It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lion Inn, Thurne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by sandra on 31st March, 2013

Add your review
Having visited this pub regularly over the years ,the state of cleanliness has deteriorated so much that l shall not EVER go again,the barmen are friendly ,waiting staff were helpful,landlord so so smsrmy and false,.Toilets were unusable, floors had water running on them ,no loo rolls and filthy sinks,saying that , the food was good ,but hoping that the kitchen was a lot cleaner than the rest of the pub,Bye bye to the Lion Inn from us, all our party of ten agreed

Date visited: 29/03/13

Review by Lowri Roche on 14th September, 2012

Add your review
The sign states that dogs are welcome. Pity children are not! The arcade that is meant to be for children is awful! The two pence machines were all gone. Half of the machines were broken and the rest cost a small fortune. Children are only allowed in the 'family room' which is a cold bare room with disgusting tables with varnish bubbling on the tables and scum left on them. There were a few games for children and an overpriced machine for toys. My family used to go to this establishment at least twice a year. Never again! We didn't stay for food. If they can't even be bothered to clean the tables, god knows what their kitchen is like! N.B the pub was deserted. My baby would have bothered nobody.

Date visited: 11th September 2012

Review by Paul and Lorraine on 16th July, 2012

Add your review
We have just returned from a weeks holiday staying in Thurne. Before we set off we had read the various reviews on this site and were a little dubious about visiting the pub. However we are not people to be swayed by reviews and we're glad to say that our doubts were completely unfounded. We ate at the Lion on the first and last evenings of our holiday and found the food to be excellent,fresh( side-salad basic but crisp and tasty)hot and served in reasonable time even though both nights were busy. The staff were friendly and helpful and although we could imagine some people finding the landlord to be a gruff individual he was helpful and polite to all the customers that we witnessed during our visits. the pub itself was clean and although not fancy we have been in far more disreputable pubs on holidays and felt far more 'uncomfortable' about the general atmosphere. To anyone reading these reviews before a holiday in the area we would urge you to at least give the benefit of the doubt - you may be pleasantly surprised!

Date visited: 7/7/12 and 13/7/12

Review by kay and eddie on 16th February, 2012

Add your review
We agree with Richard, its old fashionedness and laid back friendliness, good pub grub, not pretending to be anything else, good beers, lovely friendly helpful landlord Sid and staff, its in a wonderful location. If we wanted to visit a gastro posh unfriendly pub, we'd stay in Essex, good old luvly jubbly pubs are dying out in favour of these orrible types, we love the Lion Inn, Thurne, ta very much. We love the yummy pizzas its a dream. Their Ceasar salad is the best we have had anywhere. We come regular from Essex and we always visit this lovely pub.

Date visited: various

Review by Richard Blackburn on 14th February, 2012

Add your review
I love this pub, its my favourite pub and I live miles away. Yes, its certainly not a modern super clean gastro pub... more of an untouched, charming old fashioned pub. A sailors pub... its got a grubby shower but after a week sailing, any shower is a good shower. Lets face it, this kind of Broad's pub is tough to run and a lot of them have had to close up (e.g Upton White Horse). The business is very seasonal and when all the boats more up at the end of a summers day - there is a sudden crush of demanding families wanting variety and value for money, and wanting it now! I've been visiting the pub with my wife and family for about 8 years now. We really like the landlord, we like the food, the beer, the wine is good and the bar staff helpful and friendly. I'm sorry to see the bad reports on here - but we've seen 10 holiday makers enjoy their meal then walk out without paying, we've seen people complain that its not 'haut cuisine', mostly they expect the impossible...etc - the team there do their best, and do a great job. I can only put the bad comments down to the writers own holiday stress combined with a lack of sympathy about how tricky such a business can be to run. When I'm sailing on the Broads, Thurne is my favourite mooring, with a great sunset and lovely walks. The pub is always welcoming and relaxing. Sid's a top class bloke.

Date visited: 23/12/11

Review by Mrs Burton on 4th November, 2011

Add your review
I live very locally to Thurne Lion - in the past I have used this pub afew times on a Sunday afternoon. Sadly tonight I have to join the many other negative reviews on this site. I was dining with a large group - we had all re ordered our meals a couple of weeks ago. I requested that my meal was served with baked potatoe instead of rice. Somewhere in the choas this had not filtered through to the kitchen. Not such a big issue! It was the downnright rudeness and aggression shown to me by "Sid" who i was told is not the landlord! Two members of our table had there meal a good 20 minutes before me and my husband. My husband requested that both of our meals be served together then at least I would not be eating alone - 2 minutes later his meal arrived but mine did not! After a further 10 minutes I took my husbands meal back to the bar and asked if they coul hold it until mine was ready. I got a very rude " yours will be ready in a minutes. I handed the plate over to Sid and said " my husbands meal is now cold and we had asked to be served together" At this pint Sid snapped and smashed the plate onto the floor with the contents of the meal!!! I have never been so shocked - to see a member of the mangement smash a plate in such aggression. I was at this point alone in the bar area away from the dining room and my family. I was told by Sids daughter that they did not want customers like is in the pub! I had already waited over an hour for my meal. The aggression was really quite frightening. How can he constantly get away with showing such aggression. A PLACE TO AVOID!!!! Especially if you are on holiday ( not all pubs are like this on the broads) .

Date visited: 04/11/11

Review by Louise H on 5th June, 2011

Add your review
Visited the Lion Inn on the last night of our boating holiday on the Broads. When we first arrived we were told we didn't have to book a table but when we tried to order food an hour later were told that an extra 30-40 bookings had been made that the staff had previously been unaware of and that we could only sit in the garden in the cold with two young children to eat. This had also happened to another family who had arrived at the same time as ourselves. We then had to wait over an hour for the manager to let us order our food and an extra 1 1/2 hours for our food to arrive. The manager was rude and obnoxious and his hard working staff constantly apologised for his behaviour, saying he could not cope with the stress of catering for so many people. He refused to give any apology and told us we could always eat elsewhere, bearing in mind we had already paid him for night's mooring and there were no shops in the area. Worst display of managerial incompetence I have ever encountered and ruined the last night of a fantastic holiday.

Date visited: 3/06/11

Review by Lyndy Loo on 28th March, 2011

Add your review
We had a fantastic Sunday roast at the Lion Inn and found the staff to be very polite and friendly. We were not sure which meat to choose and the Landlord offered us both Pork and Beef, which we had. What a treat, lovely thick cut slices of meat and homemade roast potatoes (that were almost as good as mine)! And the best part was the price, two for 10. We also had a lovely pudding for under 2 each. We live in South Norfolk and are really cheesed off with being ripped off everytime we go out for Sunday dinner (costs a fortune for school type dinners straight from the freezer). Ok so the pub looked a bit shabby in places, but it wasnt dirty and we are certainly going to return!

Date visited: 27 March 2011

Review by R. Frisby on 9th October, 2010

Add your review
After mooring securely, I moved to allow an extra berth to be created. At the new position there were no mooring rings available, One Was missing, One had a small shackle substituted which was rope bound The third I utilised. It was a very windy night, we Had a very tentative dog with us and both I and my wife are 76 and a bit creaky., hence I utilised a spring to a rondhook to hold the stern close to the bank to aid a sure toeing and frowing. The landlord arrived for his mooring fee, which was duely paid, no reciept (n0 tax paid) when I noticed my spring had been removed. I asked if he had removed it and he said yes there was no need for a spring!!! I replied that the decision was mine since the boat was my responsibility. To cut it short he recommended I F. OFF!! as I wouldn't be served in his pub. Having been sailing for some 60+ years here and abroad, I can say I have never met such a lout in such a position, if I didn't know the broads better and was unaware that this treatment is untypical I would do my best to stop friends visiting this friendly part of the world. Sid you are a disgrace.

Date visited: 03/10/2010

Review by Bob Kenchr. on 1st September, 2010

Add your review
The Lion Thurne. I have been going to the Lion for about 15 years now while on holiday, But not anymore.We planned to have an evening meal. I ordered the drinks. My Pint was served up completely flat. It looked like it had been poured the day before. It tasted like vinegar. I politly asked the barman if he would change it, who sternly replied "ther's nothing wrong with it". I said I had been drinking beers for many years and this pint is flat. He still said there was nothing wrong with it. So I asked to see the landlord and was told , he was not available. A regular sitting at the bar claiming to be a pal of the landlord said If you don't like it you know where the door is, Not exactly the friendly reception that they advertise. We left in dicust. I have tried to email the landlord, Sid. With no reply. After reading some of these reviews, surly something should be done. But they get away with it. Not with me anymore.

Date visited: 26/8/10

Review by sarah cook on 15th August, 2010

Add your review
My family and I visited this as one of our stops on our lovely Broads holiday. We spent aprox 100 on lunch time drinks. We were told we could not book for dinner because they don't take reserve bookings. Delightful in the height of the season. So we opted to get there early so as to get a table, at 6pm in an almost deserted pub we found it hard to get served, and continued to get such a mouthful of abuse it was unbelievable and quite upsetting to be spoken to as we were by the landlord especially in front of young children. You are left totally bewildered and wondering what you could possibly have done wrong if anything. We were then told by a local that he is :always like that with most people: not a lot of help when your hungry. So a supper of cheese on toast aboard was had by all. I went on line to read other reviews on this pub, and am somewhat pleased to find we are not the only ones to tell others to avoid this public house at all costs. I am also relived to find upon talking to other holiday makers who were honoured to actually get served that they wish they hadn;t because the food was disgusting and they were suprised they were not ill with food poisoning. Which leaves me with the very happy thought that I am relived we seem to have had such a lucky escape. SOMEONE OUT THERE NEEDS TO GET UP A PETITION TO GET THE LION INN THURNE CLOSED DOWN. I for one will gladly sign it..

Date visited: 11th August 2010

Review by Tracey on 20th July, 2010

Add your review
Were moved around because kids not allowed in certain areas. Gardens not be touched for sometime and landlord not at all hygienic. More of kids dinner on the table than the plate. Not cheap either. Don't go there

Date visited: 20 July 2010

Review by maria on 17th July, 2010

Add your review
My husband and i went to the Lion INN, Thurne,Norfolk to celebrate our wedding anniversary (16/07/2010) after looking at their website and promise of great food and well over 45 meals to choose from plus specials on the board, very deciving website and photos! The pub itself is in a lovely quiet norfolk village, next to moorings on the norfolk broads, we live in the area and love the broads and some off the brillient village pubs. BUT NOT THIS ONE! STAY AWAY ! In reality it is a dirty rotten decaying building, damp smelling rotting dump. The food is TOTALY UN-EDIBLE, Choice limited, could not gaurentee nut-free(I am highly allergic to nuts and can die in minutes), and owner went very angry when we asked this question, a bit like Basil from faulty towers!!!!!! one special on board, mussles. we ordered a 16oz sirlion (no way was the meat sirloin) and asked to make sure lean. (REALITY- a peice of fat,grissle and bone, no way sirlion or any form of steak cut) Placed on top of chips, pre- cooked and warmed up greasy mess served cold, peas- THE SUPERMARKET VALUE TYPE, hard cold. Musrooms, greasy slimy and cold runny mess, side salad brown dead lettuce- thankfully one bit, 2 slices of cuecumber,DRY and curly, 1 cherry tomatoe cut in half, all sprinkled with dried parsley and grease drip stains, served with dirty cuttelry on a dirty wooded bar table. We also ordered the 12 oz sirlion and got the same UN-edible mess, ordered lean and rare, came thin, grissle and fat, burnt and cold at same time. Could not eat,this was so discusting I would not even give it to a DOG, proberly mke a dog very ill. The meal only took 4mins from ordering to arriving, very SUS? The management did know it was our Anniversay, did not care. NO REFUND, NO APOLLOGY. I asked where the ladies toilets were? I was told by a male member of staff not to use the ones in the bar area, as you'd be better off with the ones in the family room, used these and wondered just how bad the bar toiets must be as theese were dirty,dampwood broken skirting boards, no soap,loo roll and very smelly. Other dinesr soon left in discust, plenty of un-eaten meals. Tried a bite of the meat as i was very hungry, woke up this moring with chronic stomach pains and dioreah. Wish i'd had a camera to prove how bad this place really is, and maybe in hindsite for trading standards and food hygene reasons. STAY AWAY AT ALL COST YOUR HEALTH AND YOUR FAMILIES DEPEND ON THIS ADVICE. Out side area run down, cheap broken plastic furniture few old picnic bences. Rip off old arcade,type of shed selling newspapers,milk ect for boats, dirty showers ect. couple off very odd pool tables and dangerous play area in beer garden. This page requires me to give a star rating, it is un-fit to serve food at this pub it deserves no stars just a health warning and closing down. but to get this online i must give it 1. Edit - Delete

Date visited: 16/07/2010

Review by maria on 17th July, 2010

Add your review
My husband and i went to the Lion INN, Thurne,Norfolk to celebrate our wedding anniversary (16/07/2010) after looking at their website and promise of great food and well over 45 meals to choose from plus specials on the board, very deciving website and photos! The pub itself is in a lovely quiet norfolk village, next to moorings on the norfolk broads, we live in the area and love the broads and some off the brillient village pubs. In reality it is a dirty rotten decaying building, damp smelling rotting dump. The food is TOTALY UN-EDIBLE, Choice limited, could not gaurentee nut-free(I am highly allergic to nuts and can die in minutes), and owner went very angry when we asked this question, a bit like Basil from faulty towers!!!!!! one special on board, mussles. we ordered a 16oz sirlion (no way was the meat sirloin) and asked to make sure lean. (REALITY- a peice of fat,grissle and bone, no way sirlion or any form of steak cut) Placed on top of chips, pre- cooked and warmed up greasy mess served cold, peas- THE SUPERMARKET VALUE TYPE, hard cold. Musrooms, greasy slimy and cold runny mess, side salad brown dead lettuce- thankfully one bit, 2 slices of cuecumber,DRY and curly, 1 cherry tomatoe cut in half, all sprinkled with dried parsley and grease drip stains, served with dirty cuttelry on a dirty wooded bar table. We also ordered the 12 oz sirlion and got the same UN-edible mess, ordered lean and rare, came thin, grissle and fat, burnt and cold at same time. Could not eat,this was so discusting I would not even give it to a DOG, proberly mke a dog very ill. The meal only took 4mins from ordering to arriving, very SUS? The management did know it was our Anniversay, did not care. NO REFUND, NO APOLLOGY. I asked where the ladies toilets were? I was told by a male member of staff not to use the ones in the bar area, as you'd be better off with the ones in the family room, used these and wondered just how bad the bar toiets must be as theese were dirty,dampwood broken skirting boards, no soap,loo roll and very smelly. Other dinesr soon left in discust, plenty of un-eaten meals. Tried a bite of the meat as i was very hungry, woke up this moring with chronic stomach pains and dioreah. Wish i'd had a camera to prove how bad this place really is, and maybe in hindsite for trading standards and food hygene reasons. STAY AWAY AT ALL COST YOUR HEALTH AND YOUR FAMILIES DEPEND ON THIS ADVICE. Out side area run down, cheap broken plastic furniture few old picnic bences. Rip off old arcade,type of shed selling newspapers,milk ect for boats, dirty showers ect. couple off very odd pool tables and dangerous play area in beer garden. This page requires me to give a star rating, it is un-fit to serve food at this pub it deserves no stars just a health warning and closing down. but to get this online i must give it 1. Edit - Delete

Date visited: 16/07/2010

Review by Turner Family on 8th April, 2008

Add your review
We stopped for a week in a caravan at the farm next door to the Lion in Thurne. We were in the Lion every night and ate there at least five times. Mine Host Syd and his excellent team were superb,the food was of superb quality and very reasonably priced. The guest Bitters really finished the wonderful week off!! They made us feel at home and met a charming man called Adrian and his wife, who used to stop at a farm just half a mile away from where we live in North Wales. For anyone on the Broads we would certainly recommend popping in. Alan Carol Lee Turner

Date visited: w/e April 5th 2008

Review by Davies, Cheek and Chambers Families on 31st August, 2007

Add your review
Umm not a lot one can say other than we won't be going there again. There were 9 of us, wanting hot showers and good food. 1- the mens shower was not working, 2- the ladies shower had no light, and when door shut it was totally dark. 3- we requested 9 portions of hot chips (as pizzas was not on the menu due to "equipment problems" When we asked for the chips, the waiter said that he didn't think for a moment that there would be a problem only to be told by the landlord that he doesn't do chips. Which is a shame really when we could have spent in excess of a 100.00 there - he was rude, surley and basically not the most friendliest chap. We drank up and left and told 4 other families on their way in that the atmosphere, service and attitude left a lot to be desired. We know for sure that one couple turned around, and another family asked if there was anywhere else to eat. As feedback is a gift, perhaps the landlord should invest in the showers and think how he is turning away business and how doing this is turning even further business away as bad reports travels faster than good reports (unfortunately so, but that's life)

Date visited: Thursday 30th August 2007

Review by Diane on 5th June, 2007

Add your review
Thirteen of us have just stayed in the village of Thurne and visited The Lion Inn twice. On both occassions we had beautiful meals and all members of staff were friendly and helpful. Sid was a very good host. Nothing was too much trouble, so therefore we were all surprised to read some of the reviews on this site. I know you should speak as you find and I was sorry to hear what others had said, but I can honestly say we had no complaints. In fact, we look forward to revisiting in the near future.

Date visited: May 2007

Review by Richard Blackburn on 30th April, 2007

Add your review
The Lion Inn - definetly my favourite stop on the Broads - amazing sunsets, beautiful walks and a good pub. A little old fashioned and rustic.. but I quite like that 'not messed with' apsect.. We've always found the Landlord and his team very helpful, hardworking and friendly and the food and beer very good for a remote seasonal venue catering for a broad range of holiday makers. We think they do a great job and really value what they provide.

Date visited: April 2007

Review by Mark Whall on 29th October, 2006

Add your review
I was interested to read the previous entry regarding the landlord of The Lion at Thurne and his response to a customer complaint. I recently visited The Lion for an early evening meal with two of my teenage children during a short boating break on the Norfolk Broads. Three meals were ordered and to my regret paid for at the time of ordering. On delivery, my daughter's chicken breast was clearly not cooked through. I reported this to the waiter who left the vegetables at the table and took the meat away for reheating. About 10 minutes later, the meat returned, by which time my son and I had finished our food. The meat, although slightly improved, was still not cooked through and my daughter was visibly distressed as she had previously taken a couple of mouthfuls prior to realising it wasn't thoroughly cooked through. I mentioned to the landlord that I was not happy - at which point he just flew off the handle and started shouting at me! He rejected the obvious visible fact that the meat wasn't cooked through, stating all food left the kitchen having been "temperature checked." So, is chicken meat meant to be blood red at worst and unhealthily looking pink at best? I politely asked him not to raise his voice at me as a paying customer with a legitimate complaint. I advised him, politely, that I would be reporting the matter to the local environmental health officials at which point he, still shouting, accused me of "blackmailing him" and demanded I repeat the "blackmail;" in front of witnesses. Had I not previously paid for the meal I would only have settled the bill on the other two portions, which were satisfactory, but really only bland pub fare. I have never, ever, had cause to complain about the quality of food served "professionally" before or been so insulted by the attitude of a pub landlord. The experience was an utter disgrace and greatly overshadowed an otherwise pleasant enough village pub visit and an otherwise pleasant evening spent on the wonderful Norfolk Broads.

Date visited: 24/10/06

Review by ClareJohnson on 19th September, 2006

Add your review
My partner and I arrived at The Lion Inn for dinner, happy and relaxed after a lovely weekend sailing. Sadly this was all soon to change. The first course served was cream of chicken soup which had clearly come straight out of a tin. When the manager came and asked whether everything was alright, I quietly stated that we were not happy with the quality of the food. At this point he became verbally aggressive. Not wanting to make a scene, we waited for our main course - not that we had much choice in the matter considering it had already been paid for. The lamb dish that I had ordered had cost 9:50. What I received was a plate full of tinned or packet veg, and lambshank and gravy. This was inedible and reminded me of a school dinner. Alarm bells should have rung when I ordered and was told that they were all out of lamb with rosemary and red wine, but I could have hint of mint instead.hmm. I even overheard a man on the next table commenting before leaving the rest of his dinner as we had done: "I was really looking forward to this, but I can't eat it now." In short, poor quality, over-priced food, sullen waitresses, and a truly HORRIBLE evening for both of us.

Date visited: 10/9/06

Review by Steven Reed on 18th September, 2006

Add your review
I have holidayed on the Broads for many years now and this year have taken two 14 night holidays. I have visited The Lion at Thurne on 6 seperate occasions this year and have always been made to feel very welcome. The staff are always very proffesional and the landlord (Sid) always makes you feel very welcome. The food is of a very high standard and delivered with a smile. Every time I go on the broads I always visit 2 or 3 nights of my holiday. The Lion is a lively pub with good ale and delicious food, highly reccomended

Date visited: 11/13/14/09/2006

Review by Nat on 29th August, 2006

Add your review
We moored at the Lion Inn on Saturday afternoon, starving and excited. With a view of a nice dinner, we asked if we can put our drinks and food on the credit card. We were told that to do so, we have to hand our credit card to be stored behind the bar. No bank would ever suggest just 'handing' your card to someone else. We refused to do so and purchased our drinks separately. When ordering your food, you have to pay IN ADVANCE whether you like your dinner or not. We were asked 3 times how much the wine that we would like is, which was very amusing for us and everyone queueing behind us, so on the third time we said 8.45 instead of 10.45 (which everybody thought funny). The manager asked us to leave the pub immediately and wouldn't serve us dinner. We had to leave and stay in our boat, starving, for the rest of the evening. What HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE service, atmosphere, people, sense of humour, it ruined our holiday. THANKS MR. LION INN.

Date visited: 27/08/06

Review by barry on 4th April, 2006

Add your review
My family and I visited the lion Inn by pure chance but we will definately visit there again next holiday time. We were made to feel very welcome by the landlord (Sid) and his very efficient staff. They provided excellent food with a wide variety of options, not to mention a good childrens menu. We joined in the pub quiz which was great fun and an hilarious two hours of quick witted banter between Sid and the many locals whom use the pub. A true famuly pub!

Date visited: 3rd april 2006

Review by JONATHAN REES on 29th March, 2006

Add your review
The lion Inn is a great family pub providing excellent meals at good prices. The staff are friendly and efficient. I will definately visit the lion inn again and have no hesitation in reconmending it to all.

Date visited: march 2006

Anonymous Review on 21st June, 2005

Add your review
nice place and nice people in it

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A platitude is simply a truth repeated till people get tired of hearing it. - Stanley Baldwin
More Quotes

On this day:
Archbishop of Canterbury Martyred by Vikings - 1012, Drake Attacks Cadiz - 1587, Cook reaches Australia - 1770, Waco Siege Ends - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages