Glen

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Glen Helen Inn, St Johns

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gregory on 2nd October, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Excellent location. Bad Points: Hotel not informed of internet booking, but accommodated me superbly. General review: Overall good enough for me to stay there again when the need arises.

Date visited: 2009-10-02

Review by Anonymous on 21st February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly helpful staff Food Setting of hotel - peaceful Bad Points: Although clean, felt double room was quite small probably enhanced by the sloping roof/dormer windows Access to main facilities from bedrooms neccessitated a trip outside down stairs with no protection from the elements General review: Despite above comments enjoyed our stay

Date visited: 2009-02-21

Review by graham payne on 4th September, 2008

Add your review
One bad incident can easily colour what would otherwise be a pleasant experience. We visited the Glen Helen Inn during the Manx Grand Prix. My wife ordered 2 bowls of soup from the bar menu. It was clearly sated to be 4.50. The bill for this however was 19. The Duty Manager stated that was because they were large bowls! No mention of 9 per bowl on the menu. After some fuss, the excess was refunded to us but there is clearly a problem here with fair play as far as the tourist is concerned.

Date visited: 25 August 2008

Review by J Griifths on 3rd September, 2008

Add your review
The surroundings of the Glen Helen Inn were lovely, very tranquil. the room was clean however the 80 per night charge was a little expensive considering we didn't have any water for three days out of the five we stayed. My partner took part in the Manx two day trial and after 8 hours riding in the rain was unable to have a well deserved hot shower or even wash with the aid of a kettle. The food was well presented although again very expensive, we spent one evening having to listen to one customer ranting and raving over the cost of two bowls of soup although having charged 19.00 for just two bowls of soup I feel his ranting was justified.

Date visited: 22/08/08

Review by Mr & Mrs Everett on 2nd August, 2008

Add your review
We visited the restaurant at the Glen Helen Inn. Lovely location pleasant views. The staff were courteous & friendly. The food was well presented but overpriced with less than generous portions. Don't go there if you are hungry. To be fair, when we complained the initial response was to charge a steak for the price of a pie then the manager offered not to charge for one of our meals.

Date visited: 31/07/2008

Review by Richard on 17th October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: The friendly yet professional approach of all the hotel staff Bad Points: Nothing stands out General review: A superb hotel in an idylic setting, with some of the friendliest & professional staff you could hope for.

Date visited: 2007-10-17

Review by keith bailey on 30th September, 2006

Add your review
Great place to stay good food service/staff great and frendly. Super walk from the back of the hotel to a waterfall. good location for most things. bring your own hair dryer!

Date visited: 26 to 28 october 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There can be no liberty unless there is economic liberty. - Margaret Thatcher
More Quotes

On this day:
Alfred Becomes King of Wessex - 0871, English order of knighthood founded - 1348, Birth of Shakespeare - 1564, Death of Shakespeare - 1616, Charles II is crowned - 1661, First Broadcast by British Monarch - 1924, Death of Blair Peach - 1979
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages