Tyrrells

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Tyrrells Ford Country House Hotel, Ringwood

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Maureen and Eric Medlow on 19th October, 2009

Add your review
We attended Sunday lunch to celebrate the 70th birthday of a close friend - it was extremely busy in the dining room but this did not distract from the service and attention to detail. We also had booked in to stay the night and glad we did. Our room was excellent and in the evening we had a bar meal - very tasty and plenty of it. Breakfast was excellent and big. Our thanks to Sue for being so friendly. We hope to be back again early next year. The Medlows

Date visited: 18 October 2009

Review by Sharon & Rob Taylor on 16th July, 2009

Add your review
We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Tyrrells Ford and had such a lovely relaxing visit. The staff were most welcoming, friendly and professional and our room overlooking the patio and woodland was very comfortable with an en-suite bathroom. I could have just curled up in one of the huge sofas in the beautiful lounge area and just relaxed but the bar called us and the Pimms I ordered hit the right spot. Our meal in the restaurant in the evening was absolutely delicious; it was tasty, hot and normal sized portions. Although it wasn't on the pudding board, we asked if a cheese board was available and it was, with 3 lovely tasting cheeses and biscuits. This is a lovely hotel for something very relaxing or for a bigger celebration, and being in the New Forest is part of the bargain. We will be returning. There were a couple of loud noises during the night - was it late night wedding revellers or could it have been the ghost??

Date visited: 04.07.09

Review by Fiona on 2nd June, 2009

Add your review
Went with the family for a birthday meal, bar service was poor. Asked if we could have one main course from the bar menu in the restaurant and maybe pay a supplement as we were eating in the restaurant but it was a definite NO(it was for the birthday girl) The person who said NO turns out to be the owner who was rude and had a bad attitude. When we got into the restaurant it lacked atmosphere in fact it felt like we were in God's waiting room. The waitress had her mobile phone in her pocket and it kept ringing throughout the evening and the food was average at best. Naturally we will not be returning. I have never posted a comment before but money is tight and I would not want anyone else to waste money on this establishment.

Date visited: October 2008

Review by Tony Hyde-Frobisher on 30th July, 2008

Add your review
I was passing through the New Forest with my wife and two children looking for somewhere to stop the night. We came across this nice looking hotel. We had a very nice meal in the Restaurant so we decided to ask if there were any vacancies for that night. I spoke to a lady called Sarah who it seems was the owner. There were vacancies but not just for Bed & Breakfast. I explained we had just had Dinner there but it seems that does not count because we had not booked at that time.What a way to run a business. I got the impression that they were not child friendly and everything was just too much trouble. I asked politely if there were any other Hotels nearby and was told very coldly that they were not an information center. Perhaps it was the type of wine they were drinking causes this type of reaction.

Date visited: 17/07/08

Review by T.Watson on 18th July, 2008

Add your review
Pre booked to stay 3 days. On arrival dod not know anything about us. Very arrogant young man made us feel we were wrong. I will never want to stay there again as I did in the past.

Date visited: 10 June 2008

Review by peter tristan on 20th May, 2008

Add your review
On arrival looked nice however nobody in reception so had to go and find somebody. highly enoying. Room was dissapointing small but ok didnt get a wink of sleep as the bed was small and uncomfortable. Charming place let down by the bed. Restuarant was ok breakfast was good. I got the feeling mid 20s couples were not there normal clientel as were clearly the youngest guests staying at that perticualr time and it made me feel out of place. expensive for what it is. We didnt get asked if we had a nice stay in fact no conversation at all was made at all and no 'come again'. I think ageing middle class should realise that profesional young 20 somthings money is the same colour as there's.

Date visited: 17th may 2008

Review by Price on 4th November, 2007

Add your review
On first sight our room looked great, newly refurbished and bright - but the housekeeping lets them down with cigarette butts on the verandah from our room, toothpaste up the bathroom tiles, previous occupants belongings in a drawer, and a superficially 'clean' room. Breakfast was like an event at Fawlty Towers having to remind about your tea, toast and butter too please, etc, and yuk! - a much used paper tablecloth adorns the breakfast table to protect the linen! Evening meal was very good, but the service does let them down, and they were not interested. We will not be rushing back...

Date visited: late August 07

Review by mr upson on 1st September, 2007

Add your review
had a great time as always , re-booked for next years stay ,staff food & rooms second to none . highly recomended :-)

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I do not live in the world of sobriety. - Oliver Reed
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hedgeley Moor - 1464, Robinson Crusoe Published - 1719, Treaty of Amiens Signed - 1802, Crick and Watson discover DNA - 1953
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages