It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Kings Arms, Taunton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by David Metcalfe on 7th November, 2006

Add your review
It was the first time i had been to the Kings Arms, and the only reason i did was because of such a huge number of high regards from friends and family who has been going there for years, and i must say they were right and i will certainly be back, look forward to seeing you all! kind regards, David I felt i must say before i sign off that i think the addition of the bird adds to the charm of this friendly pub and it is obvious that it is well cared for, and lets hope there are other establishments that serve bottled Guinness so that the Kings Arms is free of trouble makers

Date visited: mid october

Review by Vickery on 1st October, 2006

Add your review
My family and i have been going to this pub for years....i usually go to the bar,as i used to be a barmaid and like chatting..whereas my husband is of an entirely different character..and likes to keep a low profile!...my Parents in law are always with us..as it's their only way of getting out on a Sunday. Today,i couldn't go..i have been very ill,but my husband went as usual......he was completely ignored for quite a while by the Landlord's son..at the bar..which was NOT busy at the time.....he was most upset actually.It's not as though they don't know who he is! We have spent a fortune in that place and expect some sort of respect....we are both 50plus..and our parents in their 80's....we EXPECT to be treated with a certain amount of courtesy..which was unfortunately lacking..and am loathe quite honestly to go there again. They have also added a BIRD..some sort of parrot..which i know at least a couple of their "regulars" are NOT too happy with. Birds in that environment are not good news.They have mites/diseases/etc etc....NOT GOOD IN AN EATING ESTABLISHMENT. I personnally do not like to see birds caged..or listen to them in that sort of an environment..it's for socialising with PEOPLE. that's the important function of a pub. I will NOT be going there again ..if i can help it.All i have to do is find another pub in Taunton that sells bottled original Guinness..and if not then we shall have to go further afield. I know my mother-in-law was quite upset about the way her son was treated there...and if i had have been there....it wouldn't have happened probably. But it did and i can only say to the Landlord..have a word with your son about his very disrespectful attitude. Am not chuffed. Sincerly Val Vickery.

Date visited: 02/10/06

Review by Alex on 15th June, 2006

Add your review
Had a brilliant time. Would recommend it to anyone, especially the lamb shank.I will certainly be a frequent customer.

Date visited: 12/06/06

Review by tom on 21st May, 2006

Add your review
what can i say, what a place, the whole experience of the KINGS ARMS was well worth the money. friendly atmosphere, great beer, food, really clean, the best beer garden in the whole of taunton and the pollitest staff. what more can you ask for, would reccommend it to anyone. WELL DONE TO THEM ALL !!!

Date visited: 19th may 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A belief is like a guillotine, just as heavy, just as light. - David Hockney
More Quotes

On this day:
1st Instalment of Encyclopaedia Britannica - 1768, Lloyd George becomes prime minister - 1916, Anglo-Irish treaty is signed - 1922, Tories Pick Cameron as Leader, - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages