The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Wellington,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by James Collins on 22nd July, 2008

Add your review
I felt i had to write this review after reading the former and i am in complete aggreance . We Visited The Welllington with a group of 8 colleagues on a birthday party .On arrival we couldnt park on the tiny Car park so we had to abandon our cars onto the side of the road further up the village. Upon doing so my colleagues got lambasted by a local homeowner and moaned at us for parking on the road not a good start.We made our escape into the pub we ordered our drinks and food. We were so disappointed three of the girls couldnt eat there steaks as they were undercooked mine was tough and a cheap cut of meat.To be fair the waitress offered to take them back but whats the point they should have been done correctly first time!!!! The desserts looked as though theyd been brought from a frozen food store and overpriced.To sum up over hyped over expensive and from the arguing we heard between the staff to many egos not enough decent cooks.

Date visited: June 2008

Review by Mikey Dtwo on 22nd July, 2008

Add your review
Its sad to get somewhere after its been reccomended and leave utterly disapointed feeling as if you have been mugged .No carling or Carlsberg on tap just the awful Becks Vier, my wife was driving so she wanted a lager shandy she had an orange juice instead. I opted for a real ale i tried the Wye valley which i have to say was awful and i have never had a bad pint of that evar.So i opted for a guinness not exactly what id come for. We didnt stay for the food after looking at the overpriced menu. we made our excuses left and went up the road. Its a shame when a good old fashioned village pub gets set upon with grand overpriced dilluded visions of grandeur and wrecks the whole point of it being a village pub.

Date visited: July 2008

Review by Steve Marchant on 8th July, 2008

Add your review
Having heard a few mixed reports about this pub Myself and my wife deceided to give it a try. To say we were disappointed is a huge understatement. Slow , expensive surly staff half of which seem still to be at school and an arrogant landlord. I ordered a pint of beer which was warm and flat when i asked the landlord to change it for a different beer he refused saying he knew more about beer than me, even the locals were complaining about it!!! Then charged a premium for below average food £18.50 Each for one course all show and nothing to it. WE WILL NOT BE VISITING AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 05/08/2008

Review by Mikey D on 30th March, 2008

Add your review
Wye Valley's HPA on-tap and a brilliant bar/restaurant menu. a little bit pricey but you get exactly what you pay for.. and what's not stupidly over-priced these days anyway!! Went in on a thursday night and just stayed all night.. had some great chats with some 'interesting' locals and then made my excuses. But, blow me, what an experience!

Date visited: 13/03/08

Review by Kim Gordon on 28th March, 2008

Add your review
BRILLIANT! what can i say?! We went with a party of 10 'meat-eating, ale-lovers' and the venue couldn't have been better picked. Excellent service... these good looking, polite, young ladies recommended a super wine and left us feeling very pampered. We cant stop screaming about this place, so i pass this on to you.

Date visited: 20/03/2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I like work; it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours. - Jerome K Jerome
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward I Expels Jews from England - 1290, Authority of the pope declared void in England - 1536, British Copsí 1-2-3 in Olympic Tug oí War - 1908, Mein Kampf Published - 1925, Great Martinstown Downpour - 1955, First UK Broadcast of Big Brother - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles