Gissing

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Gissing Hall, Diss

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by John on 17th November, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: A lovely old building with genuine character. The staff were all professional and courteous. Bedding was clean and room tidy. The cooked breakfast was good. Bad Points: The decor of our room was shabby and needs attention, for example, the thermostat on the radiator had rusted off completely thus no control of room heat. Also, the bathroom sink hot tap was loose and difficult to operate. General review: Lots of rural character to the hotel but there were signs of a lack of investment in the maintenance of the building and fixtures, which was sad.

Date visited: 2009-11-17

Review by Jonathan on 16th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Staff, Food, Location, Surroundings Bad Points: Diabled toilet in room, but did not need/want it. Lighting in room was poor. Decorative order in some of the hotel needs attention. It felt like a residential home. In contrat I stayed in the Cornwallis the following day and found it far superior.

Date visited: 2008-06-16

Review by Anonymous on 4th August, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Spacious room, confortable bed and lovely surroundings.

Date visited: 2007-08-04

Review by Lorraine Ong on 25th May, 2007

Add your review
What a beautiful old building! Very restful and comfortable. Lovely gardens with a croquet lawn. We visited to taste my daughter's proposed wedding breakfast choice. The food was wonderfully presented, hot plates, great attention to detail and with the desired unique taste effect! We also viewed the Ballroom and Marquee and were very pleased. Excellent service throughout our meal and with the wedding booking arrangements. The wedding is booked for August 2008 and we are looking forward to enjoying the use of Gissing Hall for the day.

Date visited: 24 May 2007

Review by turner on 10th April, 2007

Add your review
Whole place in need of a lot of attention. Outside in fairly bad state of neglect. Inside there appears to be some work going on but there is not enought attention to detail. Lots of dead flowers around on tables etc and plants with dead leaves abound. Lots of cobwebs in dining room and the high window in there was really dirty. Staff very friendly but I would have been very disappointed if I had been given our room for a honeymooin (supposed to be honeymoon suite) curtains very tatty and faded in bathroom and bedroom, nothing quite finished, hole in wall by bed etc. Windows either don't open or don't shut and heating seemed uncontrollable. Could be a fantastic place but in this state going to struggle to attract people, certainly return ones.

Date visited: 28.03.12007

Review by maria gorham on 18th June, 2006

Add your review
Very expensive for the service we got. Very tired after a long journey, all I wished for was a nice shower, five minutes into my shower hot water was gone, I had to finish my shower in cold water. My husband complenied and was told to wait about 20 minutes for the water to heat up again. Next morning no cold water, we could not shower or bath because the water was far too hot. The curtain in the room was too light,4:30 am, we were wide wake. I could not eat my dinner. The whole place needs cleaning. I could not eat breakfast, the pot of tea was filthy, so were the cups.

Date visited: 16 06 06

Review by Gary

Add your review
Food was only average breakfast and evening bar meal. Very little choice first evening,"Very frienldy, comfortable and peacefull. Excellent two nights sleep rooms very pleasant and quiet. Meals and rooms I would have liked information on."

Date visited: 22/01/2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I don't work at being ordinary. - Paul McCartney
More Quotes

On this day:
Cato Street Conspiracy Exposed - 1820
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages