It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Chequers Inn, Binham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by william on 25th August, 2011

Add your review
a dull July day , stopped by for a pint of their micro-brewery beer which i found pleasant ( although a little expensive given it's brewed on the premises ) and was tempted by their menu . Had a very pleasant crab salad and enjoyed the cleanliness and friendliness of the place Spacious car park Would go again

Date visited: July 2011

Review by Jeckells on 4th April, 2010

Add your review
Happy smiling faces behind the bar mean happy smiling faces in front of the bar. Thank you for a very nice lunch in the friendliest pub I have been in for years. As I was evacuated to Binham in 1940 I wanted some photos for my family archives but forgot the camara, so I will be back later in the year. Maurice Jeckells, Burgh Castle, Gt. Yarmouth

Date visited: Sun.4th April

Review by Lady Olivia. T. Levington on 25th December, 2006

Add your review
This restaurant is beautifully set-up with outstanding food and reasonably priced beverages. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and found the staff to be extremely competent, friendly, hard-working and completely dedicated to complying to the customer's needs. I think that Mr McDowell should be so proud of his pub, his staff, and himself- i really do recommend this place to all who has the chance- no THE HONOUR- of dining there. Thank you so much.

Date visited: 13-02-2004

Review by Steve Chroscicki on 21st September, 2005

Add your review
***PROPRIETORS RIGHT OF REPLY*** My wife and I are the owners of The Chequers Inn, and note the comments of the first two contributors. We wish to state that this incident did not occur in the manner described and we have every confidence in the customer service skills of our staff. As we remember the group concerned were particularly upset that we could not provide them with chips on demand and became abusive towards our chef, young waiter and barman. Naturally we do not tolerate this type of behaviour towards our staff, but can assure any readers of these reviews that our employees act professionally and with the utmost courtesy to our customers at all times. Further verification of this can be obtained from the Good Beer Guide 2006 which is an independent not for profit publication, as well as a variety of other guides which have chosen to review the Chequers Inn.

Date visited: 21/09/05

Review by Paul Jenkins on 18th September, 2005

Add your review
We had the good fortune to get a last minute booking to stay in the village, and wondered if the pub had any decent food. The food and the range of food was excellent. We brought friends over from St.Neots who enjoyed their meal with us in the Chequers Restaurant so much they are going to drive back for more. A lady on the next table didn't fancy any of the menu items(though the list was long), so the chef had a chat with her and concocted something just for her. If Chequers Restaurant wasn't a 6 hour drive away it would be a regular haunt of ours - NO DOUBT!

Date visited: 16/09/05

Review by David Goodrick on 2nd September, 2005

Add your review
The food was nothing special but to crown it all they have no idea on customer satisfaction. When we said that we were not happy with the meal, we were told to shut up and get out.

Date visited: 28/06/05

Review by Lesley Daniels on 28th July, 2005

Add your review
This is a very pleasant pub in a beautiful village. In fact its quite idyllic. There was a limited choice of ale the night I visited and the Inn was full of diners and drinkers. The food looked good and so we decided to order a meal. I ordered fish and had quite a considerable wait for it. My husband had steak and as he asked for it to be well done we assumed this was why we had the delay. However when the meal arrived his steak was quite rare and my fish cold. The pub was very busy and so we decided not to complain, just to eat what was palatable and then leave. However the chef came out from the kitchen and went around the tables asking everyone if they were enjoying their meal. when he reached us I informed him no I wasn't and pointed out why. He informed me the steak was fine and the fish was perfect and started to walk off. I called him back to discuss the matter and he then turned nasty and said if I didn't like it I could clear off. I did no more than to put my knife and fork down, inform him he was the rudest man I had ever met and left. I can only recommend the chequers inn to inform people NOT to go there.

Date visited: 16th July 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A slavish bondage to parents cramps every faculty of the mind. - Mary Shelley
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages