Queens

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Queens Head, Dereham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Bill Thomas on 19th November, 2010

Add your review
I think I've found the type of food led pub I'd like to call my own, barring the low beams (well one anyway) has a beer garden with pig pens (and real pigs) at the end of it. You can have a pint and take a packet of bangers home too. Usual top pressure beers and a few real ales.

Date visited: September 2010

Review by Adrian Morgan on 19th September, 2010

Add your review
Well off the beaten track, and nowhere near Dereham, locals seem to like it, huge garden area for residential caravans, small village shop and a pub. Post office seems to be a part time operation and that is it. I booked a bed and breakfast in a house by the main square for three nights, as I'm moving into the area for a year possibly 18 months on a work contract. Didn't have the food but as pubfood goes menu looked reasonable, the real ale on their handpump was drinkable and cold but possibly near the end of its' useful life or perhaps end of barrel. Didn't want to make a fuss as I'd drunk half of it before I noticed...

Date visited: August

Review by Ben Ashton on 13th August, 2010

Add your review
I thought this pub was in the Good Beer Guide, then realised I had seen an old copy in the Library when planning this holiday! But that aside the Pub seemed to thrive on a tightly knit local clientele, the buzz of conversation stopped and a few people stared right through me when I entered but that seems to be the normal way in these parts. Getting used to it! The bar service was relaxed and the beer could have been colder but it was the right colour, on a very hot day it's a bonus! Food was being served but didn't have time to try it as it took me some time to find the old Foulsham Airfield, (the purpose of this detour) a number of children in this small single bar were noisely enjoying a meal as well, competing with the mandatory Sky Sports television, no doubt the way England played in the World Cup that'll be soon gone! Saw some pigs at the end of a long back garden and was assured by a local handyman,(who was keen to show me around, for a couple of lagers!)they are slaughtered from time to time and end up on the menu in the pub! As for the village, nothing much to report, small village store and a church which has seen better days, has war graves commission headstones in the grave yard. Church in need of some urgent restoration and structural works. Lots of 'The Old.. this and that, so at one time, pre and during WW2 perhaps this would have been a thriving agricultural community with several pubs and even a BANK! Shame little left of the celebrated wartime airfield, most of the runway is now hardcore under Englands orginal motorway network..

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Jenny & Alan on 20th July, 2010

Add your review
We own this pub and Have done for just over 3 years. We thank every body for there comments but we wish Ian Wilson? would tell the truth. We have never had 4 real ale pumps. We have never sold Stella and we don't even have a fruit machine. To say the pub was cold no no fires it absolute rubbish . We have 2 woodburners and on many, many occaisions people say it is to warm.

Date visited: 20. JULY 2010

Review by Jos Banthorpe on 11th January, 2009

Add your review
Some earlier reviews do not do justice to how hard our new landlady/lord have worked to make this pub an excellent local watering hole and eatery - our local "Stage for the Village" entertainers are all regular users of the pub and cannot "sing" the praises enough of Alan and Jenny who are friendly, hardworking and wizards at providing a fantastic village pub. Support this truly fantastic effort and come and see how a "good old Norfolk Pub" can still come up trumps!!

Date visited: 3nd January 2009

Review by Ian Wilson on 6th November, 2008

Add your review
I was visiitng friends in the area and we decided to go early evening to the only pub in Foulsham, a small village in North Norfolk. I'd been told they had roaring log fires and a selection of really good real ales. What a let down, the pub was cold, no fire and only one real ale on and that was well past its best. It was a Woodfordes. I asked why when they had four pumps on the bar only one was working. They said no demand for beeer these days they sell a lot of lager Stella and cater for the football crowd. Fruit machines crowd the bar. Shame really because the pub looks good from the outside but sadly I'll be giving this one a miss. I'd hope it will improve but so many good country pubs are closing down but if this one were to go then just some football hooligans will be disadvantaged so no loss there!

Date visited: September 2008

Review by alan on 17th September, 2007

Add your review
WHAT A DIFFERENCE FROM A FEW MONTHS AGO. The new land lord and lady have really made a difference. The food is good old HOMECOOKED WITH SUPERB STEAKS. Tuesday night is fish night and Thursday night is Steak night. We went to both and could not fought it. I hope you do well because these sort of pubs are becoming rare. We will be back Thanks

Date visited: 9 sept 2007

Review by Tina Wheelhouse on 20th August, 2007

Add your review
We stayed in Foulsham for the week and the Queens Head was our local. The staff are very friendly, the food lovely and the prices very reasonable. The service was fast and reliable and great care was taken over both the quality and quantity of everything served.

Date visited: 11-18 August

Review by Jackie Price on 1st July, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I went for a quiet meal to the Queens Head in Foulsham. Excellent meal and surroundings and the staff very pleasant.

Date visited: Saturday 30th June

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nobody ever died of laughter. - Max Beerbohm
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hastings - 1066, Battle of Old Byland - 1322, Caerphilly Pit disaster - 1913, Winnie the Pooh Published - 1926, Balham Blitz Tube Disaster - 1940, Fifty Pence Coin Issued - 1969
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages