Nelson

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Nelson Head, Horsey

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs P Whitehead on 18th July, 2012

Add your review
Wecame on the Saturday evening inviting our friends for a birthday treat. We had 2 fish pies which were like a tin of cat food covered with potato watery mash, one had a stroganoff which wss reasonable but I had a dressed crab salad which was absolutely disgusting it looked as if it had been left by someone else with a discarded crab leg on the top and no white meat at all just the membrane that I could lift in one piece with my fork. The sweet which I had to try and take the taste of the crab away was microwaved so much, before I had two spoonfuls it was rock hard, unless you just want a drink or a roast anything that takes cookery skills I would think twice before you go in.

Date visited: 7/7/2012

Review by Patsie on 4th April, 2010

Add your review
I too find this pub most unwelcoming, the landlady is very abrupt and quite rude. Dogs are no longer welcome at mealtimes, and she makes you feel as though you are an inconvenience rather than a paying customer. It is true about the carpets when I went there there was even a note on the door asking you to remove your shoes if muddy ....

Date visited: Autum 09

Review by Caroline Porter on 13th November, 2009

Add your review
My friend and myself decided to bring our 5 children to the Nelson Head for dinner after an afternoon on the beach. We were felt very unwelcome from the moment we tried to enter the door due to the fact that the landlady had just had new carpets laid and did not want us to enter, she instead walked us around the back to a marquee and said we could eat there. It was not a nice day but it was dry in the marquee so we decided to have a look at the menu. While doing so the landlady told our children not to make any noise and if they wanted to play they had to go across the road to a field. Out of the window of the marquee you could see a swinging bench which the children asked if they could go on - she said no that was a private garden. Our children are all under the age of 8 and we would not let them go across the road alone and could not expect them to sit there in silence so we decided to leave and find a more welcoming place to have our dinner. There was another couple sitting outside the marquee with a dog - obviously unwanted customers too. I would not recommend this pub to families or people with young children - they should have a sign on the door saying they are not welcome.

Date visited: July 09

Review by ken short on 25th May, 2009

Add your review
I found the host and his wife most friendly, the food was of a high standard and so tasty. My wife and I ffound this pub by accident and we were so impressed with the service we returned four evenings in succession, and rest assured when we return to Norfolk we will dine there again

Date visited: 19-20-21-22/06/09

Review by Georgina on 23rd November, 2007

Add your review
What a lovely pub. A friendly welcome and fabulous food. The slection of food is enormous and includes loads of vegetarian options. I am told by my husband that the beer is really good and they have the biggest open fire in Norfolk (I think). Would hightly recommend this pub.

Date visited: 23.11.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We're against beaurocracy and anything ending in a Y - John Lydon (Johnny Rotten)
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Blackheath - 1497, Lister performs the first operation using an antiseptic. - 1867, Robert Calvi Gods Banker found dead - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages