Old

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Court Hotel, Ross-on-Wye

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by the forrester on 27th August, 2013

Add your review
I attended this venue for my relatives wedding. Rather annoyed to think more attention could of been made regards the staff and managements scruffy attire, due to this being a one off memorable occasion, with regards to organisation, there just did not appear to be any, people were going backwards and forwards almost falling over one and another.

Date visited: 25th august, 2013

Review by Carole Dische on 12th December, 2007

Add your review
The best Christmas Experience in the last 20 years! I was invited to a Christmas meal here with some friends last night. I have not been to this hotel for years and did not know what to expect. On entering we were welcomed by a roaring log fire in reception and another one in the bar. We went through to the Dining Room which was totally candlelit. The food was magnificent - I had Rack of Lamb, I have not tasted Lamb like it for years. The service was good although not intrusive and I loved the oldie worldie atmosphere. What a surprise and I will definitely be going back in future. Thank you to all the staff working last night.

Date visited: 11 Dec 2007

Review by Fiona Taalesen on 4th July, 2007

Add your review
What an amazing place. This hotel had all the character and charm of a lovely old fashioned 'Inn'. The staff were some of the friendliest that I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble. All the food was local, simply cooked, tasy and hot. The atmosphere was cosy and warm. We loved our trip here from Norway.

Date visited: 21st April 2007

Review by David McFadgen on 4th July, 2007

Add your review
I stumbled upon the Old Court whilst away canoeing with a couple of friends. What a find. I will be going back with my girlfriend. The bar had local ale in "Wye Valley" which was excellent quality and only 2 per pint - excellent value. I had a Homemade Burger - to die for - I did not know meat still tasted that good. The prices were reasonable for food, although not cheap. We sat in the garden and enjoyed our meal with a few drinks.

Date visited: 3rd May 2007

Review by h loveridge on 31st August, 2006

Add your review
I recently took my family for a meal at the Old Court Hotel and whilst ordering I requested some hot water for my 8 month old daughters dried food. After repeatedly asking for this whilst waiting for our meal the staff just kept replying 'i'll get it for you now'. Our meals arrived but still no water and still one hungry baby, we ate our meals which were a bit dissappointing and bland, whilst feeding the baby titbits off our plates to keep her going, during this time still asking staff for water. The water never came and we left with a very hungry baby.It is as though the staff dont care at all! To top it off I had to change the baby's nappy on the sink unit as there was no where to change her.I do not recommend this place if you have babies or toddlers!

Date visited: 28/08/06

Review by Mr & Mrs Cook on 4th June, 2006

Add your review
First glimpse of this outstanding hotel were inspiring, the gardens beautiful, sunny with shaded areas surrounded by picturesque views. Convenient and sheltered from the duel carriage way. Five in our family party, food ordered, approximate waiting time 40 minutes, time to enjoy the surroundings. 1 hour later, no food, no cutlery and our confidence waining. After 3 reminders and checks with the waiting staff we eventually received our food which had clearly been forgotten. Only two meals delivered at one time, final meal still not served until almost all other meals consumed. 2 meals lacked key components as detailed on the menu. Finding cutlery was a task and the staff seemed less than assertive to assist. Eventually final meal was served without a key ingredient. I checked with the waiter who apologised and we agreed this would be brought out separately. After waiting 15 minutes still nothing arrived, no apology, no, sorry I forgot... left unhappy and would certainly not eat their again. Food was ok but the service was appauling. Staff looked harrased, very disorganised and forgetful.....no clear guidance from the top. There is so much potential here it is just not being harnessed and delivered or they just don't care! Not one to recommend:(

Date visited: 04/05/06

Review by tracy on 13th April, 2006

Add your review
After reading all the details on the website - I chose this hotel to bring clients to for dinner and an overnight stay. Booked four-poster rooms, freezing cold, no shower facilities and lacked curtains in some areas - not good for privacy. Food and restaurant servcice was dreadful - food served uncooked or frozen and poor choice for hotel of this calibre. Would not visit again after paying 130 per room without dinner !

Date visited: 18th March 2006

Review by Paul Baxter. on 27th March, 2006

Add your review
THANK YOU FOR ANOTHER GREAT WEEKEND, THE FOOD AND THE SERVICE WAS EXECELLANT OURSELVES AND MR & MRS GREENWAY CAN NOT WAIT FOR OUR NEXT VIST.

Date visited: 25/March/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We are not just here to manage capitalism but to change society and to define its finer values - Tony Benn
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Ashingdon - 1016, Chewing Gum first goes on sale - 1911, BBC Formed - 1922, First Brit Awards - 1977
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages