Ostrich

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Ostrich Inn, Castle Acre

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs J on 7th August, 2011

Add your review
I have never ever experienced anywhere quite as shambolic as this hotel/b&b. The pretty frontage of the Inn masks truly shabby, dirty accomodation. Our room was full of cobwebs, complete with dead flies, stained carpets, greasy cups and the window sill in the bathroom was a veritable graveyard for local insects. My husband was so disgusted that he actually slept in his clothes on top of the duvet, as he couldnt bear to get under it. Not only this but On arrival we were warned by the manager that it 'could be a bit noisy tonight as we're doing karaoke, and it'll go on til 12:30. I'm telling you now so you don't come down in your pyjamas complaining about it'. It actually went on til 1am and 'a bit noisy was an understatement. It was horrific. We actually went and sat in the car for an hour at 11:30pm just to escape from it. Breakfast was the final insult. In a side building to the pub, we entered to find it deserted with a message on the blackboard saying to help yourself to tea, coffee and toast and the chef would then take your order. We did this but the tea and coffee were both disgusting, there was no butter for the toast, crockery all really greasy again, and no chef in sight, we eventually went and found him, chopping onions for lunch. To be fair he then knocked us up a pretty decent brekkie, but it couldn't make up for the horrific overall experience.

Date visited: August 2011

Review by Cragmill on 10th July, 2010

Add your review
Food was 10/10, Ale 10/10, Accomadation 10/10 & Staff 10/10. However if you stay in the family room you might get a unwanted visitor & if asked she does not go. I had my quilt pulled off me & punched in the arm. A poltergeist had been inactive for a few years, then I arrived.

Date visited: March 2008

Review by cheryl Mckendrick on 24th November, 2009

Add your review
We went for lunch today and was very diappointed with our meal the beef and ale pie was a real let down fatty meat carrots and loads of mushrooms not what i call beef and ale very tough pastry and the veg in the smallest dish and not at all tasty no potatoes or chips very poor value at £9.95 Also the pub is very dingy the chairs at front dirty and torn not inviting i certainly wont be rushig back.

Date visited: 23.11.09

Review by Chris Lane on 28th May, 2009

Add your review
We live locally. Two of us went there for dinner one Friday evening, as it was recommended to us. We had a very ordinary Fish Pie (£12.95 each) which arrived with no vegetables. 2 pints of bitter and 2 glasses of wine. A very average Sauvignon at £4.50!! Expensive and a fairly good Tempranillo at £3.75 which I regarded as reasonable cost The bill came to £39.55 which is exorbitant! Very poor value and we will not be going there that often in future! The Albert Victor only two doors along is miles better value.

Date visited: 22/05/2009

Review by Daniel on 23rd February, 2009

Add your review
Castle acre is a lovely old place with castle ruins and a priory well worth a visit or a whole day out. Tea rooms and pubs in village. The Ostrich Inn mis lovely but makes great play on it's pro hunt agenda which spoils the whole village. We dont walk in the countryside to see idiots killing the wildlife. I wont be going back that's for sure.

Date visited: Oct 08

Review by jean on 3rd October, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: great villiage location,sites of interest,very pleasant river walk. Bad Points: bar area a bit dark and dreary,dining area too basic,needs a revamp. General review: pleasant room and area,o.k. for one night stay.

Date visited: 2008-10-03

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Do not allow to slip away from you freedoms the people who came before you won with such hard knocks. - D H Lawrence
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Shrewsbury - 1403, French Invade Isle of Wight - 1545, First Lordís Test Match - 1884, Lord of the Rings Published - 1954, Man on the Moon - 1969, Tony Blair Elected Labour Leader - 1994
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages