It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of JNP Partnership, Great Missenden

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lin on 12th June, 2009

Add your review
Perfect country pub with great food.

Date visited: 12/06/09

Review by James Scott on 28th August, 2008

Add your review
My first visit to the Rising Sun was some 25 years ago as a little boy with my parents (we lived in a nearby village called "Prestwood") when a kindly old gentleman named Cass owned the place. He was a very nice man and the pub served excellent food and was an absolute Gem of a pub. Returning as a grown man last year, I found the place hadnt changed much but the "warm welcome" had been replaced by the most objectionable new landlord i have ever come across. He seems to delight in being rude to his paying customers. We walked to the pub on a baking hot day and as good manners dictates, checked our shoes for dirt before entering the pub. As it was so hot and dry, there was no evidence of mess whatsoever. Marching in with the promise of a decent beer in the offing i was rather dismayed when he stopped us at the door and boomed "did you walk here?" I replied in the affirmative looking rather dumb struck, he then followed up with "theres a sign outside telling walkers to take their shoes off, are you blind !?" Still looking rather dumb struck I told him our shoes were spotless and proceeded to show him. He then boomed "I dont care ! take them off or you dont get served." Had I not been with friends I would have put him through the nearest wall. It goes without saying I will never go back to this once wonderful spot. It is with mixed feelings that I notice the building is up for sale on rightmove.com as a house, not a pub. Obviously he's upset the last customers in the South East who would have gone there.

Date visited: 25/08/2008

Review by John Harrison on 4th March, 2007

Add your review
The Rising sun is set in beautiful countryside and is very kept both inside and out, however the land lord seems to have forgotten what hospitality means. Having arrived from a long walk in the rain, we proceeded to take off our boots and place into bags. We were imediately told to get out and not put mud on the steps. There are ways of talking to peaople and he does not know how. The food is OK but we will not be going back. This is the 2nd time he has been rude. Lat time it was to other visitors as we sat down for a drink. Avoid!

Date visited: 4 March 2007

Review by Diane and David Beck on 13th May, 2005

Add your review
The food and service are always excellent. We have been to the Rising Sun on many occasions and have always been made to feel most welcome. We have never had any cause for complaint, and we look forward to our next visit.

Date visited: Numerous times

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Well may your heart believe the truths I tell; 'Tis virtue makes the bliss, where'er we dwell. - Wilkie Collins
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward I Expels Jews from England - 1290, Authority of the pope declared void in England - 1536, British Copsí 1-2-3 in Olympic Tug oí War - 1908, Mein Kampf Published - 1925, Great Martinstown Downpour - 1955, First UK Broadcast of Big Brother - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages