It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red Lion Hotel, Wendover

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Judge on 26th July, 2010

Add your review
Be very careful if you want to stay at the Red Lion on a Saturday evening, you may find yourself tagged onto the back of a wedding party. The complementary earplugs don't do anything to block out the sound of the disco. Customer service is appaulling and when you complain you are told you have asked if there was a wedding. After the disco you can hear furniture being dragged across the floor and when you turn up for breakfast you are greeted with dirty tables and moody staff. They can't cope. It's the same price at the local Holiday Inn and the staff there are polite, friendly and go out of their way to accomodate you- they could teach the staff at the Red Lion a thing or two.

Date visited: 24th July 2010

Review by M Baskerville on 25th August, 2008

Add your review
We have just returned from a two day stay at the Red Lion in Wendover and can not compliment this hotel enough! The room was excellent with a contempory feel and adequate space. The en-suite was big, bright and clean, all the bedding was white which I loved because I hate anything that is paisley! We ate all our evening meals in the restaurant and the food was superb on both accounts and the service excellent, staff were on hand at all times and we never had to wait long for anything including breakfast which again was excellent. Overall I throughly enjoyed my stay at the red lion and would highly recommend it, its a modern hotel with good value for money that attracts a young crowd! 4*

Date visited: 24th August 2008

Review by John Mason on 26th June, 2008

Add your review
As one of a party of 20 local business people one may have thought that the management and staff would have been trying to impress. They did, but in the wrong way. The bar staff (who were not exactly busy) had to have it pointed out that people were waiting to order. No Worcester sauce available for the tomato juice; a G&T served without ice, despite asking for it; a request for the wine list met with an offhand respose; the wrong wine was then served - we were not shown the label for confirmation. The day before our lunch, the management woke up to the fact that they had sent us the winter menu instead of the current one, necessitating the organiser in having to contact eveyone to amend our pre-chosen courses. The food could only be described at mediocre. Our first course was acceptable but the main dishes seemed thought generally to be poor. What was worse though was the unacceptable delay in getting food to the table. A 40 minute wait, without any explanation or apology resulted in people having to rush their food in order to get to afternoon meetings. A question about our main course was treated in a rather confrontational manner by the restaurant manageress. Someone needs to point out to all concerned that hospitality is a service business and that there are many other restaurants that recognise the fact.

Date visited: 26 June 2008

Review by Sophie on 17th June, 2008

Add your review
We went to the Red Lion for Fathers Day, We booked for 2 o'clock as we were advised it was quite busy earlier, so we'd probably get better service later. For starters I had the Wild Mushroom Pate, which was no more than mushrooms whizzd up in the food prcessor with butter (and there were big lumpsof butter - yuk)and my dad and husband had chicken salad thing with rather pethetic looking poached eggs. We had to ask for our empty plates to be taken away - it took them 1/2 an hour! For main course I had he roast beef, and had to send it back because the beef was all shrivelled and black. The second plate I got though was nice and pink. But the roast potatoes were hard and inedible. My dad wanted the duck salad, but with vegtables instead of leaves, and the waitress informed us when we ordered that the chef was in a bad mood so she didn't know if he'd do that, so we asked for a portion of veg on the side instead, which were awful - they couln't even be bothered to peel the carrots. My husband had the '21 day matured' siloin steak. The quality of the meat was awful. It was meant to come with homemade chips but homemade they definately weren't. We didn't have pudding because everything else had been so awful. In general, the service was extremely slow and unproffessional - when our food was being seved to us, the plates were handed to us instead of being placed infront of us and the food was absolutely awful. No wonder the chef was in a bad mood - he can't cook!! When my husband explained to the manager our problems she was extremely snotty and rude - and my husband had made the effort to be nice about it and say that he just wanted to give constrctive critisism. She thrusted the credit card machine at him and spoke to him over her shoulder. At the end of the day, we wanted her to know how we felt because otherwise they'd be none the wiser and wouldn't know how to improve. In general, the building and the interior is lovely, and really warrants beter cooking and service than what we experienced.

Date visited: 15 June 2008

Review by John Steel on 5th April, 2008

Add your review
What a great improvement - well worth a visit. It has been opened 2 weeks so the staff,although keen,are getting used to things. Manager was excellent as was the Marston's Pedigree. Food was also very good, although the duck filo pastry should be just called a spring roll! Trout was excellent as was the veggie option. Good refurbishment - even the toilets were done!! Wow! We will definitely go back.

Date visited: 4/4/2008

Review by Roger Cutler on 8th February, 2008

Add your review
Same again Im afraid a `non-visit` of sorts, I have been part of the renovation of The Red Lion as an Electrician, and can sympathise with the guests in 2005, The rooms are now fully Equiped with all your needs and radiators, Even Wi-Fi has been installed, The new look is very contemporary and alot of new styles introduced, Im sure even Cromwell would like his room(6), It has been an extensive Refurbishment (with a good few miles of cable been installed) with a new kitchen, extended dining areas, conference room, disabled room, new toilets, cellar, bar, car park, honeymoon/king room and Huge Heating system, I can say its worth a try, (in a week or two when we have completed work)

Date visited: 08/02/2008

Review by Della on 13th December, 2007

Add your review
Actually, this was a non-visit. The Red Lion I am informed by head office (trying to book a table) is closed until February 2008. Ah well, maybe they took on board the comments of the 2005 guest.....

Date visited: December 2007

Review by Elizabeth Jones on 24th March, 2007

Add your review
I am only writing this review due to combat the negative impressions given by the gentleman who stayed at the hotel in 2005 - we were extrememly pleased with the organisation, the friendliness of the staff and the facilities - albeit some of them required updating at the time of our visit, this was in the overall improvement plan for the next year or so. The beer was good! I personally look forward to the smoke free atmosphere in any pub come this summer - but regretably smoke is inclined to hang aboout in these wonderful old pubs with low ceilings. I wish the Red Lion all success in the future and plan a revisit in June this year.

Date visited: September 2006

Review by Ken Hobson on 18th November, 2005

Add your review
We booked around six days prior to our visit, advising we would be arriving around 14-00, & on arrival, was given the key to room 7, only to find the room was totally without any heat, & when we brought this to attention of Reception, the BEST they could offer was SMALL ELECTRIC FAN HEATER & EXTRA DUVET for each twin bed. WE were attending a function nearby, & arrived back at the Red LION, around 20-00 to find the bar, extemely busy, the air was full of tobaco smoke. The "only" fresh air, was in the outside patio, with overhead heaters, & even, young men, aged in mid 20's could not stand the COLD, & we were aged 76yrs & 68yrs, so, when we retired to our bedroom, found the room, very cold,& radiators, were still cold, leaving only the small electric fan heater to ensure a GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP. We decided to have a HOT SHOWER, in attempt to get "WARM" only to there was NO HOT WATER. We would have been WARMER if, we had slept in our estate car, with the hotel duvets wrapped around us. Next morning, after shivering most of the night, with over 200 miles to drive home to Yorkshire, we found the "Full Breakfast" very good, but the damage had already been done, & we spoke, briefly to the breakfast cook, who told us of the DISCOUNTS made to clients, & then he was called away, but, we left, very disappointed, having paid FULL PRICE for a TWIN ROOM, = 75-00. To close, YES, the Red Lion has OLDE WORLD CHARM, but in 2005, clients expect more than COLD TEMPERATURE in the bedrooms, with only TINY ELECTRIC FAN HEATER offered by Red Lion Hotel reception as compensation. We probably have to visit Wendover in the future, BUT, will think twice about staying at the Red Lion, pity, for the young lady receptionist, was very pleasant, but, not a HEATING ENGINEER.

Date visited: 12th November 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A truth that's told with bad intent beats all the lies you can invent. - William Blake
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages