It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2018: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Golden Lion Inn, High Bickington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mabelle Mackay on 20th March, 2018

Add your review
This pub has to be the best in England in fact the whole village is the kindest, most thoughtful place. We broke down on a freezing cold Saturday afternoon and received from the pub and villagers the most sympathetic , generous, delightful ,warm welcome for which we can never thank you all enough. You should win the. Best village award.

Date visited: 17/3/2018

Review by Norah Hale on 10th May, 2009

Add your review
As the landlady of The Golden Lion for the past 6 years i find it hard to understand these reviews. The one about the pickle comp is not even about this pub Nice as it is it is the other pub in the village the second review is nice and thank you. The 3rd review is the same under a differant name whats that all about, and the 4th lady i am very sorry you were unhappy i only wish you had told me and in the back of my mind i hope like the first reveiw that you made a mistake with the pubs in the village

Review by Tracey on 9th December, 2007

Add your review
Well I visited it - I think someone has been doing their own reviews! Wont be returning in too much of a hurry!!

Date visited: 28/01/07

Review by nev on 18th August, 2006

Add your review
The Golden Lion Inn was a wonderfull place to visit on my journey through Devon. The atmosphere within the family run pub was fantastic to see. Every single person who walked through the door had a friendly vibe about them. They have good quiality, genuine pub food which is also available as a take away!! how novel is that? I would recommend this pub to anyone passing through North Devon.

Review by David Jennings on 14th August, 2006

Add your review
The Golden Lion Inn was a wonderfull place to visit on my journey through Devon. The atmosphere within the family run pub was fantastic to see. Every single person who walked through the door had a friendly vibe about them. They have good quiality, genuine pub food which is also available as a take away!! how novel is that? I would recommend this pub to anyone passing through North Devon.

Date visited: July 2006

Review by B Richards on 20th January, 2006

Add your review
16th cent village run by a real landlord with real beers. Totally excellent food cooked by his wife with class. this pub is 100% recommended for food, beer, service and atmosphere. Enjoyed the open wood fire and pickled onion competion. My wife was roped in as a judge!! well worth finding, hidden in centre of the village. I rate this pub as a hidden gem, I only wish it was 100 miles closer to home

Date visited: jan 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Language is not only the vehicle of thought, it is a great and efficient instrument in thinking - Humphry Davy
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages