It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Cockley Cley Iceni Village, Swaffham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mik Yusef on 16th October, 2011

Add your review
The worst place I have ever spent money on, the 'village' is laughably pathetic, the mannequins look like they were placed there 2000 years ago they are that delapidated, the 'nature walk' is a stroll through a drab field, the museum is filthy and insect ridden. I wanted to take my children to see the saxon church only to find a BEES NEST buzzing loudly as we walked in, i approached the lady at the desk, she told me they were harmless bees that go there every october and wont sting the children, she thinks. Unbelievable, some people can die from bee stings, i will complain to the council about this, truly dreadful place, an embarrassment to Norfolk.

Date visited: 16/10/11

Review by A Smith on 8th April, 2010

Add your review
This dreadful so called attraction should be CLOSED DOWN. For the princely sum of 5 you get to visit dark, filthy, unkempt barns to view old farm exhibits. The manikins are so old the hair is falling off and glue stains running down the faces! The 'Iceni Village' is truly disgraceful. The building structures are not based on any form of archaeological remains and are totally inaccurate and misleading! The whole place is falling to pieces. The condescending labels are so tatty. This place has clearly not seen any maintenance for years. When asked, a staff member claimed the construction is based on some aerial photographs that showed 'something might' have been there....and not even where the reconstructed village is today. As a teacher with an archaeological degree I would advise fellow teachers to steer clear of this completely inaccurate heap! It shouldn't be allowed to remain open. A disgrace!

Date visited: 08/04/10

Review by J. Williams on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
If you want to see a really good attraction, then DO NOT visit the Iceni Village. Diabolical is all I can say. The so-called attraction was tatty, unkempt and over priced. Norfolk a beautiful county, let down by places like this. It's about time you shut the gates for good.

Date visited: 18.09.2009

Review by hedley harnett on 22nd October, 2007

Add your review
Cockley Cley is brilliant! I had fantastic times here as a child and a recent visit as an adult didn't disappoint! All the magic was still there, wonderful! - if you've never been don't miss it!

Date visited: recently

Review by A Hemmings on 21st May, 2007

Add your review
This is easily the worst visitor attraction I have been to in the UK in recent years. The whole site is tatty and not well maintained and the Iceni Village itself is laughably bad reconstruction. To add insult to injury, the entrance fee is 5 per adult! Compare that with the splendid nearly National Trust property which charges the same entrance fee. In my view, the body which regulates tourist sites should make sure the ones for this third rate rip-off are taken down at once!

Date visited: 15th May 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nothing can cure the soul but the senses, just as nothing can cure the senses but the soul. - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Start of the Easter Uprising - 1916, Glorious Glosters Stand at Imjin River - 1951, Official opening of the Pennine Way - 1965, Bishopsgate Bombing - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages