Scole

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Scole Inn, Scole

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by CRAIG CROOKS on 16th July, 2012

Add your review
hi myself and partner visited the hotel,mi as a skeptic of the paranormal was pleasantly shocked at the activity we saw and witnessed ,children laughing an playing ,in the room,door handles moving inside our room ie bathroom,an the video footage of orbs,and of a figure at the end of our bed,changed my views.much worth a visit

Date visited: 2011

Review by Wendy Kloosterhof on 15th August, 2010

Add your review
We visited Scole Inn during our cycling trip and found the staff very helpful. Admittedly, dinner (main course) could have been better. Liked the dessert though. The full English breakfast was fine.

Date visited: 22 July 2010

Review by Anonymous on 11th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Beautiful location and building. Bad Points: This Hotel needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to standard. There was only one set menu available for the evening meal - no a la carte very strange. My daughter and I didn't want 2 courses but were told that was all they could offer. There was no table available to us for breakfast on Sunday morning - either for 2 or 4 persons. We had to wait whilst others finished. General review: Great location. This Hotel could be fabulous if only money was spent on refurb - bathrooms in particular were horrible. Shower didn't work.

Date visited: 2009-08-11

Review by alison on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Room was enormous and stuffed full of character. Bar staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Value for money Bad Points: The receptionist was not all that friendly, took awhile to aknowledge our arrival. General review: Was a good hotel, good value for money, clean and full of character

Date visited: 2008-09-02

Review by Karen on 23rd April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: liked the coach house rooms Bad Points: no hairdryer in room, bathroom floor not clean, heating not on in bathroom, creaky springs in mattress, lot of noise from television in next room General review: Lovely setting and building, although decor is a little tired in places. Superb breakfast.

Date visited: 2008-04-23

Review by Paul Birch on 16th July, 2007

Add your review
On arrival you are greeted by an impressive looking series of buildings with character and historic charm. This old coach house is still doing what it was built for, looking after travellers as they pass through this beautiful part of Norfolk. With the first impressions out of the way, the King Charles room with it's huge fireplace and fourposter bed was also impressive although the rather shabby bathroom was a disappointment. The evening meal showed great promise with succulent chicken wrapped around cheese and something elese that I cannot remember. The dessert was equally well recieved. However, my colleague was not so impressed with the blue rubber band found in his prawn cocktail and the breakfast was a real disappointment with dirty and chipped tea cups, 2 small overcooked eggs on poor toast. The service from the staff was acceptable as was the general cleanliness of the hotel. I was told that the recent purchase of the hotel will lead to more investment so the future should look rosy.

Date visited: 10th July 2007

Review by PETER ROBINS on 20th June, 2007

Add your review
We arrived in Scole to find a very fine looking hotel dating back to 1655. The inside contained many historical artifacts and was a joy to wander around. The staff were very pleasant and polite. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was enjoyable. Breakfast the next day was, again, ok but then things began to go downhill. The evening meal of a lamb stew was inedible as the "chef" had just sauted the lamb and poured a sauce over it, the veg looked as if it had been reheated from the day before. My wife, a chef by trade, complained and the manageress was very apologetic. We declined to have another meal in it's place. The "chef" tried to blame the source of the lamb until my wife explained her proffesion upon which he promptly left the room. Went to breakfast the next and last morning looking forward to a traditional breakfast. Ordered it with a soft egg please. It arrived within a minute so was obviously not cooked to order and looked awful. The sausages were sour, the fried bread was enemic and soggy, the tomatoe was old and tired and the soft egg had probably been under the heated lights for at least an hour. Another word with the manageress and yet another apology and to be fair, by way of recompense, a waiver of our drinks bill. Maybe it was a one off but I would advise anyone thinking of going to either eat somewhere else or put off going until they employ a real chef that knows how to cook. The food ruined what was my wife's birthday treat.

Date visited: 18-20/06/07

Review by Mrs M coller on 10th April, 2006

Add your review
We had a 2 day break at the Scole Inn - it was very enjoyable - the staff were very kind and courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them! We heard that the Inn was haunted but never had any sightings! Our room was very comfortable and the Manager told us that they are going to decoroate so this will imporove the Inn even more! Hopefully we will visit again in the near future!

Date visited: 5th/ 6th April 2006

Review by Brenda Henson on 5th February, 2006

Add your review
Friends decided to hold their wedding at the Scole Inn, I would recommend anyone getting married to do this the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The choice of food was very good, from Trout, Chicken, Lamb and Beef I decided to have the beef (rather boring I know but it was excellent)we stayed in one of the stable rooms, could do with a facelift but would definitely go back. I was disappointed to find out the next morning that the Inn was supposedly haunted, well theres another good reason to go back to do some ghost hunting B. Henson - Hornchurch.

Date visited: 4th Feb 06 - 5th Feb

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I keep seeing myself in my daughter, and I see my mother in me and in her. Bloody hell. - Julie Walters
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward I Expels Jews from England - 1290, Authority of the pope declared void in England - 1536, British Copsí 1-2-3 in Olympic Tug oí War - 1908, Mein Kampf Published - 1925, Great Martinstown Downpour - 1955, First UK Broadcast of Big Brother - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages