It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lakeside Caravan Park & Fisheries, Downham Market

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Col-een on 10th September, 2012

Add your review
Used to be a nice site when Tony was incharge but not any more. Sinks leaking in the ladies, water all over the floor, being soak up with stacks of paper towels. The grass was very long badly needed cutting. Great big pot holes all along the entrance lane. The wardens had walked out, due to too much work for one couple to cope with. It now looks like a residential site with all the sheds, fences, hedges, decking and gardens that have sprung up. and some people seem to be living there permanantly. The management cannot cope we were treated very badly will not be going back.

Date visited: August 20012

Review by Mrs Bishop on 23rd July, 2012

Add your review
Arrived on the site entrance very very bad not suitable for a car never mind a caravan. We travelled up from Wales for our sons wedding the following day, he is in the R.A.F. Our son visited us that day and said what a lovely site, he would like to have some photos taken there. After the wedding the following day we went back to the site to take some photos. There was only about 20 of us and 7 of us were staying there, we parked in the car park no disruption to anyone, the photographer was about to take some photos when the owner came over like a mad woman shouting and screaming at us and telling us to get off her land. We left and as we were driving out the owner and a man barricaded the entrance and demanded £5 off each car before we could leave. The next day our 2 grandchildren were shouted at because they were having a race. We left that day even though we had paid for another night. I have never in my life met anyone as rude and nasty as the owner and the wardens were. My son and his friends risk their lives to protect this country and I think it is disgusting they were treated this way. Will not stay at this site again even if it was for free.

Date visited: 19/7/2012

Review by fred titmuss on 1st April, 2012

Add your review
Have just returned from this park after just buying my caravan and having no idea what to do. The staff there were so helpful and i cant thank them enough for all the help they gave me. As far as the site goes the new shop and office welcome you at the end of the lane as you enter the site, very well stocked with fishing tackle and bait, caravan parts and some foods. The toilets were very clean and the site was being worked on by the wardens who are making a fantastic job getting the flower borders ready and sorting out the swims for us fishermen. All in all a great place for my family and i to spend our weekends.... 10/10

Date visited: 16th march 2012

Review by Dave on 8th January, 2012

Add your review
Well What do you say ? Visited this nice well run site in 2010 what a difference a year makes.Entrance to the site (were first impressions count)well run down, Road leading up to site very bumpy, Lights on driveway tops missing, water in them.(electric Problem?) Wardens ignorant. The lady ? (could you call her that ?) very abrupt, rude towards paying customers,No people skills.Husband well would be better off working in a scrap yard(on his own). Got that attitude were it:s nothing to do with me.Both two quick to blame owners. Site itself Overgrown bushes etc.Grass to long (watched warden cut grass once)quick two minutes tractor put away waste of time.No passion for the job ?. Fishing lakes disgusting slimy water. I can go on and on but enough said, My advice to owners get rid off idle no skills wardens who have no passion for there job and replace them with someone who cares our sell up.Would not advice anybody to visit our would not return until site improves.Shame was once a lovely site.

Date visited: August 2011

Review by D Upton on 21st August, 2011

Add your review
We have just returned from a visit to this caravan site, which looked very pleasant when we arrived, with the lakes and grassland and it is true that the Wardens seem friendly and helpful, although we did see another side to the gentleman warden, from a distance, when he was berating some poor caravanner for a minor misdemeanour in a very very loud voice. Also, how 100+ caravans are supposed to manage with just 6 W.c's is a little worrying to say the least, and no wonder at times they don't seem 100% clean with so many adults and children using them, and even queueing for them some mornings. As more and more caravanners arrived it was very noticeable that rubbish was piling up at the various disposal areas and looked very unappealing and very unprofessional. We didn't see it taken away at all during our weekend stay and by the time we left there were plastic bags of rubbish leaning up against the rubbish bins, at every disposal point.Also there are signs everywhere asking you to please clean up after your dogs, which of course we all should do, but I could only find one disposal bin for dog waste tucked away in the woods,which was very difficult to find. This could indeed be a flag ship site as their brochure advertises, but more attention to detail is needed before they can truly use this description.

Date visited: 18th August 2011

Review by mr birmingham on 21st March, 2011

Add your review
had a couple of days at this site, it was very peacefull untill a couple of youngsters decide to ride there motor bikes into the site, got told they belong to the owner. the noise from these motor bikes was deafening on times and they rode them in the field where they store caravans how foolish is that what if the hit 1 of the storage caravans;what the owner has to realise is that holiday people pay for there wages how about showing some peace and quiet to people caravaning if this continues would not come back to this site ,toilet block a little dirty tiles need a good clean,

Date visited: march 2011

Review by jack brown on 18th February, 2011

Add your review
i thought i would add my view on things can i just say to the warden your doing a grand job and as for the toilets not being cleaned. thats a lie how about blaming the dirty people who make the mess.the new wardens are very profesional and are very helpfull.they are always there to help even in the middle of the night when you need another gas bottle or electric card, keep up the good work and if people dont like it then they can move on,

Date visited: five times a year

Review by baxter on 16th September, 2010

Add your review
i stayed at lake side for a week and was glad to get home i think the warden can be very rude and her husband to u never see them around the site they are not at all helping at all when janet was site warden she would make time 4 u and was always there to help along with her husband the site is not clean and the tolets are not clean i will not be returning to this site

Date visited: 19 july 2010

Review by Anon on 1st September, 2010

Add your review
We've been going to the site for over 5 years now and have noticed how it has declined. The attitude of the warden and owner are most unhelpful; one is always ready to blame the other for actions taken. Changes were made to our pitch number despite having booked it over a year in advance. The toilet block is definitely not as clean as it used to be. Also whoever puts three catfish in a lake with smaller fish has little idea about fishery management...

Date visited: 10 July 2010

Review by clack on 30th July, 2010

Add your review
i was very upset to see that my carvan was brocking in 2 i pay my fees to store my carvan down there when i got down to go 4 a hoilday and they pull my carvan on i notice all mt fishing things had gone when i reported this they said there was not alot they could do about this ilost over 500 pound in fishing gear all the site warden said we can be held 4 any lost i pay my fees so they should cheack every day on carvan which are store down manythanks

Date visited: 26 7 2010

Review by Jane on 13th September, 2007

Add your review
Nice site, clean and tidy all facilities in tip top condition. Friendly and helpful staff. Play area for the children, 3 lakes for fishing, windmill at the end of the lane for fresh bread every day and shop and post office at the other end of the village for most basics. Downham market 2 miles away easily cycled Tesco and Somerfield in town with a lot of interesting and independant shops. If you want good fish and chips try the Downham Fryer fantastic fish and friendly service. Will be going again.

Date visited: July 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Liberty means responsibility. That is why most men dread it. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
First True Canal in Britain Opens - 1761, Punch Magazine launches - 1841, Royal Family Adopts Windsor Name - 1917, Tsar Nicholas and Family Killed - 1918, Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Act Gains Royal Assent - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages