It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2018: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bowling Green Inn, Ashbourne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Yvonne Malcolm on 31st August, 2010

Add your review
Excellent home cooked food, locally sourced ingredients, very friendly and welcoming staff, defenitely worth a visit. Very memorable food, absolutely got to go back for more!

Date visited: 28.8.2010

Review by Bill Paterson on 29th January, 2009

Add your review
My wife and I were warmly greeted by Graeme and his staff, even at 9 o'clock at night. The food is definitely fresh and sourced locally. It is excellently cooked and presented. Their prices are extremely reasonable and they have a marvellous choice of Lagers and Beers. We will definitely be back. Sooner rather than later.

Date visited: 23rd January 2009

Review by Jim cole on 6th April, 2008

Add your review
Food was fantastic, tasted fresh and homemade. Welcomed by owner who was very friendly. Good atmosphere and the fire in the bar was very cosy.

Date visited: 22/03/08

Review by Adam Forage on 24th February, 2008

Add your review
came in on the off chance that they were still doing food at 3.30pm. Me and my wife were greeted by the new owner and made to feel very welcome. The food was excellent. Definetly home made even the chips!!! will, without doubt be returning.

Date visited: 17/02/08

Review by Greg on 26th December, 2006

Add your review
Very Very Impressed, food was excelent. The owners of the place are very friendly and welcoming. I would Highly recomend a visit, but you must phone and book. Thanks to all at the bowling green. We will definantly be back.

Date visited: 26/12/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Deer hunting would be a fine sport if only the deer had guns - W S Gilbert
More Quotes

On this day:
The Houses of Parliament burn down - 1834, Jane Eyre Published - 1847, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Published - 1950, First Edition of Blue Peter - 1958
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages