelsea. This place should be reported to trading standards as they still advertise they are winners of 10 Chelsea gold medals. This place is no more than a garden centre and not a very good one.

Date visited: March 2008

Review by Disappointed on 6th December, 2007

Add your review
I agree fully with the two other comments. The site resembled a derelict buider's yard. Visited the toilets - squirted liquid soap onto hands only to find no running water. Response in broken english from the two female members of staff "I suppose you will have to use the sink in the kitchen" Glad we did use the kitchen because it prompted us to go elsewhere for a cup of coffee. Cannot comment on the African Violets because we did not stay long enough to visit the greenhouses.

Date visited: 5-12-2007

Review by Anon on 23rd November, 2007

Add your review
I have visited the African Violet Centre on many occassions over the years on my travels to Norfolk and every time had a wonderful experince. On my latest visit I couldnt believe the difference. Gone were the pleasant and helpful members of staff replaced by poor English speaking Eastern Europeans. Any questions I had about the violets were met with mute responses and confused expressions not what I would define as good customer service!. I remember when this place was winning Gold at Chelsea and other notable flower shows... those glorious days must surely be gone. What a waste of what used to be a great attratction and a great day out!!!

Date visited: 19/11/2007

Review by Jeanette Partridge on 12th June, 2007

Add your review
For a specialist centre, I was expecting specialist information from staff. No chance! I was served by Eastern European staff who had enough difficulty communicating with me at all. A huge disappointment!

Date visited: 9th June 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Life, an age to the miserable, and a moment to the happy. - Sir Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
Magna Carta Signed - 1215, The Peasants' Revolt ends - 1381, First Botanic Garden in Britain - 1621, Alcock and Brown complete 1st non stop flight across the Atlantic - 1919
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages