B and Bs in Leicester
These two halls offer a mix of accommodation with 193 en suite and 326 standard bedrooms, including 4 rooms which have been fully adapted for wheelchair users.
Gilbert Murray Hall was founded in 1957. The Hall was based upon a number of large houses built at various times in the first quarter of the century and is near to the University's playing fields. These houses were substantially augmented with the opening, in 1965, of seven blocks of study bedrooms.
Stamford Hall comprises buildings designed in 1964 by Sir Denys Lasdun (a leading architect, responsible also for the Charles Wilson Building on the University's main site and many other major buildings including the National Theatre); four adjacent older houses and Bowder Court which opened in October 1992.
All bedrooms provide comfortable single accommodation, with writing desk, internet access, a welcome toiletries pack, and tea and coffee making facilities. A welcome leaflet is also provided detailing emergency contact numbers and useful information.
Gilbert Murray Stamford Hall is located on our 40 acre site, Oadby, complete with beautiful landscaped grounds and a stunning 16 acre botanic garden suitable for outdoor activities. Oadby is a delightfully picturesque area only 2 miles from the City Centre.
This page viewed on 2,543 occasions since 29th June 2011
On this day: