It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2018: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Martin ilsley on 16th July, 2016

Add your review
Had a really great time. Got to walk with a Harris hawk, on my arm. Lovely experience would recommend it to everyone

Date visited: 16th July 2016

Review by Chris Hughes on 2nd July, 2014

Add your review
We've just come back from the most wonderful experience at the Rutland Falconry and Owl Centre today, where we were given our bird (there was a choice between large, medium or small owls, or hawks) and sat down to talk to our bird, for them to get to know us. There was plenty of information on how to stroke them and handle them and they were amazingly relaxed with us. We then took them for a walk through the forest, and had more information about them, with Chris telling us the stories of how many came from rescue places. After we walked back and parted with our new friends, we went to experience a falcon landing on our wrist and flying over our heads. The whole thing was just so wonderful. All the birds were in excellent condition and obviously happy and well cared for. They actually breed there, which they wouldn't if they weren't happy. Can't recommend this strongly enough. I thought I'd be afraid of the birds, but wasn't at all - they were so calm! I'll never forget Otto, 'my owl'!

Date visited: 2.7.14

Review by Craig on 17th March, 2013

Add your review
Just wanted to let you know that we visited the Rutland Falconry Centre today and the experience is one I'll never forget... for all the wrong reasons. We were first greeted by the most disgusting toilet Ive ever seen, think Train Spotting and you're about there! Following that, we went to ask a member pf staff if it would ok if my mother and I join my girlfriend and father on the walk, but only to take pictures, and not to part take in the full falconry experience, they said yes, for 5 per person, which we paid. We then went into the waiting area, where we were greeted by the rudest, miserable and intimidating man Ive ever seen. His aggression was only 2nd to his seeming hatred to the human race. He spoke at length about how great HE was with the birds, and how those taking part "must NOT touch the birds!" leaving all very confused as to why they were there. The weather today was particularly cold, so my mother and I waited in the "tea room"/shed while he gave his talk, which lasted an hour (already half the experience gone. Following his talk I asked if it would be ok if I could have the 10 I paid back, as we had decided not to walk along with the group while they did the experience. The manager then got in my face and the following conversation took place: Manager: "You've been in that room for that last hour, and now you want your money back?!" Me: "well, it's snowing and raining out here, so surely you can understand why I didnt want to wait outside" Manager "you are ignorant, and you need to leave the site! I dont want you on here now!" Me: "pardon? All Im asking for is that the tenner is returned, as we arent going to come along for the walk" Manager: "you are the most ignorant person Ive met, here's your tenner, now get off the site, fully off the site" Me: "ok, thanks, I cant leave the site as my girlfriend and father are here as paying guests today, as its my dad's Christmas present" I walked away at this point.

Date visited: 17/03/13

Review by Lee & Andrea on 20th March, 2011

Add your review
Hi there , would like to thank the lovely Chris and Annie for such a great day out spent with all the birds of prey and the gorgeous owls etc. Very educational as Chris was full of knowledge and other stuff lol. Very worth a day out. Good luck with your new venture and hope to return very soon if you will have us back x Andrea and Lee ( Skegness )

Date visited: 19th March 2011

Review by Leeanne MacLachlan on 21st April, 2010

Add your review
Im from South Africa - love the wildlife we have in my country and all the opportunities, but my time spent at the falconry centre was fantastic!After being introduced to the owner (who probably thought 'heres another city girl'wasting my time), he taught me how to fly Harry the harris hawk - what an experience, and I look back fondly of my time amongst the birds, bluebells and forest. My photos have created life long memories of this wonderful place!

Date visited: 4 may 2007

Review by Alison Daykin on 29th May, 2008

Add your review
This was a very different experience and if you like wildlife don't miss out. Be prepared to be challenged by the owner who wants to educate. He is clearly wedded to the conservation and preservation of wildlife, and seems to want to share his passion. This, I assume, is behind the hands on experience everyone has mentioned. And it really was hands on. He got everyone out on the flying field that wanted to have a go at falconry - courtesy of Harry the Harris Hawk. My little niece and nephew loved seeing the deer and walking through the bluebells too.

Date visited: 04/05/08

Review by michael on 18th May, 2008

Add your review
Fantastic woodland location. All the birds were brilliant but the Great Grey Owl was the best. He was a real character. Recommended to everyone. Very friendly and we even saw some Fallow deer.

Date visited: 17.05.08

Review by Paul Sinclair on 12th May, 2008

Add your review
I did think the place was very pleasant until I got spoken to very aggressively by the bloke running the place just for looking in a shed window at an owl that was making a screeching noise.Anyone would think I had broken into the place and was hitting it with a stick instead of a paying customer and I don't appreciate the nasty glares he then gave me like I was an idiot despite no signs or warning not to be there!Maybe I was supposed to be psychic!

Date visited: 12/05/08

Review by Sheila Babbs on 20th February, 2008

Add your review
What a wonderful display of birds! This wildlife and rescue centre is a great place to visit, suitable for all ages. The youngsters really enjoyed holding an owl. It is in a lovely rustic setting and makes a pleasant change from other commercialised attractions that cost a fortune for a family to visit. Anyone who is interested in birds and wildlife would enjoy it. I bet it's beautiful in the Spring when the bluebell woods are in flower!

Date visited: 13.02.2008

Review by Dave Mac on 11th March, 2007

Add your review
A wonderful day out today visiting the centre. The birds are absolutely gorgeous. Would definately recommend to anyone interested in wildlife. Even the youngsters can get involved. You can handle one of the birds at a cost of 3 per time. It is money well spent. It all goes towards the upkeep of the centre. The admission charge of 4 per adult is very reasonable. The staff are very helpful if you have any questions you might want the answers to.If you can, pay this place a visit. You wont be disappointed!

Date visited: 11-03-2007

Review by Alex on 30th August, 2006

Add your review
An amazing time I had there. Those birds are absolutely fascinating and the place was very beautiful and peaceful. I would recommend it to anyone!

Date visited: 29/08/2006

Review by john brown on 13th November, 2005

Add your review
Really very good,a little gem of a place for people off all ages but especially for families,set in a few acres of wild woodland this centre has a large display of owls,hawks and even a vulture!Oh and dont forget the 5 half bred wolves that greet you when you arrive!( its ok they are behind fencing but love to see new faces)No concrete in sight so wear suitable footwear,but it is still accessible for people with walking problems.They are gradually expanding into the woods and have display days,hawking days so you can learn about falconry and hawk walks which take you round the woods with a falconer and one of the birds,fascinating!! They rely totally on public donations and entrance fees so go and visit!!they really need your support!!!!

Date visited: 10/11/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Heresies are experiments in man's unsatisfied search for truth. - H G Wells
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Sampford Courtenay - 1549, Battle of Preston - 1648, First Pedestrian Killed by Car - 1896, Animal Farm Published - 1945
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles