Auchen

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Auchen Castle, Moffat

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr D Smith and Mrs N Kerr Smith on 19th March, 2008

Add your review
I am very surprised to read the previous reviews. It is true that Auchen Castle seem to have gone through a staff restructure over the last twelve months. And as we were planning our wedding there on New Year's Eve '07 it did cause us some concern but it has now transpired that this was unfounded. The staff remained approachable and open to negotiation throughout the planning process and were nothing but professional on the day. We had a fantastic wedding with every aspect running perfectly... confetti would have been nice but a lot of venues impose the same restrictions these days. All of our guests commented on how excellent the food was and as we hired the castle exclusively on New Year's Eve they didn't ask us to check-out of the rooms at the usual time and in-fact provided either a full cooked breakfast or soup and sandwiches depending what time of the day each guest rolled downstairs! Unfortunately we celebrated too much the night before and missed both. We had an excellent experience and will be visiting for years to come (and fingers crossed we will hopefully make breakfast next time).

Date visited: 31st december 2007

Review by Peter on 1st November, 2007

Add your review
Shocking! Abysmal service. All we wanted was a small simple wedding, but in return fro our £1200 deposit all we got was lousy co-ordinators and total incompetence. Be warned - Do not book this hotel!

Date visited: Sept 2007

Review by Lynn on 9th June, 2006

Add your review
Having returned from a friend's daughters wedding at Auchen Castle I checked the reviews for this hotel. I was pleased to read Gary Small's review following his visit in March 2006. It confirmed our views of the hotel. The rules and regulations form you had to sign when checking in was certainly not conducive to a holiday or happy occasion. No confetti to be thrown...at a wedding outdoors! Children welcome...I don't think so. The staff were unfriendly,unhelpful and unwelcoming and poorly managed. The food mediocre, drinks excessively expensive, I have had better meals at a local pub. The hotel blurb does not fit the experience.

Date visited: June 2006

Review by gary small on 20th April, 2006

Add your review
This has got to be the worst hotel i have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The rooms are shabby the staff are rude the food is average and the bar prices very expensive! I also had two unautherised transactions taken from my credit card four days after leaving the hotel and am currently takig legal action, There was a wedding taking place whilst i was staying there and the bride and groom were having an arrgument with the hotel manager saying there wedding had been ruined due to incompitent staff and even worse wedding co-ordinators. from my experience i would not recommend using the hotel for an venue you may be very disappointed!

Date visited: march 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A man's friendships are one of the best measures of his worth. - Charles Darwin
More Quotes

On this day:
England’s Worst Mining Disaster - 1866, Marconi sends 1st transatlantic wireless message - 1901, Marples Hotel Tragedy - 1940, Peace Women Embrace Greenham Common - 1982, Clapham rail disaster - 1988
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages