It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Spread Eagle Inn, Barton Bendish

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Michael McCairns on 6th April, 2009

Add your review
After looking at the review on the 10th March 2009 we decided to decide for our ourselves rather than take notice of one bad review. To our delight we found the owners very welcoming. We had a pub lunch and then Lori guided us to our room which was of a very high standard. The heating came on and aired the room and after a shower in the well decorated bathroom we had a pre-meal drink in the bar followed by a very good meal and service in the restaurant. After the meal we had a night cap in the bar talking to a couple of the locals.Next morning we had our breakfast served by Martin and departed back to Sheffield.Don't always take bad reviews at face value go and try it for yourself.Well worth it!

Date visited: 4th April 2009

Review by J Everett on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
Dreadful place that should be avoided! We booked based on positive reviews. Booked a month in advance and even rang the day before as no confirmation received and spoke to Manager. When we arrived on the Friday, we were told the booking was for Saturday! They swapped the names and when we went to the room it was well decorated and presented but absolutely freezing (12 degrees). Asked about heating and the female owner said she would switch on the heating then she needed to get her husband to help, she then returned and appeared to switch it on, but very small radiator only increase the heat 1 degree per hour! After sitting huddled in blanket etc, went to the bar to ask for a heater, but the owners had gone out. Other guests in the bar also said they had complained but nothing was done, but at least they had reach 16 degrees. Eventually at 11pm, we reached 16 degrees, just before the heating went off. Spent a cold and miserable night with very little sleep. In the morning went over for breakfast and decided to make as good a deal of the weekend as possible. Grumpy male owner was slapping food down, there was no fruit juice, milk for cornflakes etc. He eventually approached 'faulty towers style' and said we had not 'booked your breakfast' (as you are supposed to say what time you will eat and exactly what you will eat the day before - even though they only have 4 rooms). Explained I had come across but they were out the evening before. After discussion about the heating, the owner then proceeded to say how 'guests fiddle with it' - explained his wife set it! Next she came out full of hell and saying it was not her fault but the landlords and why should she be blamed for this. When we asked why the bar area (where breakfast is served) was cold without heating - remember this is start of March. She said that they 'did not open until noon' - clearly missing the point that they actually had guests! After she was rude and argue, even when we asked her to stop as she was ruining our breakfast and break, after more rudeness, we decided to leave as the weekend was ruined. Clearly the owners have no idea about customer service or even legal requirements for heating etc. Avoid like the plague - even a Travel Lodge will be like a breath of fresh air (warmer and friendlier) in comparison.

Date visited: 6 March 2009

Review by PAT HOMER on 8th February, 2009

Add your review
what a delightful place and lovely staff! i was visiting my family who live in barton but chose to stay at the spread eagle inn. my room was lovely, shower powerful and hot. food was wonderful and the staff were great - very friendly and spent time chatting with me over breakfast. chef went out of his way to accommodate some of my party's tastes and did it with pleasure. i am looking forward to going down for a couple of days later on in the year. my thanks to all the staff for making my stay so pleasant. first rate

Date visited: 4th - 7th feb.09

Review by baxter on 1st February, 2009

Add your review
fabulous place to stay ,accomodation beautiful conversions excellently done. We found it situated well for visiting surrounding areas. Food was excellent Would certainly go there again

Date visited: may2008

Review by John on 7th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Great location. Excellent standard of accommodation. Superb food. Very friendly staff. General review: Ideal place to unwind and enjoy the locality. Nothing to fault. Will definitely visit again.

Date visited: 2008-09-07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A day without laughter is a day wasted. - Charlie Chaplin
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages