Attraction in Turriff
Fyvie was once a royal stronghold, one of a chain of fortresses throughout medieval Scotland. From 1390, following the Battle of Otterburn, five successive families created probably the finest example of Scottish Baronial architecture. An old tradition claims that these families - Preston, Meldrum, Seton, Gordon and Leith - each built one of Fyvie's five towers.
An air of mystery is created by the ghosts and legends associated with this castle. The oldest part dates from the 13th century, and within its ancient walls is a great wheelstair, the finest in Scotland. Contemporary panelling and plaster ceilings survive in the 17th century Morning Room and the opulence of the Edwardian era is reflected in the interiors created by the first Lord Leith of Fyvie. A rich portrait collection includes works by Batoni, Raeburn, Romney, Gainsborough, Opie and Hoppner, and there is a fine collection of arms and armour, and 17th century tapestries.
The grounds and loch were designed as a landscaped parkland in the early 19th century. The old walled garden is being recreated to show traditional Scottish fruits and vegetables. Visitors can also enjoy the restored racquet court, ice house, bird hide, restored earth closet and beautiful lochside walks.
Months Open: Easter - Sept; daily in October
Car Parking: Yes
Admission Price: £6
Gift Shop: Yes
More Attractions nearby
This page viewed on 5,608 occasions since Oct 16th 2005
On this day: