George

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George & Pilgrims, Glastonbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 10th February, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Lovely, quaint inn with caring staff. Very flexible - we arrived late one night and had to leave very early. Accommodating to our needs with a young child. What a surprise to have excellent wireless service! Bad Points: Bed sloping with the floor. We propped it up to be more level, would be easy to have a permanent solution so there is a level bed even though the floor has settled a bit. General review: Quite good! enjoyed it.

Date visited: 2010-02-10

Review by Mr K on 21st November, 2009

Add your review
we live in Glastonbury and the to say that the service and quality of food at the Pilgrims is variable is an understatement. The food was disgusting - simple chips and a burger - how could it go so wrong. The staff just dont care - they are rude and indifferent. We shall NEVER go there again! Mr K

Date visited: 21.11.09

Review by James on 19th March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Wonderful medieval room, a bit tatty of course being in England.Highly recommendable.

Date visited: 2009-03-19

Review by Dave James on 1st March, 2009

Add your review
What a great place, came in for a bite to eat, good home cooked food, I had the Home -made fish pie, bloody nice. I got talking to the locals and the manager i think his name was Graham but not to sure, anyway from just going in to have a bite to eat, we decided to stay the night, we stayed in a 4poster room called the selwood, once again room clean, shower great, cofey bed. staff could not be more helpful, breakfast was 9 till 10 which did seem late but made sense as you could get up a little later than you would as a normal, once again morning staff and chef friendly. I would stay again 9 out of 10

Date visited: 27th feb 2009

Review by Roger and Wanda on 16th July, 2007

Add your review
Stayed for Wanda's birthday present and love the atmosphere of the place. Lovely food and beer, friendly staff. Very olde worlde rooms and ideal romantic getaway. We also decided to get married there too!

Date visited: Jan 2007

Review by Jason on 17th October, 2006

Add your review
I was touring Somerset Dorset with a friend and we visited Glastonbury. We decided to stay at the George and Plimgrim and what a mistake it was! This was the worst place I stayed in over the 5 nights of travelling and my worsed ever experience of a stay in a hotel.

Date visited: 13/10/06

Review by lisa smith on 21st February, 2006

Add your review
Had a lovely time. new management very friendly and obviously know what they are doing - making changes for the better... lovely atmosphere and the new chef made a delicious meal /top ingredience / well cooked and beautifully presented. Will go again soon.

Date visited: feb.06

Review by Mary

Add your review
Love the atmosphere & history.,Nobody at desk. No help with luggage.,"Second visit to share with a friend this delightful, ancient, and atmospheric hotel in the heart of Glastonbury. The floors slant a little, and the stairs are challengingly narrow and curving, but it adds to the hotel's charm. We stayed in the Abbott Whiting room -- large, half-canopied beds, wing back chairs near the 3-window bay. The bar has so much dark wood, grey stone, and black iron grating that you feel Henry VIII might just walk in for a pint. This hotel and staff are a treasure, as is the the town of Glastonbury. Worth every penny to step back in time. Only regret... the ghost is gone."

Date visited: 10/11/2004

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If you are cast in a different mould to the majority, it is no merit of yours: Nature did it. - Charlotte Bronte
More Quotes

On this day:
The Ark Royal commissioned - 1914, 1st episode of Coronation St screened - 1960, Iraq Frees 100 UK Hostages - 1990
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages