The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Bay, Filey

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by JAG on 12th June, 2012

Add your review
Arrived and noticed immediately that the town was tatty. We went to the gargens above the beach to eat our lunch at 12.30. Beer cans and other various rubbish scattered about. The gardens needed drastically tending, lawans cut , flower bed attended.Went into town to look for somewhere to eat in the evening, not much luck, the town is like it has lost it soul and civic pride. The beach is the best asset and should be promoted with better gardens leading down to it. first visit, supposed to saty 3 nights , didn't stay one.

Date visited: 11/06/12

Review by Fiona Bryden on 26th October, 2011

Add your review
We booked in March and stayed in July 11. Back in March they promised the building work would be contained to one end of the park and wouldn't affect us by the time we travelled. They also promised the facilities would be complete. Unfortunately the roads are unfinished with raised drains and there's building work all over, including a channel dug up immediately alongside the outdoor seating area of the pub and despite being told the adventure play park would be complete there was not so much as a bolt in place (looking at reviews in Sept this is still the case so they're not making progress fast!). The beach was nice and fun for the kids but a trek away so you couldn't just pop down for a stroll before bed, say, or for just a short time and young kids couldn't walk it, the descent was also very steep with a pram. The swimming pool was... adequate. A small basic pool, no "fun" features at all so perhaps a bit dull for kids much beyond c.7 and cold. The baby pool is tiny and water pools in the changing areas (and on the new tennis court). Our cottage was at best "adequate" again. We had to put the travel cot in our room as you couldn't fit it in the twin room. The front door lock was dodgy (it wasn't locked when we arrived, we got it locked by slamming it and thereafter just used the rear door). The staff were sympathetic and friendly but we were surprised to be told that there was nobody onsite who could speak to us with regard to complaints for the entire duration of our stay and that we must put it in writing! They also ask you to strip the beds and empty the bins. We did but I would still expect the cleaners to check. On our arrival the bathroom bin had not been emptied and there was a tampon applicator under our bed (I didn't touch this and reported it at check out!) and the previous residents' pink booking form was also left lying for us pick up. Oh and pay 15 if you want to check in prior to 5pm. To sum...budget airline concept with premier outfit prices.

Date visited: July 2011

Review by Sue Platt on 1st September, 2011

Add your review
A good position. The house seemed lovely and the pub food was decent. However, on our first evening, my 5 year old granddaughter leaned on the lounge radiator and it broke away from the wall sending water cascading across the floor. Fortunately she was able to jump out of the way of the falling radiator - a toddler might not have been so lucky - and fortunately the water was cold, not scalding as it might have been. We quickly located the stopcock and turned the water off and reported the accident. We reported the accident twice more before a security man turned up who knew little more ha we did. Eventually after about 3 hours from the initial report a plumber came to cap the radiator off, remarking that no way should a child of 5 be able to pull a radiator off a wall if it had been properly fixed - neither for that matter should an adult! During the whole that week we were there, no-one came to see if we were alright and nobody came to refix the radiator, in fact, we know that it was still in the garden when the owners came the day after we left - they knew nothing about it! On top of all we paid, we were charged another 129.60 for "misuse of the radiator". The lack of customer care was overwhelming. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Date visited: 28/05/11

Review by jo on 3rd June, 2011

Add your review
The Bay Filey is a nice, quiet and welcoming place to stay. Our cottage was very nice and cosy and had all the mod cons you could ever need. I did note that the quality of workmanship inside the cottage was quite shoddy such as general plumbing and crooked radiators but of course this was just an observance and did not mar the holiday! However this would be a concern if I was to invest in a property there. The site is still a building site at the moment and is a work in progress, diggers etc from 8 am most days. The new pool is very nice and a lovely asset to the park. Teething problems on the activities that are advertised as reception give you a timetable and the pool staff work to a different one so having booked an activity we turned up and there was no activity!! We did manage to do the activity another day and found this enjoyable if a tad overpriced. There isnt alot for children to do here, they could really use some parkland for them to play on, at present there is not anywhere for them to go. I guess the site is aimed at couples more. We enjoyed the pub on site , nice and welcoming but we tried to dine there and the menu items were not available hence having to go to Filey to eat instead. The site could do with having a shop, it states a convenience store but this was a shelf with 1 bag of pasta and toothpaste!! , no milk etc. All in all we did enjoy our break and the site has promise and I may return when all building works have stopped.

Date visited: may 2011

Review by margaret hall on 23rd May, 2011

Add your review
just spent lovely weekend at the bay filey in solo apartment really clean and comfortable convienent for all east coast resorts this was our third visit will certainly return again

Date visited: 20 may

Review by Kim Clarke on 22nd May, 2011

Add your review
The initial Bay ads seemed poncey & watching it built I worried about the environmental effect of all those houses - But we tried once & have been back 5x times. Most of the facilities are now finished, tho' it was fine without them as there's a 6 mile flat beach on the doorstep Acommadation is stunning, clean, open. Large bath, 2nd TV in bedroom & so warm, rarely need the heating on. Having cream carpets as standard was an odd choice but they're bearing up. The staff are friendly & it feels a safe, relaxing place to be, great for kids, but also for the adults I do wish they'd stop building now tho'; the houses are wonderful to look at, like ToyTown, my kids think it's like Balamory with the differnt colours, but surely there's enough already?

Date visited: May 07,08,09,10 & '11

Review by Barbara on 20th October, 2010

Add your review
Just returned from yet another brill weekend at the bay. We stayed in a Solo apartment, which we have stayed in before and it was spotless and very cosy. All the staff on the site from reception (really pleasant and helpful), housekeeping and the security men could not do enough for you. We will definately be back, when work commitments allow. A loveley place to stay, and lots to do within the area.

Date visited: 15.10.2010

Review by annonymous on 21st August, 2010

Add your review
We have just arrived back from a 4 day stay at The Bay, Filey. We stayed in a regetta which was immaculate. There were children of all ages and our daughter who is 7 loved been able to go around the site on her bike the people were very friendly and the food at the John Paul pub was excellent. Once the leisure facilities and swimming pool are finished the site will be even better. We will definetly be back next year.

Date visited: 10th aug

Review by Lorain on 6th August, 2010

Add your review
Did the good points outweigh the bad? The jury's still out on that one. Well our accommodation was certainly excellent - a clean, well-appointed two-bed apartment. (Couldn't get the tin opener to work but you can't have everything.) Now the bad points: Supposedly set in 'peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows' our window overlooked scrubland on which a digger and a few bricks were parked. We were woken every morning before 8am by the digger starting up, clanking for 10 minutes and then peace again. It was the only sign of any work we saw while we were there - no progress at all on the leisure centre, swimming pool or play area. Rather annoyed that we weren't forewarned by Hoseasons about the ongoing 'work' and a letter will be heading their way once I have finished this diatribe. The accommodation is quite a way from the beach, a good 15 minute walk, and I have to admit we took to driving down (with inflatable dinghy, buckets, spades and other seaside paraphenailia) but the beach itself is wonderful - and private. There is also a pretty little pond and wildlife area just before you reach the bay. We did enjoy having our 'Bay resident' badge to flaunt on the car and of course it stopped any of the football shirted yelling oiks gaining access from the Primrose Valley campsite nearby. I hope it won't be long before The Bay gets its act together and starts fulfilling its currently empty promises of "the new leisure centre with swimming pool, gym, steam room, sauna and tennis court is on schedule for completion" (The Bay glossy brochure) as it really is a fantastic location and the accommodation is well-above spec for a seaside resort.

Date visited: 2 Aug - 6 Aug 2010

Review by miss corbett on 5th August, 2010

Add your review
when we arrived was informed that there was a childrens play area ( where was that)also was told that there was a swimming pool maybe that is the sea , would not go back there again , although there was some very pleasent staff who help us find places to go an see ( julie an shel house keepers)lets hope they have all these promises done next year so at least holiday makers have things to do and have fun , GOOD LUCK ANYONE GOING TO STAY AT THE BAY , IF YOU WANT PEACE AND QUITE THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO ,

Date visited: nov 2008

Review by fiona harrison on 27th June, 2010

Add your review
stayed in the chisholm 3 bed terraced. excellent value for money. 2 adults 30s 2 kids 10 and 7 and gran 60s. Accomodation was home from home, actually made me jealous, like living in a brand new showhome. Location wise, nice and quiet and only had pub availabel when we went but it was lovely and food fantastic. short drive to scarborough centre where we spent most time. Only there for weekend but would definately go back.

Date visited: april 2010

Review by keith seed on 30th October, 2009

Add your review
Made two visit's to the bay this year, firstly in a two bed Plymouth in August and then a three bed Regatta in October.Both properties were well equipped with all the facilities you would find in a new build house/apartment.A great base for exploring the Yorkshire coast.The pub on site was very handy ( no need for a car ! ).Great base for pre school children ( grannies and grandad's take note )NFuture development includes a leisure centre and a restaurant !.the management of THE BAY really need to deliver on these promises for the 2010 season because the on site shop promised for 2009 has still not materialized !.Between our first visit in August 2009 and our 2nd visit in October 2009 it was noted that the static caravans from the Primrose Valley site had moved nearer to THE BAY site , not just slightly but quite literally a stone's throw away.the security staff were first rate , after the initial meeting they always acknowledged visitors/residents on a regular basis and were always available for any queries.we will return in 2010 to see the progress/stagnation of this site.

Date visited: 10/08/09 and 26/10/09

Review by D Bryan on 21st October, 2009

Add your review
Apartment very good. Pub & pharmacy on site but nothing else. Info says set in parkland, however the accomodation is nicely landscaped but no grounds to walk around or other facilities as yet.

Date visited: 16/10/09

Review by garry gibson on 10th August, 2009

Add your review
booked here for 1 week for our family break (2 kids and a dog)1st class acomodation very clean and modern,kids got a bit bored no play area although we asured when departing it will be ready by next easter along with a leisure complex ,site security staff very freindly and helpfull as was the receiption staff even received a call before we went an also when we arrived back home well done all

Date visited: 2nd august 09

Review by princessp on 5th May, 2009

Add your review
Hi there, we have just visited the bay in Filey. The place is lovely,with lots of places to walk and the beach was literally on your door step. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with our toddler. The apartment was spacious and like home from home,very clean and modern....just what we were after. We found all staff very friendly and helpful. The downsides are that at the moment there is no leisure facilities like a pool. It literally is just the accomodation and a pub on site. This was not a problem for us as we were only staying 3 nights and to be honest the weekend we went was glorious sunshine so our little boy was happy playing on the beach and us going for walks. However I do feel that if our son had been older he would have been bored and could have easily spent a lot more money trying to entertain him. They do have plans for leisure facilities however these are not under construction yet something to think about.

Date visited: may 2009

Review by dave on 13th April, 2009

Add your review
Our first visit to The Bay, Filey, we rented the Solo Apartment (1 bed) for a weekend. Accomodation was nice, new build apartments, very well furnished, warm, good kitchen, everything you needed was provided. Very clean. Site was quiet which was good as it was nice and peaceful. Site was near to the beach, about 15 minutes walk along a well built footpath/road Downsides 1) Early visit from window cleaner on saturday morning whilst partner was getting dressed - could they not clean the windows later in the day or when aparment is empty ? 2) Bar - service excellent, food, not good. 3)Bar - did not feel that staff wanted to serve us food at 8pm on a sunday night as they clearly wanted to shut down kitchen and go home, so we left and went somewhere else. It took 15 minutes just to be provided with a menu 4) Gipsys on a field nearby, security guard told us on our first night that they had raided the haven site next door the night before, did not fill us with confidence about the area and security 5) site is not finished, no swimming pool, shop etc on site overall the place is nice, clearly has some minor teething problems with being new, but looks like it will become better, would consider going back when there are more facilities etc available and rest of site is finished. May also be good if the staff in the bar are a bit more upbeat about serving their paying customers on a sunday evening !!

Date visited: April 2009

Review by TSSFSG on 31st March, 2009

Add your review
THIS ACCOMMODATION AND COMPLEX IS ABSOULTY FANTASTIC LOADS OF FACILTIES WITHIN THE COMPLEX SO CLOSE TO BEACH IT UNTRUE CANT BELIEVE THERES SOMETHING SO BEAUTIFUL IN THE UK I STAYING IN 2 BED APARTMENT WHICH WAS FULLY FURNISHED WITH TOP OF RANGE OF FACILTIES WOULD RECOMMEND ANYONE TO GO THERE FAMILIES, SINGLES, COUPLES, OAP'S

Date visited: 16/03/2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
My feeling is that if I'm going to write my life story, I ought to have my life first. - Dawn French
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hedgeley Moor - 1464, Robinson Crusoe Published - 1719, Treaty of Amiens Signed - 1802, Crick and Watson discover DNA - 1953
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages