Apart

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Apart Hotel-Oakdene, Windermere

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 3rd June, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: A warm welcome to a spacious, light and airy, well appointed home- that's what it felt like! General review: excellent.

Date visited: 2009-06-03

Review by Sarah C on 29th December, 2008

Add your review
Well where do we begin....very much a Three Star property - NOT FOUR STAR - the owners is neurotic - to the point of being rude. Will not be staying here again

Date visited: 02.08.2008

Review by Anonymous on 25th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Excellent accommodation. Good transport links and shops very handy General review: Would stay there again.

Date visited: 2008-08-25

Review by Deborah on 30th April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: spacious, clean and well equipped. General review: We were very impressed with the accommodation and how warm and welcoming the owner was. It was in a good location however we did not realise that Windermere village was one mile away from Windermere Lake where the majority of pubs/restaurants were. Would highly recommend to others, very much home from home.

Date visited: 2008-04-30

Review by SarahO on 7th June, 2007

Add your review
We stayed at this apartment in low season (November). We are a family of 4 and the apartment states on the website that it is family friendly, however this is not the case! The apartment was very cold and we were told upon arrival that the owners charge extra for the gas fire and told not to have the lights on especially not to put the fan on in the bathroom, which actually powers the main light in the bathroom!! The owner said this is because it was low season and we were getting it at such a cheap price. When I researched the average price I found that it was only £10 cheaper than the usual rate, (we paid £197.00 for two nights accom. I don't consider this to be cheap compared with other apartments we have stayed at in the Lake district. We only had 2 toilet rolls during our three night stay and couldn't contact the land lady to get anything we needed on the first night! The owners were far too controlling and I spent most of the stay worrying whether my children would break something! You have to do all your own cleaning, even down to the vaccuming and when it came to check out time she asked us for more money for the gas fire stating that we had had it on all day, when this was incorrect!! I fail to see who this apartment would be suitable for. It was noisy and definately not family friendly but I also couldn't see why it would be suitable for young groups as the landlady lives next door and is very particular about the treatment of her apartment. The apartment itself is average but nicely decorated however it is too small for a family of four and it was furnished with lots of china which I feel is not very safe when you have young children! The plates were chipped, towels old and I wouldn't consider this as a 4 star apartment more like a 3 star. I wouldn't recomend it to anyone!

Review by Miss Joanne Wearmouth on 4th May, 2007

Add your review
The apartment was lovely, clean and felt very homely and made our stay in the lakes enjoyable due to the freedom to relax like we were in our own home.... or so we thought! We felt we were treated very rudely on the day we left. The lady who owns the property inspected it from top to toe before we left - this included complaining we'd used all of the towels that were provided (we were staying two nights), inspected under the duvet (not sure what she thought she might find),inspected the washing up (not that we were obliged to do this anyway) and complained the 2nd bedroom was used as a dressing room for myself when we were under the understanding we had paid for the use of the whole apartment and the price was inclusive even though there was only the two of us staying there. We were very disappointed by this and we will not be recommending the apartment to any of our relatives or friends nor will we be returning there again - if it wasn't for the service though we would have definitely stayed there again!

Date visited: 28/04/07-30/04/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I've never intended to be controversial but it's very easy to be controversial in pop music because nobody ever is - Morrissey
More Quotes

On this day:
First Atomic Explosion - 1945, Stirling Moss is first Englishman to win the British Grand Prix - 1955, Helicopter Crashes off Scilly - 1983
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages