The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Sir William Fox Hotel, South Shields

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Helen and Jim on 18th August, 2010

Add your review
Was OK..me and my partner stayed in the double deluxe room for 2 nights, there was no plug near a mirror so we had to pull the bed out to get to an extension lead. Shower did not drain the water..and ended up leaking on the floor. Our double bed was just two singles pushed together which i was pretty annoyed about. Breakfast was alright..nothing to shout about, they told us ut started at 8 and finished at 10, so we arrived at 9, to find that they where packing tables away, we orderd toast, and got a very rushed and and poor service, they took all the juice away and milk when we wanted another drink...service was very poor in my opinion. I was under the impression that they didnt really know how to run a B&B, at the end of our stay we had to hunt down a member of staff to hand out keys back in..as the reception was un-manned, we rang the bell twice with no response, all in all i would rate this hotel 5/10.

Date visited: 14th August 2010

Review by Mike & Glynis Pike on 24th June, 2009

Add your review
Thank you for making our visit to the North so lovely .The staff were very kind and helpful , and our room was delightful,we really enjoyed our visit. We hope to visit you again one day , Love Glynis & Mike

Date visited: 21st June to 24th June 2009

Review by A McCormack on 15th November, 2008

Add your review
Found the hotel very comfortable and quaint. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and fast service. Evening meal portion was large and good value for money, and bar Area was comfortable and relaxing. Family room was huge and very clean, will definately stay again.

Date visited: september 2008

Review by Elaine on 24th September, 2008

Add your review
A little treasure - great location. Friendly staff and well decorated rooms. the hotel was spotless and comfortable. Evening menu available and cosy sitting room with bar too! (No need to go out. The area surounding the hotel is clean, peaceful and crime free. Ok to park your car and no worries about walking around one my own. Great place and worth trying.

Date visited: 23 Sept 2008

Review by Michael on 5th May, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: It was peaceful and quiet and the room was light and airy and not too hot! General review: The reception was un-manned at the time of my arrival and I had to seek out a member of staff (No apparent bell)- although due to current decorating most of reception was hidden. Also I did arrive quite a bit earlier than originally intimated due to the cancellation of a business meeting I had planned on route to the hotel. However staff quite courteous. After a long days travelling the facility of dining at the hotel was welcomed. Meal very good. As I wished to do some work the room was a little short of space but a chair would have been useful when using the top of the drawers for my lap top on. The edge of the bed is never too secure! However overall the room provided all that was required.

Date visited: 2008-05-05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nothing is pleasant that is not spiced with variety. - Sir Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Stoke Field - 1487, America declares war on Britain - 1812, RSPCA formed - 1824, Sunderland Theatre Disaster - 1883
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages