Newnham

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2018: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Newnham Paddox Art Park, Monks Kirby

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Is bayly on 5th July, 2018

Add your review
Like those who have submitted other reviews I could not find the place. I have not given a specific date because I made 3 attempts to find the place in June and on the off-chance have checked the website again. There is no signage or any indication that the place exists. I stopped and asked someone close to where the place should be and the lady was non-committal. Doubtless others have made a similar enquiry and the woman does not how to respond. Why advertise the place, indicate opening times and give no indication of its whereabouts. Is it advertised in any way in Rugby library.

Date visited: June 2018

Review by Robert Wrathall on 29th June, 2018

Add your review
We were aware of then Newnham Paddox site from an exhibition in Rugby Library some time ago about Dorothea Fielding, daughter of the owner, who volunteered to drive ambulances in WW1. We thought a visit to the Sculpture Park would link nicely with her adventures. We knew that the Newnham Paddox area hosted special events, like the Daffodil Festival. The directions on the website did not enable us to find Newnham Paddox. We approached the area from Monks Kirby and drove up a private road but saw no statues or signage for the park. As the road was quite narrow, we had to stop when a car came the other way. We chatted to the driver who lived in one of the "estate" houses on the park. He informed us that the Art Park and its statues had been dismantled some 6 or 7 years ago and now the park only hosted a limited number of specially announced events - like the Daffodil Festival. May I suggest that your present description of the Newnham Paddox be removed or at least changed to reflect what actually happens, a limited number of special events. Thanks.

Date visited: 29 June 2018

Review by Frank Wells on 8th May, 2017

Add your review
We did not manage to visit because it was impossible to find! The postal code in the satnav took us to a private road (dead end, no notice) which we took, but there was just a private house at the end. A resident of Monk's Kirby knew of Newnham Paddox but nothing about a sculpture park. We went to Willey and asked there as well. They had heard of it but didn't know how to get there. Signposting was mentioned as being available at the A5 roundabout, Pailton and Monk's Kirby but we went to all three and there was none visible. Quite hopeless. Spent over an hour looking. Frank and Chris Wells

Date visited: 06.05.2017

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Soul meets soul on lovers' lips. - Percy Bysshe Shelley
More Quotes

On this day:
Deadly Storm Changes UK Coastline - 1287, Glasgow Subway Opens - 1896, Women Can Vote in General Election - 1918, The Clash Release London Calling - 1979
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages