Grey

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Grey Gull Inn,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by bobbyjo on 29th September, 2008

Add your review
Can't agree with previous review. My husband and I stayed here for the weekend which was most enjoyable. Owner/manager worked tirelessy with rest of staff and like all staff was very pleasant. Staff did their best to make sure everyone staying at the Hotel was happy and comfortable. We reckon we got an excellent deal for what we paid. Food was amazing and scenery even better! I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Date visited: 26 sept 2008

Review by geegro on 3rd August, 2008

Add your review
We had a wedding in the Area, and quite a few of us chose the Grey Gull Inn. When we first arrived we were greeted by a gentleman (who we believe to be the owner) sitting behind his desk. He was ill mannered, huffy and questioned why i was checking in at such a late time (4PM). Gave us our keys, but did not wish us a pleasant stay, break a smile or say good bye, but just went back to his computer. Our room was on the third floor. It consisted of a double bed (very hard), a tiny window that did not open, which in the hight of summer made our stay stuffy and uncomfortable, and some badly stained tea and coffee making facilities. One of the bed side lamps did not have a bulb in it, and the other did not work. The en-suit did not have a shower (this is 2008. Is a shower too much to expect?), but a steel bath that had a severley rusty plug hole, stains and was dirty. We had no shampoo or soap provided, which i expect in hotels charging £80 per night (we had a discount as part of a wedding party). The staff that we encountered were friendly enough, with exception to the gentleman we met on arrival. The next morning he was storming around the dining room clattering plates and glasses and generally being huffy, as he was when we arrived. This made us and all the other guests we spoke to very uncomfortable. When we wanted to check out one of the maids had to fetch the owner/manager so that we could pay and be on our way. WHne he came to the reception he did not look at me, but stormed passed in his usual huff and marched into his office, simply saying "Room number!". He then asked for the payment without even asking me if i had enjoyed the stay or if everything was ok. I told him about my dissapointments, to which he replyed "well we've discounted the rooms!". I told him that for the facilities offered i felt that £80 was a bit much, but he did not utter a word to me. No appology, no thank you, no have a nice day. Just payment taken in his usual huffy way. This was one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in, and one of the worst hotel experiences i have ever had. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Date visited: 02/08/2008

Review by Mr. A. Murray on 16th February, 2007

Add your review
Most enjoyable 2 days spent here. Excellent breakfast buffet, all possible items available & cooked breakfast enough to keep one going all day.Meals available all day. Extensive menu for evening meals with good size portions. Bedrooms clean & tidy with welcome tray, liquid soap dispensers, plenty soft clean towels. Adequate heating & room ventilation. ALL employees were very helpfull & cheery, nothing was a problem. It was apparent that employees & Manager worked as one team. Noticed many changes to lounge & dining area since previous casual visit 2 years ago. Manager has indicated that many further changes and upgrades are in the pipeline. Exellent value for money. We have already booked a party of 5 for nnext New Year!!!!

Date visited: 9th to 11th February 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Each generation imagines itself to be more intelligent than the one that went before it, and wiser than the one that comes after it - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Robert the Bruce Crowned King of Scotland - 1306, slave trade is abolished in the British empire - 1807, World’s first passenger train service begins - 1807, Cambridge Sink In Boat Race - 1978
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles