The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Old Plough, Oakham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 27th April, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Room very clean; great shower; delicious food with good service; very comfortable bed; very friendly staff. Bad Points: Size of room: rather a tight fit between door & bed. Not a great problem for us, but could have been had we been larger! General review: Very good.

Date visited: 2010-04-27

Review by Anonymous on 8th April, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Very comfortable and well equipped room, and excellent breakfast. Very friendly and welcoming staff, even found us somewhere to lock our bikes away safely overnight. Bad Points: some maintenance needed in the room -the shower door didn't close, and needs a repaint as looking a bit tatty. General review: A very enjoyable stay.

Date visited: 2009-04-08

Review by Anonymous on 17th October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly staff and excellent food General review: Great staff; great food and great location.

Date visited: 2007-10-17

Review by Jaimie Hilton on 3rd April, 2007

Add your review
My partner and i stayed at the Old Plough for one night and had a really lovely and relaxing stay. The owners were very friendly, food was plentiful and the surroundings ideal. Thoroughly recommend it! Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Date visited: 1st April 2007

Review by S.Foster on 27th April, 2006

Add your review
Having read the previous review we were a bit nervous about our visit, but decided to stay. And are we glad that we did! The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to please us. The food was superb and service likewise. Our room was clean, tidy, well furnished, warm and the bed very comfortable indeed. Pushing our luck, we enquired about the DVD player, and promptly one was provided. In the end, we spent so much time chatting in the bar, we didnt even watch it! The quality of the real ale was outstanding. Overall we thought that for 55, the room was good value for money, and the meals likewise. We can only assume that the previous reviewers, hadn't realised that they were staying in a 3 diamond rated guest accomodation, and assumed that they were in a 5 star hotel! Superb, and we wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

Date visited: 26th April 2006

Review by D Richardson on 14th April, 2006

Add your review
After reading the previous review, we really thought we were in for a treat. But now we're not really sure if we were in the same pub as the other reviewer! Our family room was on the ground floor adjoining the carpark so was pretty noisy at 11.30pm when visitors left and strolled right past our window. Wetroom style shower flooded out of the door after our 3 morning showers. Food was only "ok". Very slow service. Quite pricey - 9.50 for fish and chips. Nothing suitable for children really. No chicken dishes available off the menu at all because the last table had eaten it all - by 7.00pm! No DVD player in room, let alone offers to hire a DVD. Very sparsley furnished room, broken blinds and utility carpet. No mirror provided in the room to do your hair, etc, no bin in the bathroom. 2 cups provided for 3 people. We were asked to be at breakfast before 9am, not 10am as in their room information, but then had to wait half an hour for our English breakfast to turn up in any case! Beds were comfortable but that's about all we could praise it for. Disappointing. No friendly offers of information on local areas, no enquiries as to our journey, no frills at all really. No complimentary fruit basket or mineral water as advertised. Wouldn't return.

Date visited: 13 April 2006

Review by Simon Broad on 13th January, 2006

Add your review
What a lovely little Inn. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we were made to feel right at home! The room was spacious, and well equipped, and even my request for gluten free meal was met with a very friendly "No problem at all". The bed was just the most comfortable i've ever slept in, whilst staying at a country pub. We noticed a dvd player was avalable in the room, so we enquired if films were available as well, and the manager even offered to rent one for us, if we didnt like the selection available! In short, the rooms were comfy and warm, the food worthy of high recognition, and as for the fine ales, brewed just a mile away, well, what more could you want. We will definatly be back again and again. 5/5!

Date visited: 3rd January 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Remember that the most beautiful things in the world are the most useless; peacocks and lilies for instance - John Ruskin
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Great Torrington - 1646, Heaviest British Snowfall - 1929, Angel of the North Completed - 1998
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages