It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Its illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Scotgate Holiday Park, Braithwaite

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sue Brereton on 16th September, 2010

Add your review
One of the best sites that we have stayed at. Great 360 views of the fells, layout and maintenance of the site excellent, toilet and shower luxury, shop well stocked, we had breakfast at the cafe good food well priced. What more can I say! We spent 3 days there in our motor home, we walked into Keswick nice town 25mins walk - bus back good frequent service. Did a 10 miles circular fabulous views photos spectacular, went to the pub 3 mins up the road. We will be going back.

Date visited: 9th Sept - 12th Sept 2010

Review by tina waddle on 10th August, 2010

Add your review
Just come back after a 3 day stay at this site and I must say it was fabulous! The staff there are really helpful and the views are amazing. We stayed in our tourer and the pitch was huge. It's really clean and well set out and the toilet block is lovely and clean and modern. The showers are really spacious too. There's also a little cafe on the site which we didn't use but looked really nice. There's also a little pub a couple of mins up the road too which does lovely food too. We wish we could've stayed longer and can't wait to go back soon!

Date visited: 7/8/2010

Review by Melanie Howard on 17th February, 2010

Add your review
What a lovely site. when we arrived the check in was quick and straight forward, 2 gentlemen who work at the site showed us to our pitch, unhooked the caravan and pushed the caravan on to the pitch, 1st class service. the view from the sight are fab, Keswick is a 30 min walk and well worth a visit. The toilet block is fantastic. We visioted the local pub Royal oak on the Friday evening and was offered a warm welcome. all in all a fab weekend, will definetly return to Scotgate. 5*.

Date visited: 12-14 Feb 2010

Review by geoff brandlow on 12th January, 2010

Add your review
This is a fantastic site with great local amenities and fantastic views of the local fells. Great for families and very safe, reminds me of my childhood when you could let the kids go off to play safely and they came back at dusk. Reading previous reviews, I think you must have caught the owner on a bad day or antagonised him in some way as I found him extremely friendly and helpful as are all the staff. Can't help but praise this campsite and will definately return.

Date visited: august 2009

Review by Gary Corda on 30th December, 2009

Add your review
Fantastic site , well laid out, friendly reception, 5* shower and toilet block, unbelievable scenery and walk's. Highly recommended and will definately be coming back.

Date visited: 23/12/2009-26/12/2009

Review by dave on 8th September, 2009

Add your review
stayed in chalets very clean and comfortable. camp very clean and well set out. toilet facilities excellent. could not fault stay, except weather (raining most of the time)would recommend.

Date visited: 29/08/2009

Review by L Bennet on 1st April, 2009

Add your review
We have stayed at at Scotgate holiday park before but I had to write this review after our most recent visit. There has been a new toilet/ utility block built which would rival most FIVE STAR hotels with marbel vanity area and toilets which flush themselves. The shop is well stocked and there is a great cafe which I was told is to be improved for this summer. There are now also pre bookable hard stands with all the "hook ups" you could ask for. This is a friendly family run holiday park in a fabulouse location (the grumpy owner mentioned in previouse reviews is in the process of retiring!) We had a great time and would deffinately stay again.

Date visited: 28th March 2009

Review by L Clegg on 30th March, 2009

Add your review
The area itself has enough to recommend it, 2 dog friendly pubs and plenty of good walking, this site had one unexpected but very welcome advantage. The 1st class shower and toilet facilities which were a real pleasure to use, not to metion free electric hookup and solid standing for our camper van. We would certainly use this site again.

Date visited: 27 march 2009

Review by d logan on 1st August, 2008

Add your review
Been to campsite on a few occasions , has good shop and nice cafe where you can get a lovely cooked breakfast , hadnt any veggie stuff for my daughter but were happy toget some in . was ill on one occasion campsite ownerd disauded me from going to local gp as i would have waited for ages - directed mr to local cottage hospital and was seen immediately . i found that although the staff were kept busy they were pleasant enough and i plan to return

Date visited: 2005-2009

Review by C Fairclough on 7th April, 2008

Add your review
I am not surprised to see the comments with regards to the site owner, as he seems to go out of his way to be rude, but I can only say it is not the Cumbrian way. Go and see Geoff at the Coledale Inn to see how they really are - if only he had a campsite..... However the position is superb and the ammenities are very good. If you want better views and ammenities go to Castle Rigg farm campsite, but this is further away from pub(s) and Keswick.

Date visited: every year

Review by Paul Robson on 10th January, 2008

Add your review
This site has an excellent location and is a good base when touring the lakes. There are some good walks. The village is really nice but two pubs can get a bit full in summer, especially of an evening. The camping areas are flat but do lack electric hook ups.As you cannot book ahead you take your chances both with touring caravans motorhomes and tents. I have always found amenties to be good and my kids always find something to do arounnd the site. There is a static caravan area that always seems busy, there is a large grass area to the fromt of the caravans where families play games on summer evenings. I have not stayed in the caravans, For me it is camping or a mobile home. Although I may be tempted to try out the chalets one day. The reception staff at the office can seem a little off hand at times but this is just the Cumbrian way I suspect , once you crack the ice I have found them to be heplful. Previous reviews have stated they could be better with customers. I can only say the site is so busy they dont really need to be . This site is my favorite site in the area, its all about location location and waking up to that view !

Date visited: MANY TIMES 1991 T0 2007

Review by colin porter on 16th February, 2007

Add your review
Good location for walks, pub etc. However the guy at reception had a bad attitude.

Review by Kevin Lawton on 12th November, 2006

Add your review
We pre-booked this site before seeing it, when we arrived it had been raining heavily and was very muddy. This site does not have hard standing! We set up and I went to fetch the water. There is only one tap for whole site. On my next trip to collect water I called into office, and asked site owner if that was the nearest tap. He replied "yes, why is it to far for you" I was a bit shocked and said "It is further than the most sites I have been on" HE then replied, "well if you don�t like it I will give you your money back and you can go" Still in state of shock at how rude the chap was, I said we had been travelling for 8 hours, and I was not going to pack up again now, and most other site were full. I was really annoyed at how the site owner had spoken to me, so when I got back to Caravan, I started looking for another site. I found one, so the next day I went to site owner and said I wanted to take him up on his offer for a refund. He refused! Saying that offer was only for yesterday. I was tempted to leave anyway, but I was not going to give him the money for nothing so we stayed. Personally if you are looking for a friendly site, I would avoid this one! The site owner is extremely rude, and has a real attitude problem!

Date visited: November 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Women are naturally secretive, and they like to do their own secreting. - Arthur Conan Doyle
More Quotes

On this day:
First Atomic Explosion - 1945, Stirling Moss is first Englishman to win the British Grand Prix - 1955, Helicopter Crashes off Scilly - 1983
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages