Lagnakeil

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2018: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lagnakeil Highland Lodges, Oban

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gay Barrett on 31st October, 2011

Add your review
A beautiful site in a peaceful setting. Wonderful views. Lodges well equipped and very comfortable. If you like walking, climbing or sailing its all here. Oban is only a 10 minute drive away and is a charming little town with many local shops besides most of the main supermarkets. Many restaurants in the district in all price ranges, plus the local take-a-ways will deliver to the site, very convenient.

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Myra Barnes on 16th October, 2011

Add your review
We wanted a real getawayfromitall type of break but we like to be able to use decent restaurants and pubs now and again. This was perfect. A short walk down the glen and we were on the deserted shore of Loch Feochan. We hardly used the car for our entire stay yet had some great hill walking via the Barn Bar for some tasty lunches and a glass or two of wine. Really enjoyed the privacy of our lodge - a conifer which slept six but there were only 4 of us so we had plenty of space. The wood panelling was a bit much for my taste but it did feel very 'scandinavian' and was clean & comfortable. Didnt spend much time indoors though with such fantastic scenery surrounding you. Next time I'll try the lovely wee cottage down at the shoreline which just looked like the ultimate in seclusion. Looking forward to a return visit already.

Date visited: September 2011

Review by Karyn Ramsay on 12th October, 2011

Add your review
Stayed at Millstone last June. Terrific place with friendly owners. House very well appointed and great views from the living room. Nice bathroom with power showers in the en-suite bedrooms. Great big kitchen/diner with BBQ area outside. Watch out for the midges though! Walks down the glen right from the front door. Would highly recommend.

Date visited: June 2011

Review by NEIL DALGLIESH on 21st September, 2011

Add your review
MY WIFE AND I HAVE BEEN MANY TIMES TO LAGNAKEIL AND EVERY TIME WE COME AWAY FEEKLING REFRESHED AND HAPPIER THAN WHEN WE ARIVED. THE LODGES ARE CKLEAN AND THE PEOPLE WEHO MANAGE THEM FRIENDLY AND UNOBTRUSIVE. AND WE WILL GO BACK AGAIN FOR SURE.

Date visited: AUGUST 2010

Review by Andrew and Bernadette on 15th February, 2011

Add your review
Just had a long weekend Valentine's break, it was an absolutely fantastic setting for a romantic break away from all the everyday hustle of life, the lodge was Great, spacious upto date and warm, the owners were very friendly and welcoming, will go back, I bet its breath takingly beautifuul in the Summer, Spring or Autumn, because it certainly was in Mid Winter.

Date visited: February 2011

Review by Sam & Chris Dixon on 14th December, 2010

Add your review
Just made it back home in time for the snow here and it was a well earned break. Just wish we'd been trapped up there to enjoy it a bit longer. We stayed in Beech 1 right next to the old farmhouse - which was funny as the owners dog (a beautiful Great Dane) came over to the patio door and greeted our dog who had ever seen anything so big. The owner came straight over to get him and we ended up going out on a rib round to the marina near Connell. Lodge was lovely and warm, views spectacular and the people were so friendly. We will definately go back next year but perhaps a little earlier as we were a little tied with the dark nights.

Date visited: 20/11/2010

Review by Jayne Dawson on 14th December, 2010

Add your review
Stayed at Millstone House last year with a group of friends. Only four of us this year so we took a lodge as was cheaper (Conifer). As always in Scotland had a fantastic time (maybe whiskey and good song). Lodge fab. Clean, warm and well kitted out. Even had an ironing board (!?!?) Local pub good crack and a massive selection of whiskey. Only advice- take wellies and a warm coat!!!!!

Date visited: 06/11/2010

Review by Ian Fraser on 10th December, 2010

Add your review
One of the best weeks in Scotland so far! Weather was the best week in the whole of the year (what luck). Lodge was very clean and everything as expected. Scenery and views were excellent because of the weather. Pub about 10-15 minutes walk and a short drive to Oban for shopping. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Children and animals very welcome which was good. Can easily recommend.

Date visited: 28/08/10 to 04/09/10

Review by Davies Family on 30th September, 2010

Add your review
Stayed in the Millestone cottage which accomadtes 12 but only four of us so plenty of space for the kids to play. stunning views & great walks . weather was fab for this time of year local pub which is 10min across the field was perfect live music good food & playpark for the kids. Would highly recomnmend this to all great enjoyale stay

Date visited: 25/09/2010

Review by Mr Roy Gill on 19th September, 2010

Add your review
Found the site to be everything as advertised. my wife ,daughter and son-in-law plus two dogs stayed in one of the conifer lodges, It was everything yuo could wish for. I just dont understand all the negative comments of previous reviewers. The comment book in the lodge was full of comments from people who were on their second or third visit. Dont be put off, we would certainly go back.

Date visited: 11/09/10-18/09/10

Review by Martin Smith on 17th September, 2010

Add your review
We have recently stayed in one of the conifer lodges at Lagnakeil and found everything to be perfect. The views and the people were fantastic. I'm still talking about it at work and two people i work with are looking into booking later. Colin is a very helpful host and we hope to return sometime.

Date visited: 4th to 11th sept 2010

Review by tracey hay on 4th June, 2010

Add your review
my partner and i booked a lagnakeil lodge for one week for our one year old sons birthday. complete disaster!! it was supposed to be a relaxing break we lasted one night then had to return home. The lodge was filthy and the smell was unbearable, really run down! the radiator was covered in what looked like vomit and the water run yellow. if your an asmatic and plan to go take 2 inhalers! unhappy to say the least when i calmly brought these issues to the owners attention his response was to shrug his shoulders and said it had a lick of paint, some few years ago, we payed 440 and our sons birthday was a total disaster. honest the scenery was lovely but this lodge looked nothing like the website. if your standards are anything above zero this place will disappoint you.

Date visited: 29 may 2010

Review by Hayley on 6th May, 2010

Add your review
NOT a happy camper... This May, a friend booked herself and a group of friends, myself included, into Lagnakeil Lodges for four days. After initially receiving an angry phone call from the owner criticising her for using a travel website to book (they take a commission, so he lost 60, though how did he expect her to find the place otherwise?), we arrived to find that they hade double-booked us. As there was nowhere for us to stay, the owner allowed us the first night in one of the large holiday houses. This was lovely, and beyond our budget, and our own lodges (no3 and 5) would be ready the following day. At 9.50am the next morning however, when all were having a lie-in and making a cooked breakfast, we received a phonecall telling us to be out in 15min, as the cleaners needed access to the house. No prior warning, no apology, just a rude awakening! We packed quickly, drove to the lodges, and had a quick look inside- they were dirty. Upon calling the owner, he criticised us for going to the "wrong" lodges (3 and 5, as he'd said the day before), as though we were somehow supposed to know that we had been reallocated yet again. When FINALLY in our own place, starving for breakfast, we found the toaster didn't work, there was no tongs to turn the sausages, no sugar for tea (and certainly no teabags!), there was no washing up liquid, and the dishes in the cupboards had pieces of food baked on. Thankfully there was a dishwasher, though we discovered that power was not included in the price, so no wonder they didn't want you washing up by hand! The countryside was lovely, however the people who run this place seem to have no clue as to the meaning of customer service. We enjoyed the area, but would NEVER go back to Lagnakeil Lodges. And judging by all the comments in the guest book there, neither will anyone else.

Date visited: 2010

Review by Tony on 6th August, 2009

Add your review
We have just come back for a second visit to Lagnakeil (the first visit was back in 1999). The accommodation, which in our case was an Ash Lodge, was very clean and well kept with good facilities. The kitchen is well equipped as was the rest of the lodge The location is peaceful and idyllic with views down a glen overlooking a loch. Access to the Lagnakeil site is down a single track road (approx 1 mile) which has numerous passing places, which seems to be OK but you need to take it easy and look well ahead for oncoming vehicles. you can often get to a passing place without having to do anything other then wait a few moments! The nearest town in Oban which is a few minutes drive away (3 miles) and you will find local amenities and Supermarkets (Tesco and the Co-op) and the port of Oban itself with access to trains and the 'CalMac' ferry terminal. Near the lodge and a 15-20 minute walk from the accommodation is a pub that serves food and local and mainstream drinks. As you are in the southern Highlands you are within a reasonable distance of most tourist 'hot spots' like Ben Nevis and Glencoe (Fort William is the gateway town for this area) and not too far away is Loch Ness. Travel time from Oban to Fort William is typically 1.5 hours and you will find some quite spectacular views on your way. Overall Lagnakeil Highland Lodges make a very pleasant base to explore the Highlands.

Date visited: July 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Old Professors never die, they just lose their faculties. - Stephen Fry
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford surrenders to the Roundheads - 1646, The Legendary Newbury Coat Made - 1811, Worlds First Live Satellite Broadcast - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages