It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Albert Victor, Castle Acre

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Michael Eveling on 16th November, 2009

Add your review
Re owners response to my comments. I do not work in nor have a connection with the pub/restaurant trade as he makes out. We were very polite to his front of house staff as they were clearly embarrassed by the food they had to serve. We dont like complaining & felt sorry for the waitress hence our tip. If he had had the courtesy to respond to our letter I would probably not have left a negative review.

Date visited: 25 August 2009

Review by Richard on 4th November, 2009

Add your review
Visited Pub very nice food, excellent service. Would recommend to anyone. Cant understand previous review obviously someone looking for a free meal. Visit and decide yourself..

Date visited: 01/10/09

Review by Richard Millar on 4th November, 2009

Add your review
I own the Albert Victor in Castle Acre, I have just noticed a review about my pub. The gentleman who posted it works in a local restaurant in Swaffam and would be competition. I had received a letter but chose to ignore it as he was rude to my staff, he did pay for his bill and even left a tip. I would suggest customers make up there own mind about the pub. I own 3 pubs and all very successful..The ostrich Inn South Creake, Rose & Crown Harpley, the Albert Victor and a 4th soon to open The Kings Arms in Shouldham..

Review by Michael Eveling on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
.Frequent customer over past 4 years. Food was always good. This time 2 soups were freezing cold-not warm, hadnt been near a heat source. 3 out of 4 main courses rubbish. Calves liver tough (was it something else?)Steak dry & lukewarm, accompanying side orders arrived when I had finished! 2 of the 4 meals were almost eaten before the other 2 arrived. Pub not busy. Staff very pleasant but embarrassed.Had no authority to reduce food charges. Didnt charge for 4 small drinks. Couldnt track down owner for advice. Wrote polite letter to owner who has not replied. This place is doomed-go to The Ostrich a few doors away ; its been transformed. Also George & Dragon at Newton-nice people.

Date visited: 25 August 2009

Review by sean leyden on 14th February, 2009

Add your review
we booked a family do for 11, 2 young kids, 2 teenagers, 2 pensioners and some normal people. we were pleasently surprised at the extensive choice on menu we started with drinks in the friendly and comfy bar with roaring fire then ordered food which was well presented, and what can i say but everyone thought theirs was excellent, and we are not that easily pleased. all the staff were excellent, and very tolerant of the kids although it would be better not to eat too late if you have young kids, 9pm finish is fair enough. conclusion..if in the area a must visit brilliant food and very very reasonably priced

Date visited: 13/2/09

Review by Cecil. Smith on 29th February, 2008

Add your review
Lush Grub..Service was awesome(: All the staff are happy and willing to help Qualitayy afternoon meal! Waitress in particular was most smiley, me thinks her name was Abiigale :D Rest assured, we will most definately be visting again..Strongly recomend it!

Date visited: January 3rd 08

Review by dwane pipe on 20th February, 2008

Add your review
Myself and a group of friends visited the albert victor for a social drink, we didnt eat however the food that we saw looked great and i fully intend to book in the future. i must say that for a group of six 20 to 25 year olds to be able to drink in a local pub with out being judged was great, we found it to be very welcoming and relaxed, the staff were good and the land lady very outgoing and happy to help.

Date visited: 16 january 2008

Review by R Millar on 12th February, 2008

Add your review
I was a bit surprised to read the last review, I went with my wife and 2 year old daughter she had Lasagne & chips and ate the lot, I had a rare fillet my wife had Pork medallions with Rosti, mushroom and Spinach. The food and service were very good. Worth a visit…

Date visited: 10/02/08

Review by Daryl Martin on 15th November, 2007

Add your review
I visited this pub with my family for what we hoped would be a nice occasion. We were a party of 10. Never again! The food was okay but the landlady was surl and rude. All because we had the cheek to enquire if they did children's meals. We were told, with very bad grace, eventually, that the only children's meal would be scampi & chips?! No smaller portions of anything else. Why is she working in a job she obviously hates? Places like this give the UK a bad name.

Date visited: 11.11.2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nonsense and beauty have close connections. - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Great Torrington - 1646, Heaviest British Snowfall - 1929, Angel of the North Completed - 1998
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages