It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Rose & Crown Hotel,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by carol curran on 2nd January, 2011

Add your review
I really do not know, how this place is staying open, with him behind the bar. We did not sample the food as we could not wait to escape. He does not deserve customers (but to be honest i dont think he cares). There are some very nice pubs, just down the road, which are very pleasant. The bar staff even smile!!! P.S. Spoke to some local people and they told us that 'no' he didnt have a hangover, but has always been like that!!!!

Date visited: 1/1/2011

Review by Gareth on 6th February, 2010

Add your review
I have read the very scathing reviews of the Rose and Crown. I have to say, we paid £110 for 2 people for nights B&B and it was just fine. They even let the dog come for free. It's not 5 star, but for the price it was clean, breakfast was good and I would come again. Come with the right attitude and you'll enjoy it.

Date visited: 5/2/10

Review by David Hurst on 20th August, 2009

Add your review
How unfortunate that this hotel is located in such a wonderful village with such great scenery; the whole experience was truly awful, from the microwaved food we had in the evening (we only had starters as they were so bad), the breakfast, which was dreadful in every respect, the room with the mattress that was purely a collection of springs and the very rude and agressive owner. There are plenty of other places very nearby that are deserving of your custom; give it a wide berth.

Date visited: 11/08/09

Review by David Hurst on 19th August, 2009

Add your review
Quite simply the worst pub I've ever visited in my life and the worst 'hotel' I'll ever have the misfortune of staying in. Dirty rooms, very tired decor, apathetic staff and the rudest, most aggressive, arrogant proprietor I and my wife have ever come across. The mattress was ruined, just a collection of springs; when I complained about this he told me "I just replaced it 3 weeks ago, you don't know what you're talking about". I asked him his name, to which he replied "Mind your own business". I asked for a discount as the breakfast was utter rubbish and the room was uninhabitable - he threatened to sue me! Read other reviews and you'll see this place needs looking at as it gives Yorkshire a bad name.

Date visited: 12/08/09

Review by David Hurst on 16th August, 2009

Add your review
Made to feel unwelcome as soon as we arrived; very dirty room, no alarm clock or radio, the mattress was just a whole load of springs; hotel understaffed, awful meal - so bad we had only the starter. When we went for breakfast the waitress said to me "Tell your Mrs she needs to move tables". There was no fruit juice. None of the pepper mills had any pepper in them. We ordered scrambled egg with smoked salmon, which came as just scrambled egg on unbuttered toast; this was rectified by throwing some smoked salmon trimmings (the brown bits) on our plates. When we left the manager refused to tell me his name ("Mind your own business"), accused us of going away with the intention of complaining and not enjoying ourselves and was extremely rude, aggressive asnd arrogant. Without doubt the worst place me and my wife and we have ever stayed in! I fail to understand why this place is still trading when every review illustrates just how bad it is. I'm a Yorkshireman and feel sad that somewhere like this should give this wonderful area of the UK such a bad reputation.

Date visited: 11/08/09

Review by diana wilkinson. on 26th July, 2008

Add your review
We booked a three nights stay at this hotel through the internet. I must say it was a pleasant hotel. The room was nicely furnished and well decorated. The en suite was the let down. It was grubby and sparse. The staff were continually bickering at one another. 'Who should be doing what'. This created a feeling of discord. The real crunch came in the dining room. I couldn't believe there were no vegs to go with the dinner. They said 'we have run out'. At breakfast there was no marmalade. Again, we were told 'we have run out'. One of the other guests' went to buy her own. Perhaps we should have done the same!! We had an enjoyable holiday in the Yorkshire Dales, the accommodation let us down.

Date visited: June 2008

Review by k.wheeler on 12th January, 2008

Add your review
Having had an enjoyable stay at this hotel 3 years ago we were looking forward to our one night stay. What a disappointment! The room was shabby and smelt damp,the shower had a broken screen and there were cobwebs on the ceiling. One of the sockets was coming away from the wall,the remote control for the tv was taped up with masking tape and the windows wouldn't open... Having previously had excellent food in the restaurant we had rung ahead to book a table. On arrival we were informed that not everything on the menu would be available so we pre-booked what we wanted to eat from a limited selection. When we came to dine in the evening we were told that even one of our pre-booked dishes was unavailable. Having expressed our annoyance we were offered a free meal which, when it arrived was duly sent back to the kitchen. The food was quite simply inedible. We will definitely not be returning and feel it is our duty to warn other potential "GUESTS " that they will certainly not receive a warm welcome at the Rose and Crown.

Date visited: 29th december 2007

Review by sue smith on 10th August, 2007

Add your review
We booked this hotel in good faith from the information on the hotel web page. we had stayed in the hotel many years ago when it was very good. We were extremely disappointed on this occasion. The hotel is run down and grubby. The windows in the room could not be opened. the wardrobe smelt musty and the wallpaper was dirty and coming off the walls. the room was not cleaned properly when we returned after a day out. The food was not as good as we expected. the staff were pleasant but did not appear to be receiving any training or guidance as to how to do their jobs adequately. In short it is a place to be avoided

Date visited: 9/8/2007

Review by C W Jones on 24th June, 2007

Add your review
We had booked 2 nights accommodation at The Rose & Crown Hotel, Bainbridge in the Yorkshire Dales and paid a deposit of £40.00p. From the outside the hotel looked tired and run down and this was confirmed when we went inside. The bedroom we were taken to was poorly furnished, extremely shabby and had a strong stale odour which was very unpleasant. We would not stay even 1 night and left willing to forgo the deposit we had paid rather than stay.

Date visited: 22 June 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Whenever people talk to me about the weather I always feel certain that they mean something else - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Boston Massachusetts Founded - 1630, Operation Market Garden - Allied invasion of Holland - 1944, Lord of the Flies Published - 1954
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles