Fallbarrow

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2018: The National Forest

It may be stating the obvious, but the best reason for visiting the National Forest in October is what New Englanders call leaf-peeping. Stuck in ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Fallbarrow Park, Windermere

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Nicholas Galtry on 24th August, 2010

Add your review
Another fantastic visit to our holiday home at Fallbarrow. Although the weather was drab during the week, it came good at the weekend, and there's nothing better than the look and feel of Fallbarrow after it's been raining and the sun has come out. Fallbarrow has a handful of facilities including a bar and restaurant (both of which are worth visiting), a deli shop, a games room and lots more. Just down the road is Bowness where there are plenty of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars to visit, as well as lots of attractions. Although on a sunny day, there's nothing better than walking by the edge of the Lake. Even though we've just got back, we're looking forward to going back there again.

Date visited: 16/08/2010

Review by Toby White on 24th August, 2010

Add your review
The last time we stayed at Fallbarrow was our 4th time there in 4 years. We love this park! It is incredibly situated, and extremely beautiful. The caravan we stayed in was clean and comfortable on arrival. The staff were very helpful and equally as friendly. The bar is large but has a lovely cosy feel to it, the childrens area is adequate and the shop is stocked with the lovliest local produce. The site even has internet access. Fallbarrow is close to Bowness, so there's always something to entertain you, whether you fancy a stroll through the park grounds, go shopping, or want to visit the local attractions. We will return to Fallbarrow time and time again. Simply love it.

Date visited: 10/08/2010

Review by Robert Long on 18th August, 2010

Add your review
Just got back from a week at our lodge at Fallbarrow and it was as great as ever! Lots to do on site: play area and a games room for the kids, restaurant and a bar for the grown ups, with a picnic area for the whole family. Nearby is Bowness where there are plenty of shops and attractions to keep everyone happy and entertained. Fallbarrow is a great park, surrounded by woodland, but also close to civilisation. the staff are friendly and very helpful. Although we own our lodge there, they do have a hire fleet of lodges and caravans which are very popular.

Date visited: 10/08/2010

Review by Ollie McQueen on 22nd July, 2010

Add your review
We stayed at Fallbarrow Holiday Park last week and were surprised at how much we enjoyed it. We have visited the Lakes only a few times and usually stay in a B&B, but this time we fancied something a bit different. We stayed in one of the deluxe lodges and it was exactly that. It had plenty of space and above all was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The park is incredibly scenic, surrounded by trees and right on the shores of windermere which made for some great morning walks before venturing into Bowness. The staff at Fallbarrow were very helpful and approachable and are a great source of information when it comes to things to see. The restaurant at Fallbarrow has a great menu and is reasonably priced, which saved us having to venrture too far out in order to find a good place to eat. Next time we visit the Lakes we'll definitely be staying at Fallbarrow again.

Date visited: 12/07/2010

Review by Alan Savage on 19th April, 2010

Add your review
We recently stayed at Fallbarrow during the kids' easter holidays and had a fab time. My wife and I visited the lakes a number of times years ago but this was the first time we had taken the kids. Fallbarrow was a great family friendly park and had a range of things going on. There was a bike hire facility, outdoor children's play area, a family bar and so much more that we didn't have time for as we were only there for a few days. It would have been nice if there was a swimming pool on site, but we were told that we could use the pool at the sister site up the road. The caravan we stayed in was big enough for the 4 of us and comfortable. It was kitted out with all the facilities we needed (kitchen, bathroom, hot water etc) and actually felt more like a bungalow than a caravan. Fallbarrow is a stone's throw from Bowness so we could get there easily without having to drive and find a parking space. Bowness is just as I remembered it from years ago, really pretty with lots going on, especially for the kids. Next time we visit the lakes we'll definitely be staying at Fallbarrow.

Date visited: 12.04.2010

Review by Roy Oates on 30th March, 2010

Add your review
Our latest stay at Fallbarrow has proven yet again that buying one of the holiday lodges there was one of the best decisions we ever made! We just spent the weekend there with my wife, brother-in-law and his wife and had such a good time. The park is so close to Bowness, which has lots to see and do, but more importantly has lots going on within the park itself. There is a bar and restaurant, a shop which is full of local produce and free wi-fi internet. As lodge owners we also have the use of the swimming pool and sauna at White Cross Bay which we hadn't used before, but thought it was time we did and they were great. Our lodge at Fallbarrow is perfect for taking friends and family to the lakes with us as we have 3 bedrooms, so they can stay with us. Also, we have the freedom to head to the Lakes anytime we like! The staff are incredibly helpful at Fallbarrow and always have a smile on. Can't wait to get back!

Date visited: 26th March 2010

Review by Antony Hayman on 24th March, 2010

Add your review
We really wanted to stay in a lodge, somewhere surrounded by trees, but also by a lake, as at Fallbarrow, that's exactly what we got. Fallbarrow's a great family orientated park, with plenty of facilities for the kids as well as things to do for the adults. Not only that, but Fallbarrow is really close to Bowness where there is even more going on. Our lodge was great, plenty of space, a comfortable bed, everything we needed for a weekend away. It had a homely feel about it, even though we were only there for the weekend. Although the weather wasn't brilliant, we had a great time and would love to stay there again during the summer.

Date visited: 19/03/10

Review by Tommy on 17th March, 2010

Add your review
We bought one of the lodges at Fallbarrow about 2 years ago and go there as often as we can. There's plenty going on around the park for the kids and it's so relaxing for my wife and I as we don't have to think about work. The kids love the play areas and walking in the woods. Being lodge owners at Fallbarrow we get free access to the leisure facilities at White Cross Bay just down the road. There, they have a swimming pool and a sauna. The park is so close to Bowness where there's always something going on. This weekend we wandered round the shops and took a boat trip, but other times we've visited and checked out The Lakeland Aquarium, the World of Beatrix Potter and the Lakeland Wildlife Oasis. Plenty of kid-friendly attractions! The staff are always incredibly helpful when we visit, and they have been since day one when we were deciding which model to buy. There's a real community spirit when we're there as the neighbouring lodges are also owned and so if they're visiting when we are it's nice to see a friendly face.

Date visited: 12/03/2010

Review by Dave on 1st March, 2010

Add your review
We stayed at Fallbarrow for a few days between Christmas and New Year last year and had a lovely time. There was plenty going on for the kids, as well as for me and my wife. The indoor pool was nice and warm, especially as it was snowing outside! The lodge we stayed in was very clean and very comfortable and staff were incredibly helpful. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked to visit again when the weather (should) be much better!

Date visited: December 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Saw a wedding in the church. It was strange to see what delight we married people have to see these poor fools decoyed into our condition. - Samuel Pepys
More Quotes

On this day:
Tennyson becomes Poet laureate - 1850, The Gettysburg Address - 1863, First National Lottery Draw - 1994
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages