Marlborough

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Marlborough Hotel , Woodstock

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gavin Leone on 7th June, 2010

Add your review
The staff tried their best, but they are clearly under resourced, under provisioned and probably under paid. The room was clean enough but this is a hotel that provides only the barest minimum level of service, amenities and comfort necessary to function for pass through tourists. Massively over priced at £95. Not the place to go if you want to feel welcome and looked after.

Date visited: 31st August, 2009

Review by Paul Weston on 7th June, 2010

Add your review
1.No help with luggage. 2.Room 6. A DELUXE DOUBLE! Up steep narrow stairs. Dirty shower, room felt unclean - told no alternative available. Requested shower cleaned - no response. No shower cap - no response to request for one, only three shower gels. No trouser press or iron - at we couldn't find them. Nowhere to put suitcase after pulling it though muddy carpark. 3.Breakfast pathetic. Little choice - 3 cereals, orange juice & fresh fruit. No cereal bowls - never got one before cooked breakfast arrived. Poached instead of fried eggs ordered - no apology. Toast came as colourless warm bread - when redone it wasn't much better. Bacon extremely fatty with little lean. No one around to ask or request anything. As it was a family wedding and all my family were gathered in the bar, my wife asked me not to 'make a fuss' when paying bill. Budget hotels one third of this price are miles better than this place. No wonder this has no star rating.

Date visited: 14th August, 2009

Review by Wood on 7th June, 2010

Add your review
Hotel comfortable. Breakfast adequate, well cooked and presented.Staff were pleasant and helpful. However,room(5)really needed a good housekeeper to sort out little defects such as a check on light bulbs to see that they all worked. Someone had oiled the door closing mechanism and failed to notice that the oil had run down the door on to the carpet. Its little things like this that can turn a good hotel into a great one. I would return if in the area.

Date visited: 23rd February, 2009

Review by anorth on 7th June, 2010

Add your review
Staff friendly but offhand. Room needed a good clean, remanants of double glazing but none fitted just old dirty frames. All electricals plugged into a succession of extension leads. Table in front of fire exit. If a fire officer visited he'd close it down on the spot! Light above mirror didn't work. Tried metioning some of above to staff but not enough command of eastern bloc languages. Kept awake until two in the morning by drunken louts shouting and screaming in the bar. Breakfast was disgusting!

Date visited: 12th October, 2008

Review by Kate on 7th June, 2010

Add your review
What has happened to the interior of our 14th Century Coaching Inn, The Marlborough Arms??? I dread to know what happened too to all that old furniture! It is such a pity, a tragic state of affairs to have let go too easily that of tradition for whatever foolish reason. Indeed having consumed at one time many an hour sat snuggled & cosy beside the open fire indulging some few glasses of wine, now a cold, plain and odious place. Has even Wookstock succumbed? To modernism! What happened to the whole hearted full blooded investment in both our land & heritage? I have witnessed so, only to question more about the disregard now of our identity and of which is being disposed by our own people! By this example it is heart-rending to think of what vast sum of English history has been simply discarded in this way. A once warm and welcoming home from home in which now my family & friends shan't ever desire to spend time again! Dearest England, I wish they would let you be

Date visited: 19th January 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It takes courage to make a fool of yourself - Charlie Chaplin
More Quotes

On this day:
First True Canal in Britain Opens - 1761, Punch Magazine launches - 1841, Royal Family Adopts Windsor Name - 1917, Tsar Nicholas and Family Killed - 1918, Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Act Gains Royal Assent - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages