Devon

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Devon Cliffs Holiday Park, Exmouth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lesley on 24th July, 2010

Add your review
Have been going to Devon cliffs since i was a child, so several times in total i have been.And i must say here what a beautiful part of the country which has very friendly locals. Have not been let down at all every visit, it just get's better and better and well deserves it's title as the flagship site. Fun for all the family, i went with partner and our two young children who enjoyed everything, from the luxeriouis caravan with varander to the sea views (which are stunning =-)including entertainment and swimming pools! We will be returning for 2 weeks next time and we can't wait already! So if you haven't had the pleasure of staying at this amazing place then you must!!!!

Date visited: 17thJuly-24thJuly

Review by shannon on 23rd January, 2010

Add your review
I thought it was fantastic the site was giant and the view was great and the resturants were lovely and the carvans were very clean and we took our dogs with us we wearnt aloud to take them on beach vvery upseting but their was a lovely green hill we took them were their was rabbits and great views up the top.The arcade was amazing and the shows were to also brillant. I thought the checking waas so good cos we had to wait a long time and we had dogs also it was vary hot so they gave us our keys early which was good,And i like it so much my mum and dad also my sisters are going again with 2 other familys we know it will be their first time and we know theyr love it like we did :D

Date visited: 1june-7th

Review by Nici on 13th August, 2006

Add your review
Well what can i say about Devon Cliffs, The lady below has pretty much summed it up for me, when we arrived to our caravan we were v dissapointed, we only paid for a silver so we were not expecting a palace but jeepers the standards of cleanliness are at an all time low, on the face of it, it looked ok, but when it comes to putting your things away & getting a closer look, we found clumps of hair under my daughters bed, empty crushed up boxes, matches, think dust in the corners of the carpets in all the rooms..... The kitchen blinds were discusting with dark brown splodges on them, crumbs in the drawers, i did expect to do a little cleaning, as every1 has there own standards of cleanliness, but this was a joke, my poor mum woke up each morning with little bites on her neck, when we went to investigate we saw THICK THICK layers of dust on top of the head board, who knows what creatures were mulipling in there, it was awful....... & to top it all off, on arrival we expected bed sheets in our rooms as i had phoned previous to our holiday & asked if needed to bring our own sheets,the chap on the phone said i would not need to as we have paid for a silver & they will already be provided...... But guess what they were not provided.... we managed to ask one of the dreary, glum cleaners, & her response was.. "wellu'll av to go dan the hire shop un hire them yourself as we only give sheets to our gold caravan users"..... AHHHH after a 5 hour car journey that was the last thing we wanted to do, & as it was there mistake,we felt it should have been them who rectified it!!!! weather u paid for a 2* 3* 4* or 5* they should value there customers, we paid good money for really crap customer service........ ANyway after allthat we took 1 look at the beautiful view & was instantly calmed!!! Thee is no nd for me to harp on as the lady previous is spot on with what she said, a V big park, my hubby met up with a mate there & his dad has had a caravan at the site for 30 yrs & he said there is at least 2,500 caravans crammed in.... there is alot of landfor these caravans but the ameanities are just not big enough for the amount of people it holds!!! I loved Devon it's self & me and my family will defo go back, but itwill most certinally not be at Devon Cliffs!!!!

Date visited: 02-08-06 tp 12-08-06

Review by yan on 23rd July, 2006

Add your review
CHECK-IN was somewhat discouraging. With a reception car park less than half the size it should be in order to deal with guests arriving and departing on busy days, it was pretty annoying to have to deal with inadequacy after a 5 hour drive. TIP: arrive early. A good few hours before your check-in. Get parked up and get to know the site (it's vast). TIP: Check-in is normally 13.30pm. ENSURE that you begin to queue at around 12.50 because the check-in queue gets verrryyy long and frustrating. THE FIRST IMPRESSION of the park (despite the nastiness of check-in) is that it's BIG....and it's very hilly. TIP: Once you've drove your car to the caravan using the sites roads, stop using the roads to travel by foot...they are very steep, only meant for cars...and will WEAR YOU OUT!! Find alternative routes to and from your van by short cutting around vans, etc. It will become easier and more enjoyable to walk. ONCE SETTLED in the Damson Green area of the site (all the different areas are named after trees) in a diamond 2 van I was initially disappointed with the quality of the "super luxury" caravan. I believe that HAVEN ARE resposible for a tad false advertising in their brochure. I expected (from the brochure photograph showing separate, comfortable sofa's as opposed to these wrap around chipboard jobs) that I would receive what I expected for "a typical diamond 2 caravan"...but no!...still the same old wrap around chipboard sofas. But once I looked out of my caravan window and saw the beautiful views straight out over the sea and the cliffs, I was happy!! TIP: if you can, enquire as to a good sea view if you're booking early. THE BEACH! What can I say! It's right on your caravan doorstep! It's a beautiful, clean, private sandy beach with fantastic cliffs all round. NO DOGS ALLOWED, BTW!! I met one disgruntled holiday maker who brought two dogs with him and said that he hadn't been informed about the "no dogs allowed" policy. But you can take 'em for a run at nearby exmouth beach (although it is currently "under construction" and not much fun atall for the family.) There is a little algae at the devon cliffs beach but nothing to be concerned about. THANKS to the ice cream vendor on the beach!! You saved many a journey up to the bar for refreshments. All excellent for you beach bums!! :) TIP: obtain a free copy of an exmouth newspaper in the supermarket...this provides tide times for the week in particular!! WHAT WAS THE FOOD LIKE? What do you wish to eat? There's a burger king in the entertainment complex...but I doubt you want to scoff that stuff day in and day out. There's a traditional fish and chip shop next to it...but I don't know where the managament have been for all these decades because that most certainly wasn't "traditional" fish n chips...I don't think I've even eaten fish batter so thick, tough and nasty tasting! The mushy peas were alright :) TIP: Next to bking and tradchips is MOVENPICK! My food pick of the holiday. Ice creams made from purely natural ingredients...every one an absolute delicacy whether a double scoop in a bowl or a cone...these ice creams need to be introduced to the world. Sheer quality!! MORE FOOD! Ah! There's food everywhere...mainly at "Sonny Jims" bar, restaurant and entertainment room. But...beware the buffet...stodge is my only explanation!! Very overpriced stodge at that! As buffets come...it most certainly aint diverse....or long! I wouldn't recommend it. The grill menu is very limited...the food looks mediocre...and it aint that great to taste overall. Along with being overpriced, you're not really onto a winner with Sonny Jims. Entertainment?? Nah! We got one amateur college band on the friday night before our departure...and they were poor! There is a relaxing balcony lounge outside sonnys which looks out to sea. Nice to take in a breeze in the evenings. We also had some good background music outdoors on our first night and then none atall again for the rest of our stay..did the speakers break?? I don't know! BEWARE KIDS! I found lots of broken glass littered in the outdoor drinking areas...after complaints were made I expected improvements...but to my disappointed it doesn't look asif my complaints were taken on board ATALL! THE BEACHCOMBER, BEACH SIDE BAR AND RESTAURANT Not great decor, food very low quality. Good for a coke on the balcony overlooking the sea while the kiddies play in the mini-park area next to it! TIP: If you would like an enjoyable, quality family meal in the evening (or morning or afternoon) then I'd advice a short trip from the park into exmouth where there are excellent pavement bars and cafes serving good quality food! "Uno's" was a good cafe for sandwich lunches. CUSTOMER SERVICES. Overall, the majority of staff were relatively glum...apart from a handful of real stars...mainly foreign students working abroad (there are a lot of them about). You'll come to know who the stars are and who to avoid! ENTERTAINMENT: - BUGSYS(the kids club) is good for 6.00pm for the toddlers/young kids fun time...it lasts approx half an hour to 45 minutes and they love it! After that...forget it! The room gets packed, it's clammy, cramped and not great entertainment. CAPONES (the family entertainment club) we ventured into once and vowed never to again. Much larger than bugsys. Again, cramped seating, dark, smoky, clammy and from what we saw of the entertainment...awful! A chav convention area? Possibly. ARCADE: There is a small, free soft play area for kids...a little carousel for the toddlers...your usual fruit machines, pool tables, 2p 10p machines and, the highlight for me: a bowling alley....much fun and cheap to play! problem is, I was hoping on spending some time having fun with my daughter in there but IT DOES become THE hang-out for the disaffected sons and daughters of parents who've dragged 'em away with them on holiday. (you know...13-16 years old brats more interested in holiday romances and bad manners than the holiday itself). TIP: POP just outside the main park entrance to 'country life' play farm. It's a hit with the kids! It's a littlr pricey admission but a good way to spend the day!! Crealys adventure park is another little gem and in close proximity...very easy to get to and good fun!! extra's: the swimming pools are ok! There's a little crazy golf course (it is little) and a kiddies adventure playground next to it. A football sports court was quite popular with the lads in the daytime. (and a popular place for the girls fishing holiday boyfriends). The hub of the site is the entertainment, food complex and the vast site stretches away from it up into the hills around with the beach at it's feet. The supermarket is relatively practical for last minute essentials. SUMMARY:- You can't beat the beach! Withtout it the site as a whole would lose a lot of credibility in my eyes. Food is poor, entertainment limp and cheesy (I've seen better put-on shows at much smaller sites) Take it from me...you like the glorious beach holiday and ice-cream...then you're sorted. Everything else needs a little work...ESPECIALLY those god darned awful seats they expect holidaymakers to sit on in the clubs at night!! CMON...a little more space, a little more comfort...stop trying to cram these people into clammy racks of 70's seats...I thought I'd seen the last of then. A little more thought put into the shows...you need to become aware that people ARE aware of the half measures you are taking in the food and entertainment areas...and probably wont put up with it for too long! WOULD I GO AGAIN? ASK ME THIS TIME NEXT YEAR!!

Date visited: 16-22nd july 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people. - Virginia Woolf
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hedgeley Moor - 1464, Robinson Crusoe Published - 1719, Treaty of Amiens Signed - 1802, Crick and Watson discover DNA - 1953
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages