Yaxham

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Yaxham Mill, Dereham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mandy on 28th April, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: The food, the staff. General review: We expected, for the price, to get somewhere a bit down-market but, as we just needed a bed for the night, this was not going to be a concern. However, the welcome was very friendly and, although the accommodation is not over-the-top luxury, it was very comfortable and clean with everything we needed. The food is superb and is complemented by the well-kept real ales.

Date visited: 2010-04-28

Review by E WRIGHT on 17th September, 2009

Add your review
Accommodation was ok but found the carpet in the bathroom to be very unhygenic. Also the fan in the bathroom very noisy. Was not what we had expected from a 4* hotel!! Also found the staff in the restaurant on some occasions to be very rude and unpleasant. On one occasion we had booked a table in the restaurant that morning. We arrived 10 minutes before our booking and were shown to a table in the bar area and given menus and we were basically then left. The time of our booking came and went but no one came over to us as they were too busy serving in the restaurant. We had to then enquire at the bar as to when our order would be taken and we were informed in a rude manner by a very young (and seemingly inexperienced) girl behind the bar that 'someoone would be over in a minute' she then turned round to another member of staff and started laughing. One of the waitresses eventually came over 10 minutes later (by this time it was at least 1/2 an hour after our booking time). No apology was made and to be honest they didn't seem to care less. We had lost interest by then and decided to go and eat elsewhere. The setting of the hotel is lovely but that is the only one good thing. We didn't find the accommodation or the restaurant to be worth the money and definitely not a 4* rating. The staff came across as very unprofessional. We will definitely not be returning and would not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Date visited: 26/06/2009

Review by Anonymous on 4th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Comfortable,quiet, economical. Restaurant provides good portions at good quality, has good selection and at reasonable price, although breakfast standard is not as high as the other meals. Friendly, helpful staff. General review: Excellent

Date visited: 2008-09-04

Review by Anonymous on 1st July, 2008

Add your review
General review: Lovely place, would like to return, but the minus points outweighed the positive. Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not given the above. Work on the guest experience!

Date visited: 2008-07-01

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is not in nature, a thing that makes man so deformed, so beastly, as doth intemperate anger. - Alan Bleasdale
More Quotes

On this day:
Canterbury Monks Observe Massive Meteor Event - 1178, Battle of Sevenoaks - 1450, 1st British Life Insurance Policy - 1583, Battle of Chalgrove Field - 1643, Johnson Contracts to Produce His Dictionary - 1746, Battle of Waterloo - 1815, Redcoats Drop Breeches - 1823, Staines Air Disaster - 1972, Battle of Orgreave - 1984
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages