Bridge

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bridge House Hotel, Catterick

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by peter on 10th September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: everything was excellent with the hotel a very friendly run family business and could not do enought for you General review: excellent

Date visited: 2009-09-10

Review by Anom on 20th September, 2008

Add your review
Found the hotel easy and was surprised at how big it was. It looked like it could do with a freshen up on the outside but looked OK. Nice size car park but wasnt too confident leaving my car there. It was a little exposed. The hotel is directly opposite the Catterick raceground and river so is in lovely surroundings. I arrived during the day and the hotel door was closed so I had to go in through the bar. Little confusing to find the reception but eventually did. On the way to my room I had big concerns over the safety of this place. There is a lot of excess furniture in the corridors and in my opinion there are a few compromised fire escape routes and exits. The room was large but narrow. There was only one ceiling light and that was at the end of the room so it was quite poorly lit. The one thing that stood out to me was the hideous carpet. It was a shag pile thing that made you wonder how the cleaned it. It looked clean but played havoc with imagination. Then to my horror I found the same carpet in the toilet!!!! Yuk!!!!! I shiverred at the thought of what had dripped on the thing. Yuk!!! Carpets in toilets are disgusting. That said, I was given no reason to doubt the cleanliness and everything looked OK. The bed was average but I wasnt convinced I was being given new sheets each day. My bed was just being averagely remade. There was only a shower and the sink was in the bedroom, odd. You cant help but spill water on the shag pile carpet so god knows what this carpet looks like deep inside. The light above the sink didnt work. The TV, as said before, is a small portable. It is placed on a small side board that is cluttered with the dirty kettle and lead that doesnt reach the extension. The TV is poorly located and you do have to strain to watch it. The remote was broke and there were only five channels. Sadly, the room was very cold. I played with the radiator and control but no change. It was warmer in the corridor. One very annoying addition was the very "get under your skin" annoying water pump. I dont know where it was located but everytime somebody put a demand on the water system you could hear it pumping. Early in the morning and late at night. Not noisey but VERY annoying. I cant recommend the rooms and think the place needs an urgent Fire Risk Assessment (and I have the images to prove it). As for the alledged fire/smoke doors in the corridor....Hmmm? Not too sure about that one I'm afraid. However....Downstairs there are some little gems hiding. The bar looks clean and has a big screen TV. ALL the staff are very friendly and helpful and I cant fault them at all. 10 out of 10. The breakfast in the morning was also excellent. Newspapers were available and the room was lovely. The only one "tiny" annoyance was the talkative staff who stopped you eating and reading the paper. Maybe I was just too polite? But this is so minor and the service provided made up for it. Lastly...the food. I can safely say, and agree with other, that the food was of a very high standard and can fully recommend it. I am not a food guru but I enjoyed every meal put in front of me. Top marks to the chef and the polite waitresses. In summary, I have some concerns about the hotel upstairs but downstairs it almost faultless. If they could get a grip of the rooms (assumng they were all like mine) then this would be a high quality place to stay. Rooms: NO Food: 100% YES Bar: 100% YES

Date visited: Sep 2008

Review by Anonymous on 7th July, 2008

Add your review
General review: The hotel is within easy access from A1, very good place for horseracing fans. I was impressed by attitude of landlords and staff, as we had to set of an hour before breakfast was served, we were give bacon sandwiches on the departure, lovely start of the day :) I will come back there for sure.

Date visited: 2008-07-07

Review by julie barr on 19th November, 2007

Add your review
What a fabulous stay we had at the Bridge House Hotel. Lovely and friendly staff, excellent food, cosy room. Even though we were only there overnight, we had a very pleasant stay. I would not hesitate to recomend this Hotel, and we will most certainly stay again.

Date visited: 17 november 2007

Review by Chris Spratt on 6th April, 2007

Add your review
Without a car a difficult (indeed, expensive) place to get to if travelling to the area by train. Had to check in via the bar, but I did arrive mid-evening. All staff very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit basic and could do with some superficial updating. Television in room was a small portable, and some distance from the bed so watching TV was a strain. Bigger TVs required. A mini-bar in the rooms would have been useful. Bar very much full of locals and the facilities of the hotel downstairs were not well advertised. Food was excellent, and thoroughly recommend eating a great cooked breakfast whilst gazing at the River Swale from the dining room window. In summary, I would stay here again, but it would seem the rooms do need some updating.

Date visited: 4-6 Apr 07

Review by Anonymous on 28th July, 2006

Add your review
General Review: Had a little trouble finding the hotel because of trusting the directions on the website 4 metres south of Scotch Corner (sic) rather than the address. On arrival found reception unmanned, bells not working, had to go into the bar to find someone to give me the room key. The room provided the basics with ensuite, TV, kettle for hot drinks etc and a fairly comfortable bed, but overall had a rather cheap feel. The light switches by the bedside didn't do anything and some of the electrics looked they were wired by the hotel handyman. Also looked lke the handyman fitted the shower enclosure and the sideways-leaning TV bracket. The room floor had a distinct dip under the fitted carpet (OK it was an old building). The full English breakfasts were okay though, and the staff friendly. Overall, not as good as some might expect for the price.

Date visited: 2006-07-28

Review by Haverfordwest on 6th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Very clean, olde worlde Bad Points: Very difficult, a very old property General Review: Everybody very polite and wecloming. Food & clenliness superb.

Date visited: 2006-04-06

Review by Anonymous on 6th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Old fashioned and homely Bad Points: Some repairs are required but this did not spoil our stay

Date visited: 2006-04-06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I count religion but a childish toy, and hold there is no sin but ignorance. - Christopher Marlowe
More Quotes

On this day:
Scilly Naval Disaster 2000 Drown - 1707, First Plastic Surgery in Britain - 1814, Blantyre Mining Disaster - 1877, Crippen convicted at Old Bailey - 1910, George Blake Escapes from Wormwood Scrubs - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages