Cala

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Cala Gran Holiday Park, Fleetwood

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Marlene Swaine on 25th March, 2012

Add your review
Just returned from 5 days at Cala Gran and had a really good holiday. The van was spotless every where, I could'nt get the fire to work so I phoned reception, a very polite young man came within 20 minutes and sorted it for us. Every-one we had contact with were very polite and helpful. We ate twice in the Mash and Barrel and found the food very good and again everywhere was spotless. We will be going back again in October after all the summer visitors have been, so we will see what it is like then. Family from Yorkshire

Date visited: 19/3/2012

Review by Victoria wallace on 20th September, 2011

Add your review
WHERE DO I START!!!!!!!:(:( After travelling 4hours to get there with my husband & daughters aged 2years & 10months.got there looked fine. Got keys to our caravan which we paid extra to upgrade what a waste of money dirty minging caravan carpets were filthy & my ten month old crawls. Found sanitory towels in the drawers from god knows when there were not mine!!!!!!someones pubic hair on the beds i took my own covers. Loads of horrible dust & tags off someones clothes under the beds. The bathroom was discusting.my 2 year old got a rash due to something in the caravan as when we would go out for the day it would go away but it would come back again after she slept all night. Then the site entertainment was rubbish. The park was tiny seesaw was broken so only left a tiny shoot for my 2 year old to go on no swings so my 10month old couldnt go on anything!!!!!!!!!!!!pool is small but is clean. Nothing for my kids to do spent everyday in blackpool. They say theres a nature reserve so we thought great took bread to go feed the ducks to find a tiny bit fenced off where there was nothing but weeds my 2 year old was upset. I wont ever return its a terrible site!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 16th september 2011

Review by Peter Culbert on 24th October, 2010

Add your review
My wife and I took our three children to the Cala Gran as part of a three day visit to see my mum who had recently moved to Blackpool. We hired a 'prestige' caravan and picked up the keys accordingly and went to check it out, we were amazed to see dirty carpets no blinds at bathroom window and a window in the kids room that would not shut, I quickly went back to reception and asked for another caravan, this time we got Stannah 15 which was thread bare, the curtains which were dirty were not attached to the rail properly, the toilet seat and taps and kettle and parts of the wood were filthy, there was condensation on all the windows on the inside, in fact our prestige was appaling compared to the ones they advertised on their website, I went to reception about this and they said 'well the one on the website is a show caravan????' I asked could I have that one then, please DO NOT VISIT THE CALA GRAN I am not a snob but this place has the most awful caravans I have ever stayed in and not only is the website misleading but I also believe ot to be fraudulent and will be getting a full refund, honestly if you want a nice time with your children please do not go there.

Date visited: 22nd Oct 2010

Review by Anne on 7th September, 2010

Add your review
I have visitied Haven site for 25 years, I have found them very good.Cala Gran has not always been an Haven site,I feel it been over used and the maintainance needs to be more efficent but at least it was better than "Pontins" thats one place I would never set foot in even if they paid me.

Date visited: aug 2010

Review by M on 24th August, 2010

Add your review
This was our THIRD visit to haven in cala gran, an I would definitely go again. The people that complain! Oh I don't understand!! It's a nice little caravan site, very pleasurable. The whole accomadation won't be PERFECT, but what can you expect from a caravan site! If the place wasn't good, wasn't desant, we wouldn't have gone three times. And each time was better! The rooms were CLEAN, so were the dishes and we were provided with all the facilities and things we needed. It's a plesant enviroment and place to be! Thers loads to do, arcades swimming, mini golf, trampolines, go karting, water activities and all the rest! That's loads to do! Not to mention the shows they put on. They are pretty enjoyable! They have two bars and a pizza place! What more can you want!? All in all, I think it's a great place and would DEFINITLY go again. You get what you pay for right :)

Date visited: Aug 2010

Review by d rankin on 14th August, 2010

Add your review
we up graded our caravan to superior will tell you something if that was superior i would hate to see standared the caravan was that damp you would have thought i'd just washed our clothes and hung them up to dry, all the curtains were hanging off the rails did not enjoy the site atall will stick to b+b in blackpool from now on

Date visited: 7/ 8 till 13/8

Review by lorna kane on 24th July, 2010

Add your review
this was the 2nd time we went to cala-gran,and it will defo be the last.when we arrived, the dirty sheets from the previous holiday makers were sitting outside our caravan, and lay there for 2days!!then we tried to make pizza, the oven wouldnt work, we phoned the emercency number we were given as the reception was shut, but got put onto an answering machine telling us to phone back in 10mins, we phoned 3times before they answered half hour after our 1st phone call.then we were told that a part had to be ordered, so it couldnt be fixed till the next day.fortunately, the people in the caravan across from us let us use theirs.the next day we got up for breakfast, just to find out we had no grill bar...so we went through the same procedure as the night before to get help...when they arrived with a new grill, the man said no one had ordered a part for the oven, that it hadnt even been logged...arghhhhh.so that meant another day without the oven working...costing us money eating out,when they did fix it, we were out, so they just entered our caravan without our knowledge ...the caravan it self was clean enough except the 3 dirty pots in the cupboard and the toilet pan hadnt been cleaned, but we just cleaned them our self...no point wasting another half hour of our holiday on phone calls.the beds were really uncomfortable to,the springs sticking out them, think they had been there as long as the caravan. when walking to the club, you had to wade through a big puddle when the rain had been on because they hadnt put enough drains in.now for the entertainment.....hahaha....the funstars put on a really good show on the saturday night,well done kerry and cheryl..but they did the same show on the tuesday night too...very poor management..then to finnish our holiday off...my husband saw a big rat just outside the complex when he was having a smoke...come on haven...i have been to lots of your parks..but this one is the worst so far...the only good thing about it is, (1) its near blackpool.(2)its near fleetwood market,we will never be back to cala gran,and i hope the readers follow suit.

Date visited: 17/07/10

Review by mhcleaning on 5th July, 2010

Add your review
I go on holiday to a haven site about twice a year, i have done since i was little and now i take my children there, as i remember the fun i had. UNFORTUANTLEY it was my first time at cala gran in fleetwood, i have been nearly all haven sites around the country so though we would try this one as it was just up the road from us. never again, and to be honest i think it has put me off haven sites for good as it was that bad! firstly the caravan was a superior but there was nothing superior about it! it was disgusting inside, dirty and full of hairs in the culterly draws and stale old food on the utensials and pots! there were pubic hairs on the bathroom floor! disgusting! secondly, we booked an 8 birth caravan, obviously they were 8 of us......we had 4 of each cutelry and pots! 1 glass and 3 mugs! 1 double quilt and 3 single!! same with cushions! but like a typical brit i did not want to complain i just got on with the cleaning myself and luckily i took sleeping bags for the kids....good job as the quilt had wee stains all over them anyway! then thirdly we ate at the restaurant mash and barrel......eeuugggghhh the sideorder of chips were soggy and had vinegar on them already and peas in the bowl obviously off someone elses plate! me and my husband had chilli which i though was quite nice the next day severe vomiting diorreha and cramps......both had to go hospital and confirmed food poisoning...and thats the only thing we ate besides toast that day! that was the last straw for my husband, he had bit his lip long enough, he told the manager and she just kept saying that it was impossible all the food is fresh.....that there was no vinegar on the chips....errmmmm excuse me you was not there, and they are obviously not going to admit to it because they know its disgusting.....and i bet if enviromental health went in that kitchen....and in the caravan and around the park for that matter they would shut it down! dirty, disgusting grubby park! the manager continued to say that she cannot except our complaint regarding the dirty caravan as we did not tell her right away...what a load of rubbish! thats not how customer complaint procedures work! the only plus point was the entertainment for the kiddies at night time, they really enjoyes it.....just a shame the holiday ended on a low with food poisoning and a rude manager blatantly ignoring us!

Date visited: 2nd july 2010

Review by nic on 2nd April, 2010

Add your review
Just got back from cala gran was very clean the only thing i can say was caravan was very very cold only one fire in the front of the caravan so was freezing by the morning was reluctant to get out of the bed!!!! Very Very expensive at the park so would recomend anyone to bring food with them and the bar was over 10.00 for a round of drinks. But other than that was a good holiday, but dont think i would go back as would be cheaper to go abroad by the time you have paid for everything you can not move without spending 20.00

Date visited: 29 March 2010

Review by sue jones on 9th October, 2009

Add your review
just returned from cala gran first visit. park was very clean and public areas all clean. food and drink expensive buses every 10 mins to fleetwood blackpool just outside park. staff very friendly. car park gets very busy no parking outside caravans.we booked a standard caravan the carpets were filthy the quilts were badly stained the curtains torn and hung down.going at this time of year it was freezing in the bedrooms no heating so make sure you book a heated caravan if you go.did not go with kids so cant comment on entertainment.have been to haggerston castle and marton mere both excellent for everything had superior plus caravans there.did have good time but wont go back caravan put us off.

Date visited: 5th october 2009

Review by jayne on 12th September, 2009

Add your review
before i went to cala gran i was reading the reviews on this site an more an i will have to say most of the reviews were bad and i was dreading going to stay here, but when i arrived i was shocked what was these people talking about the park was spotless, the caravan we stayed in was a superior plus and it was goergeous i loved it they are very spacious and bright and very clean also everything worked and everything we needed was ther. ther were security men driving round and cameras around the park and very freindly doormen on the club which all made me an my family feel very safe. all the staff were lovely and coudnt help you more if they tried! the food is fab and well worth the prices. the swimming baths was very clean an never packed also this is free!!! the things for the children to do were never ending. we took our daughter for her first birthday an she loved it she was amazed by the zoo troop animals walking round, we are going back ther for bonfire nite we cant wait to go back it was one of the most funfilled and relaxing holidays i have ever been on and it was the first time i ever stayed in a caravan and i prefer this holiday to abroad holidays!!! we loved it x

Date visited: 07/09/09

Review by ceri on 6th September, 2009

Add your review
what a lovely site.caravan was lovely.very clean by mareen.we had everything in it.the shows where brill.food at the cafe was great and cheap.the swimming pool was fun and clean.well done guys keep up the good work.xxx see ya soon.from north wales.da iawn.

Date visited: 31/08/09

Review by Angela Pannu on 15th August, 2009

Add your review
My 2 kids ( 11 and 4) and I have just returned from Cala Gran park after a 4 day break. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the park, and we have booked to return in 8 weeks during the October holiday. My only compliants would be about our accomodation this time. The van we were in was old, and had cigarrette burns on the carpet, and it could have been doing with a thorough cleaning. Cob webs and mildew which are easily cleaned off were present in every room. Also, there was no grill pan, no frying pan, no toaster and no cooker lighter! Making meal times a tad impossible if you wanted to eat in the van. On the other hand, I found the staff very helpful and polite, the pool very enjoyable, the changing rooms very clean and well set out and plenty to do on site and off. Many of these reviews seem to comment on their disappointment with the town of Fleetwood. Why did these people not research it before they went? Fleetwood is an old fishing toen which has retained its old worldlyness and i personally think it is a great wee place! For a more upbeat town in the area, visit Poulton, which is tiny, but has everything you could want crammed into it!!!

Date visited: 10/08/09

Review by Julie on 30th July, 2009

Add your review
Nice enough caravan, fab views of bins and the top of ICI Thornton !! Park ok if you want to spend all your time at the costly entertainment or tiny pool. Two miles from time warp Fleetwood. A team of wild horses could not drag me back. Left a day early "only there for 3 days, I suppose ok for toddlers but take teenagers there at your peril!

Date visited: 27th July

Review by Marina on 18th July, 2009

Add your review
i have been going to cala gran for years and years since i was a child and i came back today and the carvan what i stayed in was discusting cig burns in the carpet and the cooker did not work properly and the caravan was over run with ear wigs but other than that all the rest of the caravans are really nice and clean the site is really nice with nice staff i would reccomend it to any one but if yopu have a caravan with the address on as 265 boundry road you might aswell just turn right back round and come home

Date visited: 11th july 09

Review by Gillian on 8th July, 2009

Add your review
Well what to say about Cala Gran. It was ok, there were 7 of us who travelled from bonny scotland including 2 teenagers and 1 infant. The accomodation was ok, but not as nice as the one we had stayed in in Marton Mere the previous year. It was way too far out and we had to drive into Blackpool to be entertained as the staff tried their best but they were truly awful! Bless! Anyway, we stayed for 3 nights and the food on the park is also bad, things were either burnt or cold..no happy medium! So we have arrived back and have swiftly booked Marton Mere for next year. Would not recommend this park..Sorry!

Date visited: 3rd July 09

Review by megan on 24th April, 2009

Add your review
i thought cala gran was very good swimming pool greeeat boss for kids and very entertaining breakfast bar loads of clubs were defintly going next year

Date visited: 20/4/09

Review by Anthony Rushton on 28th December, 2008

Add your review
Cala Gran is a fabulous haven park, with a range of continuous activities for all from kids clubs to sensational shows. The park itself is very clean and tidy with excellent entertainment and exeptionally friendly staff. Haven provide a constant investment, ever improving an already splendid holiday park. Fair enough some of the parks vans ar'nt the best but we now always book with CalaGranCaravan.com to make sure we get a lovely clean modern caravan. Calagrancaravan.com offer a fantastic service far better than haven in my opinion plus vip check in as standard including a personal welcome and FREE goodie pack plus a freephone customer booking line. We love Cala Gran and used to book direct with haven but no more now we've found someone that offers better value. So why not give em a try! calagrancaravan.com

Date visited: 21/09/08

Review by Dave & Holly on 6th November, 2008

Add your review
We stayed at cala gran in July 08, I have read bad reviews so was expecting the worst but the park was actualy OK. The check in progress was fairly straight forward and everything was fully explained on arrival our caravan was also of a high standard. The park isn't very large so of course there is limited amounts of activities etc that were available but there was always something to do. The actually eating area and show room were also very clean and tidy and the entertainment was also very good! The only problem we had was that my daughter was shouted at by a guest for no reason in the Showbar area but the venue manager (James) was over instantly and dealt with the situation very professionaly, he even called us the following day to make sure everything was OK! The staff in food area during the day time were also of a great help as my daughter can only eat certain foods they had different suggestions everyday for her.. Overall very impressed, should be going back sometime next year. Holly Gardner

Date visited: July 2008

Review by charlene on 23rd September, 2008

Add your review
we love cala gran its great for the kids it near to blackpool so thats a good thing too . the staff an the funstars are amazing one funstar inparticular stood out she was exceptionally good its KAYLEIGH she got involved with everything there was not a single second she stood still she was always up an about full of beans. she even took the time to come over to me at my table as it was my birthday an wish me happy birthday an makin sure we was enjoying our stay, we think your great kayleigh... x x x x We are booking a holiday to go abroad next year but we will also be showing our faces in cala gran for a long weekend too ,as we will be doing every year. cala gran is brilliant...

Date visited: 1st september 2008

Review by Dosen on 1st April, 2008

Add your review
Mixed opinions about this park from loads of people. Well really I think it's great and love it so I would recommend it. Accomodation been OK everytime we've been there and entertainment was great. What is wrong with it lol??!!!

Date visited: 22/06/07

Review by l waterhouse on 8th September, 2007

Add your review
we went to cala gran at easter,me my fella and our 2 kids age 7 and 15months.we absolutly luv this camp,everyfin 4 kidz,great entertainment for adults,clean comfy caravan and superb staff ay and nite,we av bin there bout 10 times ova last 5 years,thers nothin wrong wiv h facilities eg,swimin and arcade,its nt everyones cup ov tea but t end of theday its aimed at familys thats ot the brochure states so 2 all them who rmoaning that it wasnt 2 standerd, everyone new wot wos on the park u all didnt get forced to go there itsoff ur on baks,anyway they mie ov lost ur coustom but they certainley wont lose mine,once again thanx cala gran c usoon

Date visited: easter weekend

Review by Andrew on 3rd September, 2007

Add your review
Hello I have just got back from Cala Gran and at first i wasnt impressed. I mean as soon as you walk in the main door you have nothing but arcades. I mean that could be nice for a seating area and section a little bit somewhere for a few arcades machines. The pool area was a joke, it is small and its not even worth attempting to swim in it. Although my first impressions wasnt all that the staff were great. We waited decided to turn up really early before we had to book in and like some1 stated in their post, you can walk the park in 15 mins. There is only a small play area, arcades but there was a stage and at night the entertainment was superb. But we got to our caravan and settled in nice and so we set of looking around. Although i was wanting to go home after seeing everythiong etc we decided to go watch the entertainment and i tell you what, they did a superb job. I actually was gutted when it ended and i couldnt wait to for the next day for the next show.. They all did really well and was alot of fun. 2 girls in perticular Jade and Mary-Ann. Both went around dancing, smiling and they bothcould not stop giggling. they were superb. I nkow the site aint that but the shows the girls put on made up for it. If you want a gd nyt entertainment then yeah go for it, i'd go again now jsut to have that really good atmoshpere the girls gave. But for site seeing i'd go down south.. But i do have to say to Jade and espeacially Mary-aNN. Thank you both so much and i do hope i see you 2 again sometime.. All the best Andy

Date visited: 1/9/07

Review by L Carey on 28th August, 2007

Add your review
We have just arrived back after a four night stay at the park and after staying in the Gold standard of accomodation. There were two adults and three kids which were aged 5,10 and 11 and I have to say how dissapointed we were with the park in general. On arrival to the caravan the accomodation was not what we were expexting at all. After viewing pics on the website the caravan was nothing like it showed which was a little frustrating. Alao the park itself has hardly anything there at all to do. We literally explored the whole park in fifteen mninutes and had to resort to going off the park every day to find something for the kids. Very very poor and I would certainly not reccomend this park to anybody, sorry!

Date visited: 21.08.07

Review by james on 30th March, 2007

Add your review
THE PLACE WAS VERRY GOOD A ND EXSITING

Date visited: 31/12/92

Review by lisa on 17th August, 2006

Add your review
there was 8 of us altogether who went to cala gran and put it this way we are not going back! When we arrived we were situated at stannah which is about a 2 minute walk from the main center and we all thought yeah this is nice it was clean and cosy and quiet only thing it wasn't that close as my nana cant walk far. But on the second day the oven knob broke from the cooker so a man came out and we were told we had to move caravan because he couldn't get the part for another couple of days so we moved that day.The new location of the caravan was right at the back of the basketball courts so there was balls hitting of the cars and the music was really loud i was dancing in the bedroom at night when we went to bed we realised the all the rooms had damp in but youcouldnt smell it. When we got up the next morning and put the fire on after awhile we noticed the fireand black sut on and when we had the handy man out he said it was giving of carbon monoxide gas so he had to clen the fire out and when we went to get the cars out of the drive all the delivery vans were parked in front so we couldnt get them out until dinner time. The resort itself isnt bad for tots but theres nothing to do for teenagers we left 2 days early and went to complain the day before all they said was we will move you but we had already moved once and they said we will upgrade you free if you come next year.That will not happen!

Date visited: 12-19 august 06

Review by WYN BENNETT on 10th November, 2005

Add your review
JUST WOULD LIKE TO TELL THE HEAD OF ENTERTAINMENT FOR CALA GRAN. THAT AUNTY PAULA AND ALL THE FUNSTARS WHO HAVE ENTERTAINED US IN OUR FIRST YEAR OF LIVING HERE, HAVE MADE OUR EXPERIENCE A VERY HAPPY AND PLEASENT ONE. THEY ALL GAVE 150% ON EVERY PERFORMANCE, FROM OPENING NIGHT TO THE LAST SHOW OF THE SEASON. OH HOW I HOPE THE SAME TEAM CAN STAY WITH US FOR 2006. WE ALWAYS LOOK FORWARDS TO GOING DOWN TO THE CLUBHOUSE TO SEE THE SHOWS THEY PUT ON.THEY ARE PURE MAGIC AND VERY PROFESSIONAL. PLEASE PLEASE ALLOW AUNTY PAULA AND HER TEAM BACK TO MAKE ANOTHER FANTASTIC YEAR HERE,(HERE`S HOPING YOU DO !!!!!) I AM AT CALA GRAN FLEETWOOD ROAD FLEETWOOD PLEASE PLEASE ALLOW THEM BACK FOR 2006 . A VERY SATISFYED CUSTOMER ,FOR THE ENTERTAINMENT TEAM .THANK YOU/ MR/MRS K& W BENNETT

Date visited: live here

Review by Kerry on 27th August, 2005

Add your review
We visited Cala Gran with friends for a week on the 13th August, 2005. We stayed in a Gold Olympic Caravan, as did our friends. The caravans were immaculately presented with everything we needed. All in all there were 4 adults and 3 kids (aged 3, 6 and 9 years) and I can honestly say, I don't know who had the best time - the adults or the kids. This was a fantastic site with loads to do. There is an outdoor park for the kids swimming pool, outdoor splash pool, amusements, trampolines, bouncy slide, indoor soft play area and lots more for the kids. The adults have 2 bars to choose from with entertainment for families. There is a never ending programme of events and if that doesn't suit, Blackpool is a mere 20 minute bus ride away. There is a bus stop right outside the site, the buses come about every 10 minutes and take you right to Blackpool Tower. The return buses from the tower are about every 20 minutes - even at night. We had our cars with us, but they stayed parked outside the caravans for the duration of our stay. This was a fantastic holiday and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good family holiday. We will definately go back.

Date visited: 13/08/05

Review by Orlagh on 5th August, 2005

Add your review
We stayed in an olimpic sliver moblie and it was a great size and had everything you needed. You could park your car beside you mobile in most cases. The pool was great, not very big but not too packed most of the time either. The slide in the pool is not always opened though. The amusment arcade is great and has everything you would want. There is two play parks outside, a boucy caslte tramopline and go carts. There is a shop but it doesnt always have the essentials. There is a takeaway which do a fab fish n chips. We had our breckie in the cafe but it wasnt nice - it was cold! The entertainment in the bar was good, quizes, karoke etc, we found the show bar was always packed. All in all we found it a great spot and facilities clean, service quick and staff friendly. You need to have a car as it is a little bit out of fleetwood and a good 10 minute drive from Blackpool. There is a fab pet farm across the road - farmer Parrs its a must see! All in all id give it a thumbs up!

Date visited: 16thJuly 2005

Review by Catherine Clutton on 16th May, 2005

Add your review
I have just had a little holiday with you and i can say that i enjoyed my self but the entertainment could be improved.

Date visited: 13/5/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If a farmer fills his barn with grain, he gets mice. If he leaves it empty, he gets actors - Walter Scott
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages