It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Royal & Ancient, Huddersfield

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Liz on 24th April, 2011

Add your review
I would definitely recommend the royal and ancient if what you are looking for is superb home cooked food, good service and a nice, welcoming atmosphere. I have been here various times over the past few months since it was taken over and I have never been disappointed. Everything is cooked fresh to order so a wait has to be expected however it is well worth it when the delicious food arrives.I have to say I also find it excellent value for money as I have eaten in places where the food has not been as good quality yet has cost more, well worth a visit!!

Date visited: Various

Review by Maurice on 15th March, 2011

Add your review
The Royal and Ancient is by far the best pub to have a meal in the Huddersfield area and believe me I have tried a few. The staff are welcoming and friendly and can't do enough for you. The food is all fresh so it takes a little longer but it is to die for, especiall the Home made Steak and Ale Pie. Sucullent pieces of meat in a tasty gravy. The food has always been piping hot which is a must for me. This pub is well worth a visit. xx MM

Date visited: Various

Review by mandy on 14th March, 2011

Add your review
I visited this pub on sunday with four of my family for my sunday lunch, the roast beef was by the far the best i have tasted in years it melted in the mouth, the service was good and the general atmosphere was nice and calming.It was enjoyed by our group and i would recommend a visit to anyone with no hesitation.

Date visited: 13 march 2011

Review by Heidi Hunter on 14th March, 2011

Add your review
Visited once again, this has now become my local pub even though I travel 30 miles to come to if from Rotherham. From Rotherham to here there isnt one to match the home cooked food. Compliments to the Chef. The pub is homely, the staff are helpful and polite, the service is good, and been a single parent with a disabled child in a wheelchair, a member of staff is always willing to help with seating situations and making sure my son is comfy.One to visit without a doubt.

Date visited: 11/03/2011

Review by Diane on 13th March, 2011

Add your review
We have tried several places in Huddersfield and have never found anywhere that we could relax and enjoy a meal as much as the Royal and Ancient. We have been almost every weekend since it was taken over last year. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and make sure you have everything you need. The food is fresh and not frozen so it takes a little longer to arrive but well worth the wait. The Calves Liver is just beautiful juicy and tender. The Shef is amazing. The Steak is tender,jucy and full of flavour and the chips are FRESH not Frozen. We have never had a meal here that we have been dissapointed with. We have taken several friends to this pub who have also returned time and time again. Its a great place to take the family to. I would highly recommend this pub to anyone but dont take my word for it try it yourself.

Date visited: Time and Time again

Review by Karan M on 6th March, 2011

Add your review
I would not recommend this place for anyone to visit for a meal or special occasion. I had not been to this pub before for a meal but my mum had found it and decided to go for my step-dads 50th birthday. With a few of the family there, 10 of us altogether, I had expected a good afternoon for his birthday. My mum had been informed at booking that there would be balloons and a few decorations s it was a birthday - when i arrived there was no such decorations apart from a banner laid on the table beneath all the place mats - had I known this was to be the case I would have taken decorations myself. Upon ordering the meal I was shocked at the choice of food I had been shown a menu before going that had lots of choice which looked quite nice although the options available consisted off three startes, three main meal and approx four deserts. Having ordered the food the starters came around half an hour later even though these were quite simply soup and prawn cocktail once finished we waited for 10 mins for the plates to be cleared then waited an additional 35 minutes for the main meals to be brought out. Once we had finished the main meals which when served looked as though they had something missing off the plate when served, the childrens portions were nearly as big if not bigger than what the adults got and these were served to a two year old and a one year old. Our plates got cleared away and were waiting to be asked for a deserts order and to be told what the deserts were -a fter 15 minutes of waiting I went to find a waitress to order who then came over - once the deserts were ordered they had arrived 30 minutes later. At the beginning a cake had been given to the kitchen to serve with candles at the same time as the deserts this didnt happen during, I believed they may have brought the cake once the plates had been cleared. This didnt happen so after asking the bar staff we were told this would arrive in a few minutes - 5 minutes later a cake came out and got served to another table. So i went up to the bar to ask where the one for my step-dad was as we had been waiting sometime, she went into the kitchen to check and a few minutes later saw her dash out to behind the bar - my sister in law asked what was going on and we were informed the cake had been given to the wrong table and they were going out to buy another one - i said this was unnaceptable as they werent even going to inform us which would have taken another half hour i could expect. The whole meal process had taken over two and a half hours and the pub wasnt even busy there were four tables in there max two of the tables had approx ten people on but the others had two to each, with four staff on serving I thought the wait times were unnecessary and badly managed. I had worked in catering throughout university and had managed more tables than that alone and not caused as many mess ups. My advice for anybody wanting to go out for a nice meal or for an occasion I would strongly recommend you to avoid this place - if looking for a nice place in the area I would advice going to The Old Mill down the road - I only wish I had known sooner what this place had been like - my step-dads birthday was ruined to the lack of good service and everything in general the royal and ancient pub had to offer.

Date visited: 06/04/2011

Review by Laura on 13th September, 2010

Add your review
We visited for lunch over the bank holiday and the place was packed, which is a good sign. The food was delicious. I had the carbonara which was the tastiest I have ever had (and I have had this in Italy). My parter had the steak and ale pie and it was to die for - lovely tender meat and beautiful gravy. I would highly recommend this pub, especially with the new menu. The chef has worked wonders!

Date visited: 30th August 2010

Review by helen on 12th September, 2010

Add your review
Went out for a saturday tea time and went to the Royal and Ancient at colne bridge where we was welcomed by a warm happy atmosphere.This pub is just off the beaton track but is welcoming in ever way .The food is top class and the service is great no hassle and really enjoyable. Will most certainley be going again food 1st class and a good price too 10/10

Date visited: 11 9 2010

Review by jenny on 31st August, 2010

Add your review
This pub has now come back to life. This past week a new couple have taken over thr Royal & Ancient. I must say the food is amazing real home cooked food done at a very high standard , as i was enjoying my meal there i also overheard a number of customers complimenting the food and atmosphere. Many people who i have spoken to have said that they thought that this pub was closed and i must admit am glad it is not. If you are looking for a great place to go for a warm welcome and execllent food well the Royal & Ancient @ 19 Dalton Bank Rd, Huddersfield is the place to go. Me and my family will definatley be going back for more. Jenny‎

Date visited: 24th August 2010

Review by Sue on 31st August, 2010

Add your review
WOW yes wow is what i can say about the royal and ancient it has recently been taken over and i must say it is for the better. The atmosphere is much more welcoming the food there is mouth watering and so fresh. It is a complete turn around for this lovely pub and i would recommend anyone who hasnt been or did have previous bad experiences to go back and give it another go..... you will not be disappointed i promise you. I myself will definaltley make this pub my local eating and drinking place what a turn around. Sue‎

Date visited: 28th august 2010

Review by JASON on 4th August, 2010

Add your review
Bloody slow service & takes ages for them to acknowledge you. The beer they claim to have on, is never available. Non fizzy soft drinks & the staff don't believe you, when you say its flat

Date visited: Lots of times

Review by Jenna on 30th May, 2010

Add your review
The royal and ancient is an absolute treat !!!! It has been under new management for around 10 weeks now and the manageress michelle certainly knows how to turn a pub round ! We started going around 2 weeks after she had started there on the recommendation of friends and was very impressed . It has a large and varied menu offering something for everyone . The food is homemade using local produce - which let's face it, is hard to come by ! I can honestly say I have not been disappointed yet . I recently asked if we could have a small wedding party there and michelle and her head chef could not have been more helpful and accomodating everything was perfect including the food and decorations they provided a fantastic afternoon all round . The royal and ancient is definitely worth a go whether it's for a snack or a feast 10 out of 10 for me :))

Date visited: 30/5/2010

Review by Joanne on 4th May, 2010

Add your review
We visited the royal and Ancient on bank holiday Monday, we had last been at the back end of last year but was disappointed with both the food and the service. We thought we would give it another try as the car park seemed busy. This time we were greeted on arrival and served straight away. Although it was busy we were advised there was a wait for food. But we were updated on regular intervals. The food was well worth the wait the sirloin steak was cooked to perfection, the service excellent. The staff were polite and helpful and food great. So hopefully this pub is on the up again. We advise anyone that hasn't been for a while to give it another try. Joanne and Mark.

Date visited: 3 may 2010

Review by CLAIRE AND PAUL on 20th April, 2010

Add your review
WE HAVE NOT BEEN TO THE ROYAL FOR A LONG TIME BECAUSE OUR NEIGHBOURS HAD SAID THAT IT HAD STILL NOT GOT ANY BETTER.BUT WE THOUGHT WE WOULD HAVE A WALK ALONG. WE HAD A LOVELY PIECE OF BEEF THAT WAS TO TENDER TO BE TRUE AND WASNT OVER FACED WITH OVER COOKED FOOD AS WE HAVE BEEN BEFORE. THE ONLY DOWN FALL WAS THAT WE DID NOT GET TO PUT A FACE TO THE DISH THAT WAS SENT OUT.WE HAVE A THING OF LIKING TO SEE WHO HAS PREPARED AND COOKED OUR FOOD. WE WILL BE COMING BACK FOR SUNDAY LUNCH AGAIN BUT WILL BE BOOKING FOR A BIG PARTY. SO LOOK OUT FOR MR AND MRS REID.

Date visited: 18 OF APRIL

Review by barry on 21st March, 2010

Add your review
this place used to be sooo good, food was really good and service. it was the sort of place we could look forward to going. not so now. dont go.

Date visited: 13.03.2010

Review by george whittaker on 27th October, 2009

Add your review
What on earth has happened to this place!! Food used to be fantastic and a Saturday night you couldn't get a table but now the foods below average, service is shocking, staff look like they can't be bothered with their apperance or work. The guy behind the bar was even wearing a woolie hat and cropped trousers! We used to eat here alot before it changed hands last year and now we wouldn't go back or recommend it! In my opinion don't bother wasting your money!!

Date visited: 09/09

Review by Susan Dyer on 9th July, 2009

Add your review
My husband and I visited the Royal and Ancient for a meal after hearing good reviews about the food. We found it excelent value for money as we had the gammon and a steak with a bottle of wine and the bill total came to just over 30.00. We couldn't get over the size of the gammon and the steak was cooked to perfection. We will definately be visiting again and will recommend our friends to go for a meal.

Date visited: 1/07/09

Review by scott on 26th June, 2009

Add your review
i went for a meal, with my family, i heard it was good, But i dont think thats the restraunt they was talking about , all the staff just stood around looking misrable, no one new any questions i asked them , my pie was cold in the midde, and took 56 mins to some , and there was hardley any body in ( no suprize to be honest) i left still hungry and wasted loads of money as it is expensive ... i reccomend you go somewhere eles.

Date visited: 25/06/09

Review by Diane Hancock on 8th March, 2009

Add your review
I went to this pub March 09 expecting to enjoy a good meal with my boyfriend. On arrival we sat down, there were no menus, i had to go to the bar to request. I asked what the Pate was and he didnt know, i asked if he would ask for me and moaned. The meal came but not what we had ordered and no cutlery, i had to ask them again at the bar, as they were all just stood chatting together. As we were eating the meal a large dog was in the restaurant jumping up at the bar. Throughout the meal we were never asked if we wanted more drinks or if our meal was ok, there was jsut no service whatsoever. We went to the bar to pay for our meal when i noticed they had overcharged, i went away to check this with my boyfriend and returned a moment later for them to moan at me that i was querying it (they thought it was 50p out and said, fine well give you 50P back) but in fact it was 7.90 extra that they had charged me. It took 2 members of staff 5 minutes to mess on the calculator to check the amount, when i had already told them what the total amount was. I finally got my money back and walked off to find they had still short changed me. I had given up and just went home. I have been at this pub before and never had this problem but will never go back, im not one to moan but was very unhappy from start to finish.

Date visited: 05/03/09

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Oh, the tiger will love you. There is no sincerer love than the love of food. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
First Manned Balloon Flight - 1783, The Great Storm - 1987, Andy Green breaks sound barrier on land - 1997
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages