It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red Lion, Elstow

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by lucy on 26th November, 2010

Add your review
In defence of that awful review of the red lion im posting a review and i never do that. My boyfriend and i go out every weekend to have lunch a various different pubs and restaurants in and around bedford and we have been hard pressed to find a good pub which serves good food, not microwaved food. And the red lion is one such place, the food is great the atmosphere is great, and really they arent in much need of this review because it seems to always be heaving in there we would defintely go back there plus we will be taking family and friends.

Date visited: 15/11/10

Review by Michelle K on 13th March, 2009

Add your review
Popped in today after the refurbishment to check it out. The interior has had some changes in usage space and colour. You have to find your own table, which did mean going through the seating area looking at others eating. We ended up sitting in the pub area but this was also pleasant, what with the light airy surroundings. You order at the bar and get given a "lollipop" with a number for identification. You then have a cutlery container, with condiments inside, arrive. The menu has changed slightly but still retains the usual steaks and burgers. It also has lighter meals such as sandwiches and Jacket potatoes. It has devised a display system for small, regular or large meals so the kids can pick from the big menu where there is a S below it. The Sizzler refers to the arrival of the meal. The hubby had a mixed grill which made more noise than Concorde but was admittedly superb. the meat was cooked perfectly. The size of portion was just right for the meal too. I had a BBQ burger, and the chips were great. The food was absolutely fab and we will definetely be going back with our daughter next time.

Date visited: 13.3.2009

Review by Andy on 4th August, 2008

Add your review
From the moment we set foot in this pub/resturant all we could hear was swearing from a group standing at the bar, the bar maid was worse than slow and seemed more interested in making conversation with others rather than the people she was serving. The meal was served by a young lad who didn't have clue about serving food in a resturant and had a dirty cloth over his arm, which appeared to be covered in blood, he did'nt know which were the Sirloin or Rump steaks, the meal was awful, the steaks were full of grissle and fat resulting in us getting them free after complaining to the manager. None of the staff including the manager seemed have any motivation or insentive to do a good job. THIS IS ONE PUB/RESTURANT TO STAY CLEAR OF!!!!!

Date visited: 02/08/08

Review by sheila daines on 10th May, 2007

Add your review
Christening party I would like to send my congratulations to the service we received on my grandaughter's party. The food was fresh and very well presented,and ALL the staff gave attentive service especially the assistant manager(sorry can't remember her name). We have eaten at the Lion before,on Mothering Sunday(again excellent sevice on that busy day!) I would strongly recommend you to anyone and be confident they would be pleased with the visit,Sheila Daines

Date visited: 06/05/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
An idea, like a ghost, must be spoken to a little before it will explain itself. - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
First Non-Stop Transatlantic Jet Flight - 1950, Launch of ITV - 1955, 10 Soldiers killed by IRA bomb attack in Deal - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages