George

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George Hotel, Castle Cary

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Andrew on 6th June, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Good friendly reception and meal service. Wireless internet available in my room - maybe not in all. Friendly hotel cat! Bed and linen clean and comfortable. Bad Points: Potentially noisy if the bar were busy and you wanted an early night - my room was just above the bar. Room hot in hot weather - sash window did not stay open. General review: This is a family run hotel in a very traditional building. Rooms have been converted to modern ensuite standards and so inevitably are something of a compromise e.g bath / shower in what was once the fireplace! If you can cope with those quaint idiosyncracies you can have an enjoyable stay here.

Date visited: 2010-06-06

Review by james on 14th April, 2010

Add your review
wonderful place to stay, beautiful bedrooms, great food and beer was great Thanks for a lovely stay

Date visited: 16/10/09

Review by john trudgeon on 7th June, 2009

Add your review
We my wife and I spent last night at the George we both enjoyed the visit we cannot speak higher of the welcome we received it was brilliant but mayby it was because I was a Cornishman who had built their friends house thank you the team at the george.

Date visited: 6th june 2009

Review by Tracey Cork on 18th October, 2007

Add your review
Sadly very disappointed and out of pocket. We provisionally booked rooms for out wedding guests, we were then told these rooms had been booked by our guests, when we questioned who had booked we were told a name not on our guest list, so were confused. We were told again that they were booked when we questioned this, so we made other arrangements for our guests. Then the night of the party they called the mother of the groom at 1.15am to ask where the guests were. The owner could be heard in the background saying it will all get charged to you credit card anyway. When we approached the company and owner about it they said they were only trying to make a living and they would look into it. We have received no contact or compensation for the fact that our guests had to find other accomodation and we were charged the full price for the rooms £220 without any discussion. You have been warned.

Date visited: 22nd September 2008

Review by Doris and Boris on 5th October, 2006

Add your review
I had a very splendid time on my visit to the George Hotel. I had 3 very fine waitresses at my service, especially one with blonde hair tied up neatly in a ponytail. The were very welcoming and my my visit very enjoyable. The old chap with glasses behind the bar, was very grumpy and made me feel very uncomfortable whilst i was around him. I rather recommend staying at the George Hotel as most staff were very welcoming and friendly! thank you xxx

Date visited: 05/06/2006

Review by Paul and Mary on 16th July, 2006

Add your review
Well, the food was delightful, the bar staff were supeb, really inviting and freindly. The woman named Slyvia was rude to us and i was slightly offended as i foung it rather offputing. I think it's is a nice place to visit but beware of Colin singing behind the bar!! Please visit the george hotel and leave LOTS of tips as everyone deserves it.

Date visited: 17th June 2006

Review by Thomas, Bisi, Thor and Hamish. on 22nd June, 2006

Add your review
This old coaching Inn has a lovely relaxed and informal feel. The staff are extremely friendly, hard-working and appear to take great pride in the place. The food has a nice, home-cooked feel and is reasonably priced. The wine list offers good variety and is excellent value. The Pinot Grigio is exceptional and went down a treat after a long journey. Castle Cary is a charming, friendly little town with some fantastic shops. We would happily stay there again.

Date visited: June 2006

Review by Patsy & friends on 24th April, 2006

Add your review
Stayed here for a weekend away with friends. Had a fab time. Clive, Colin, Sylvie and all staff were wonderful and very welcoming. Colin even gave us a lesson in jiving!!! Thank you.

Date visited: 21st & 22nd April 2006

Review by charline and holina on 6th April, 2006

Add your review
The food was superb, the three young waitresses were very polite and friendly, their teamwork was shown through well in the time we were here. The two girls who served us ( believed to be named Charlotte and Holly-Rose)were especially delightful explaining the set meals very clearly and a slight tip was definately necessary. The bar staff were chatty and attentive, but the young man (who resembled Elvis) was slightly odd.

Date visited: 2nd april 2006

Review by Jenny&Carys on 12th June, 2005

Add your review
jolly good. The waitressing staff were brilliant, best i ever came across.not too sure bout that chap colin though...really yummy food. especially ye old chocolate ole and crispy duck. haha kosher innit! safe! lots of love jenny and carys xxxxxxxx P.S. see you next sunday

Date visited: 14/04/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Public opinion is a compound of folly, weakness, prejudice, wrong feeling, right feeling, obstinacy, and newspaper paragraphs - Robert Peel
More Quotes

On this day:
1st Instalment of Encyclopaedia Britannica - 1768, Lloyd George becomes prime minister - 1916, Anglo-Irish treaty is signed - 1922, Tories Pick Cameron as Leader, - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages