It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Purn International Holiday Park, Weston-Super-Mare

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by sarah price on 3rd November, 2014

Add your review
well what can i say. dirty caravan on arrival. dead flies everywhere, windowsills, light fittings, beds.had to buy cleaning materials on the same day as arrival. old caravan and very basic. bedding was very clean clubhouse dated and very clicky with locals. Staff ade and lynn were very nice people. messy site lots of weeds and some touring caravans need cleaning. we were in front of a caravan.dogs that barked continually and from the same caravan shouting early hours of the morning nearly every night.we own touring caravans on a park in shropshire and this would never be allowed. sorry will not be returning again. pay extra and get a nicer site!!

Date visited: 25/10/2014

Review by Berry on 28th September, 2014

Add your review
Booked this for a birthday treat for our son,never again! When we arrived the caravan looked like it needed a good scrub outside, on the inside looked ok at first, nice size but dirty in places. The club was very small and so was the arcade so not much for our teenagers. The pull out bed in the lounge was a joke, all the hinges were broken and the mattress part that was stored in the wardrobe was disgusting, there was food under the cushions when we lifted them to get the bed out! The pilot light on the water heater kept going out, there wasn't enough crockery only 1 bowl for 6 people! The staff were friendly enough but don't bother buying the wifi, they said it was ok for surfing, load of crap

Date visited: 26th september 2014

Review by Bob cox on 9th September, 2014

Add your review
Not to bad a place for the money staff very hospitable and help full had a decent weekend in all

Date visited: 5/9/14

Review by jones family on 15th August, 2014

Add your review
this as got to be worst caravan site i have ever been on. static caravan we stayed in must have been 20yrs old. moss and rust all around it. wife had to wipe kitchen and sideboards before we moved in. clumps of hair in shower!!! club on the site was old and run down and barman was most arrogant man i've ever met. i'm a working class bloke but even i have certain standards. if you wear a track suit 24/7 and like the jeremy kyle show you'll love this site!!!.... we had booked for a week but left after 3 nights....never to return again!!!

Date visited: 9th aug 2014

Review by Angela Sumner on 30th June, 2014

Add your review
We stayed in a camping pod the sofa bed was a plastic fold out bed which had not been wiped down as was full of sand, and we found a hairband and a small ball on floor so was not cleaned before use , their was no bedding available and it was nice of them to leave a kettle in room but with no cups. And the toilets and shower facilities were not clean.

Date visited: 28/06/14

Review by Anthony and Carolyn on 9th June, 2014

Add your review
Had a really enjoyable stay, everyone made us feel welcome and staff very helpful and friendly, reasonable prices in the bar for food and drink, caravan very clean, looking forward to a return visit

Date visited: 6 June 2014

Review by Babs on 8th June, 2014

Add your review
What a lovely site. Staff very friendly and the other guest were lovely. Good entertainment, excellent food and fab prices, caravan lovely and clean, cant wait to revisit x

Date visited: 6th June 2014

Review by Happy Camper on 6th May, 2014

Add your review
The camp site is just fine. The staff are nice enough and we enjoyed our stay. The one thing that really lets the site down is the amount of weeds all around the caravans. Surely it wouldn't take long to tidy up the pathways, gravel etc around the caravans and this would enhance the look no end. Grass cutting could also do with a bit more care. It's fine to sit on a mower and do the main areas but what about the unsightly grass growing around the caravans that needs cutting down. all in all not a bad place but more attention to detail and more effort keeping the grounds up to scratch would help enormously.

Date visited: April 2014

Review by john rook on 29th March, 2014

Add your review
Although the caravan we stayed in was clean there were dead flies in the light shades .The pilot light on the water heater kept going out which meant we had no hot water unless we boiled kettle. The maintenance man was up every day to light it but it kept going out after the 3rd day he admitted defeat and said he would order a new part . The fire in the lounge was temperamental sometimes it would light others it wouldn't so had to buy long matches to light it . Supposed to have heaters in the bedroom they were a complete waste of time.No heat from them at all. WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK WORSE SUN HOLIDAY WE HAVE EVER HAD

Date visited: 24thMarch -28th March 2014

Review by Joanne on 13th October, 2013

Add your review
I thought the holiday park itself was fantastic. The holiday park staff work so hard to give you a great stay. The park is lovely and clean, swimming pool is big and has a baby pool as well but would use the bigger pool as water is only up to parents knee deep. Food is brilliant! Would definitely recommend the pub Hungry Horse across the road from Purn park... FANTASTIC FOOD and service all around, and do good deal prices on food. The only way I can fault the park... the shop could do with abit of updating, it needs more food stocked up in there e.g biscuits, frozen foods, bread, baby food and sma tins, milk being a biggest one too. If you don't have a car... I advise you to get your food from Tesco in Weston super mare before going to the holiday park. OVERALL a lovely break away, no problems.. lots of things to do in Weston super mare too, sandcastle exhibition is amazing! May return in later future to park, my daughter certainly enjoyed it.

Date visited: 30th Sept -6th Oct

Review by Lucy on 26th August, 2013

Add your review
The entertainment staff work so hard to give you a good holiday, you could not fault them, bar was cheap. You had to pay for the swimming pool so there is not much to do in the day but the night time is quite a laugh in the clubhouse. could do with a update as it looks a bit old the reception/shop/clubhouse. but apart from that we enjoyed it and had a laugh, hungry horse opposite was a lovely pub with lovely meals and the anchor inn to there all friendly in there :) caravans were lovely and clean, not one fault about the caravan. If your bingo lovers then it is bingo every night, we won loads!

Date visited: 17th-24th August

Review by miss sheard on 13th August, 2013

Add your review
Just had a great holiday at purn. We booked gold caravan for 3 adults 4 children & baby & it was lovely. Veey spacious and clean even inside microwave was spotless. Bedding provided and pillows. Site was lovely and well maintained and looked lovely at night if walked round with ligjts. Kids loved clubhouse and was up dancing and singing everynight. 3 singers on in the week we stayed. Bingo, deal or no deal, karoke and games. Pool was great and never to busy. Our kids made a mess of carpet mid week and we told staff they came straight over and hoovered. Would book again. Great location 5 min drive to western pier. 8min drive to brean

Date visited: 3/8/2013

Review by miss sheard on 13th August, 2013

Add your review
Just had a great holiday at purn. We booked gold caravan for 3 adults 4 children & baby & it was lovely. Veey spacious and clean even inside microwave was spotless. Bedding provided and pillows. Site was lovely and well maintained and looked lovely at night if walked round with ligjts. Kids loved clubhouse and was up dancing and singing everynight. 3 singers on in the week we stayed. Bingo, deal or no deal, karoke and games. Pool was great and never to busy. Our kids made a mess of carpet mid week and we told staff they came straight over and hoovered. Would book again. Great location 5 min drive to western pier. 8min drive to brean

Date visited: 3/8/2013

Review by Janet King on 4th August, 2013

Add your review
We have just returned from the best holiday we have ever had. Staff friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Caravan was lovely and clean, and the grounds were too. Fun nights in the clubhouse, Kids loved the pool. I was worried about the boysnot having the luzury of Haven and larger parks, but they were loving evrey second. Good position of thecamp made getting around easy. We lvoed it so much, we have booked to go back next year for two weeks. There is so much to see and do down there and Purn is an ideal place start. Thank you to staff and all who were at the holiday camp for our fabtabulous week, looking forward to going back next year.

Date visited: 26/07/2013

Review by adrian on 16th July, 2013

Add your review
Don't know what all the moaners are on about, I found purn a real friendly site, great staff and a nice relaxing weekend I had so much peace there and felt so welcomed by everyone at purn, that I booked again for this weekend, my only dissatisfaction was that I don't have a caravan yet of my own to leave there all season, because if I did I would be there more. Well done purn

Date visited: 12th- 15th july 2013

Review by emery on 4th July, 2013

Add your review
Very good park. Swimming pool was very very good and clean including the changing rooms. Brilliant calm and peaceful park. We went to the club house a couple of times. Very good time for kids in summer. the staff were very friendly. Definitely a excellent place to bring young children. So well done. Caravan was lovely too.(we did read the reviews before we went, so was feeling a dubious but should never have felt or worried about it) excellent park!!! Some people just like to whinge and nothing is good a enough for them) :-)

Date visited: 10 -14 june 2013

Review by mrs elkins on 30th June, 2013

Add your review
this was a sun holiday which we have been on a few arrived 3.15pm shown to our caravan it was like stepping back 20 years it was dirty, the cooker didnt work and a old bed frame had replaced the original double bed this sank in the middle and creaked every time you moved on it there was about an inch each side to get in and out, the club house was empty the night we went in just 4 staff members and myself and hubby poor, the swimming pool is expensive to us the park itself is peaceful and we got to some great places but would not use this holiday park again

Date visited: 24/06/2013to28/06/2013

Review by R.Boulton on 18th June, 2013

Add your review
We were so worried about going on our regular Sun holiday to this site because of all the bad reviews, however i have to say we had a great time. Yes the park is basic, but the staff were all very helpful and the caravan was clean and tidy. We only went in to the club house once to ask a member of staff about trains to Bristol so we can not really comment on that, but it looked ok and it was busy enough. The kids in our group made friends with the other kids on site and they enjoyed the freedom a smaller site allows them to have at their age. I wouldn't promise that there is something for everyone on this site but we couldn't fault it.

Date visited: Fri 14th- Mon 17th June

Review by Helen on 11th June, 2013

Add your review
Well what can I say excellent price for holiday welcomed by all the staff very polite and help with any situation . The meals was excellent value for money in the club house and very nice . Caravan was very clean and tidy and not to far from the club house. Sunday carvery should not be missed excellent roast. Any problems we had was fixed immediately . Granddaughter had an excellent time swimming in the pool as I did very cheap for a whole family swim once you brought the pass can swim for hours or for minute as many times in the day as you want . If I asked if I would book again most defiantly .

Date visited: 7/06/13 to 10/06/13

Review by mr g abbott on 7th June, 2013

Add your review
Purn "holiday" park......where to start? On entering our caravan we were pleasantly surprised! Lovely and spacious and certainly clean...big up to the cleaners on this as I'd hire you any day! The kitchen as was the rest of the caravan was very well kitted out indeed. In the caravan is a welcome folder explaining various H +S bits that you would expect along with an itinary of entertainment for the "thriving clubhouse". Every evening it promises that there would be something for everybody to do.......NOT THE CASE AT ALL!!!!! Each night the nearest we got to entertainment was a game that was VERY clearly aimed at the locals (all 5 of them) and not meant for anybody that actually paid to stay onsite. I quite sure I could copy the playing card game with bottle tops here at home with my 2 year old, in fact I may even bring up this idea at playgroup! Karaoke didn't happen, a family evening of games didn't happen, the quiz...guess what....didn't happen, but hey as long as the locals were happy ay? As the days went on we were consequently told that we were staying on the equivalent to the "council estate"" side of the park, thanks for that. The staff however I have to say we're great! They couldn't do enough for us, super friendly and virtuous in every way possible....big up guy's. The general consensus we got though was that there seemed to be a huge divide between staff and management......not that we actually saw any management. Then the piece de resistance to end our "holiday", we packed up nice and early so we could enjoy a home cooked breakfast onsite. Guess what,....."sorry no breakfasts today as we didn't think it was going to be busy, and we've got a medium spiritualist in today so we want to keep the place tidy"!!!!!! We 'll if you had a medium coming why didn't you ask them to see if it was going to be busy or not???? Best part of this break was the ADD A breakfast and the journey home.

Date visited: 3rd june till 7th june

Review by Lisa on 4th June, 2013

Add your review
We have just come back from our Sun holiday to this park and we cannot fault it. Staff and the "regulars" who I think live on the park were all really friendly, caravan was fine and it's probably ten minutes from Weston which was also a lovely place. It's only a small site so we could let the kids go to the park and shop by themselves which was great as it teaches them a bit of independence! After reading the reviews I have come to the conclusion that some people just love to moan....will definitely return!!!

Date visited: 31.05.2013

Review by Vanderbilts on 28th May, 2013

Add your review
We have had many holidays at Purn Holiday park, it is an excellent location for visiting Weston super mare, we always use the club house during the weekend, kids enjoy the activities arranged by Pam then there is normally an act, many a fun night spent. I was pleased that this year the swimming pool was much warmer than last year! (the kids spent over an hour twice a day!)yes you have to pay a charge but to be honest you can use it as much as you like & at least this year its warm! Top tip have the Sunday Carvery a bargain at £5.95 each for a small (big enough) My one plea for Purn is to look at the showers apart from one hook on the outside of the door there is nowhere inside the cubical to hang clothes or a shelf for your bottles, the water is warm but more goes down the wall than on yourselves as the heads are leaking, plus the plugholes are always blocked which is unpleasant standing in dirty water whilst showering, maybe one of the maintenance people should attempt a shower to see the very minor problems that once fixed would make it much more comfortable experience (heating also!). Please do not let this put you off this simple site is perfect for all excellent value & once the people get to know you can't do enough :-)

Date visited: 24th - 27th May

Review by Brian Donnelly on 20th May, 2013

Add your review
This was a Sun holiday,we have been doing these as an additional holiday and base for exploring for about 15 years. We arrived an hour early and would have been quite happy to wait but told not a problem and checked in by pleasant staff. We always use sleeping bags and were not, as some reviews suggest, charged for bedding anyway. As we were out of the holiday period and there did not appear to be many other people around, we did not expect too much from clubhouse (we have found they vary from site to site)and on our only visit there were two other couples who left as did we after one drink. It is possible that club may have livened up later or on other nights. There are two pubs a very short walk from site. The caravan was comfortable and very clean. As weather was cold (and sometimes wet) last week we had to use heating but it was fine as was the shower. Only disappointment was, as someone who swims half hour every morning for health reasons, the cost of using the pool for just this would have made it expensive but if we had been a bigger, younger group I believe cost of swimming pass is reasonable. The park is very convenient for visiting Weston-Super-mare and Brean as it is on bus route with stop almost outside entrance. We experienced no bad vibes, in fact every one we spoke to was pleasant. Overall, we had an enjoyable holiday.

Date visited: 13 - 17 May 2013

Review by mrs thomas on 24th April, 2013

Add your review
I've had some very good sun holidays but this one was so bad we had to leave after the first night. Caravan provided was sub standard. Black smoke on gas boiler, bathroom lock damged. Pool closed. No manager available after 5pm. Their response to my complaint was to bascially call me a liar. I wish I hadn't wasted my money and time. I am not someone who goes around complaining and I do not make things up. Please don't book here and make the same mistake as me.

Date visited: 22/3/2013

Review by Carole Parish on 13th April, 2013

Add your review
I would love to add a nice review about Purn Holiday Park, unfortunately I won't be able to as they cancelled my Sun Holiday due to late payment, I hold my hands up it was my fault entirely but I called them the day after they cancelled it and apologised for the late payment but I was unable to access my e-mails for a week and during this period they had asked for the payment within 48 hours and cancelled the holiday 5 days later. I didn't receive the confirmation e-mail that they sent in January, I never delete my deleted box which I checked in case I had over looked it. Their attitude was awful when I called them to discuss. The very unpleasant member of staff said we need to speak to the Sun, I did and they said they are on contract to Purn to pay for the holiday and they cannot transfer it. Purn have cancelled our holiday for £13.50 for passes and £20 for bedding IF I wanted it. So I am out of pocket £62 to the Sun that I cannot transfer or get a refund, apart from which, I have left 4 messages to be called back, 1 to a member of staff and an e-mail they they confessed to having received from me but wouldn't say why they hadn't replied. Judging by the reviews of people who have visited I can see that there is a huge problem with customer care. I am angry because we were taking our 7 year old Grandson on holiday as we have done for the past few years and now we are struggling to find another holiday site for the dates we booked AND they will be paid by the Sun for our caravan, we would have spent far more than the £33.50 we owed them AND according to the website they currently have caravans available for our booked weeks. Surprise Surprise !! We are now quite happy not to be going there because of their small minded uncaring attitudes but feel sad for our Grandson. I will not rest until I get a response from them, it is making me frustrated that they will not respond to any of my messages or e-mail, why should we let them ruin our Grandsons holiday ??? I will be taking this further believe me

Date visited: due 31st May 2013

Review by Amanda on 12th April, 2013

Add your review
Just returned from a Sun Holiday at this park. After reading the reviews which most were bad I was a little worried about what to expect. When we arrived just after 3.30pm we was greeted by a very friendly member of staff and booked straight in. Our caravan was perfectly fine and for paying for a sun holiday was very pleased. A very pleasant holiday and would be more than happy to holiday their again.

Date visited: 08/04/2013

Review by teresa on 5th April, 2013

Add your review
Booked this holiday then read the reviews I was a bit worried to say the least, the staff were so unfriendly place was unsafe,caravans dirty,I could go on.Arrived on the Monday at 3pm went to reception where the staff were very friendly and helpful, caravan we were so happy with it my daughter had a great time playing and meeting friends,one thing I have learned dont read reviews!! Some people are not happy unless they are moaning!!!!!! Thanks for a relaxing break

Date visited: 1/4/2013

Review by Tina on 24th September, 2012

Add your review
Staff friendly we had caravan 5 grey. Very dated, kitchen cupboards were peeling found 4 dead spiders hanging from old webs Hot water taps had no pressure what so ever so shower was useless Bedroom was a great size with clean bedding. Only prob with it was it backed on to a very busy main road. We stayed here cause it was near to Weston super mare, but with we had booked at the Burnham holiday park

Date visited: 21/09/12

Review by Purn Holiday Park on 12th September, 2012

Add your review
We wondered how long it would be before Mr Steve Mountain would put a review on about Purn Holiday Park, Now I will put the events on that you missed out, On arrival (Saturday 18th August) you were very pleasant and we had a chat about were you could get a wheel chair from, the children in the party came to the shop/reception 20 minuets after you checked in for a thank you card for you and your wife for paying for the holiday, we had a good chat with them while they borrowed a pen to write on the card, one of the children could see the indoor pool on the TV screen and was jumping up and down saying yes a pool, she then asked if it was indoor, we told the children yes, and they shouted yippee, the little girls mother came into reception for a swim pass and took the children swimming. On Tuesday Afternoon Hoseasons your booking agent called the park and said you had called and told them we had no out door pool, no play area, no entertainment, Hoseasons told you it was there fault for not telling you we now had a new indoor heated pool, and offered you some compensation you refused there offer, we had kids club every night and entertainment every night. On Thursday at 2.20pm you called the park and said you were due to check out on Friday at 10am but were at Pontens and had been for a few days and that you were not happy with the park, and you could return the key and barrier pass about 12.30pm, as the caravan was booked out the following day we needed to get it cleaned for the next guests, we got the spare key and went to the caravan expecting it to be empty as you said “we have been to Pontens for a few days” all your belongings were in the caravan we have pictures to prove it, the caravan was in a disgusting state breakfast plates with food on them all over glasses with drink in them and full of cigarette butt’s all over, and the caravans are all none smoking!! If like you say you were at pontens why would you leave your false teeth? On the table mobile phone, backy iPod, toiletries all the clothes, cases, shoes, inhalers, tablets, and also you were seen by a guest going out on the Thursday morning!!!! We called Hoseasons and told them what had happened and that the caravan was booked out on the Friday, Hoseasons tried to call you but your phone was switched off, Hoseasons informed us that your contract ended at 10am on the Friday with the park and them so if you had not collected your belongings by then we could remove them and store them in a safe place. 10.15am on Friday the resort manager and house keeping went and removed all your belongings, at 11.10am Hoseasons called and said you had spoke to them and were coming onto the park to cause some trouble and advised us to call the Police, so we did, the Police had to escort you off the park you were using foul language towards the police and staff members, also in front of the two children, your behaviour was disgusting, so Mr Mountain if you are going to put a bad review remember to put all the facts,

Date visited: 12/9/12

Review by steve on 10th September, 2012

Add your review
having booked this holiday for my wife daughter grandaughter aged8 her best friend aged8 and myself,the girls were bitterly dissapointed on arrival,as it had no outdoor swimming pool,as advertized on there web site!!!!!.this site is not a family holiday park at all, it is a residential site pretending to be a family holiday park!!!!! it is run by the residents themselves,there is absolutly no entertainment for the children,it has 1 swing 1 baby swing, and a slide in the so called play area.signs saying no playing in or around the play area.the indoor swimming pool is monitored by cameras fed back to a screen in reception,no lifegaurds!!!entertainment for the grown ups is nothing short of a joke.my family and i had to go into western or brean for any entertainment for both children and grow ups, and eventually paid for 2 nights at pontins in brean!!!!!!.so all in all if you want a really quite family holiday, this is the place to go.how hoseseasons see this as an international holiday park i do not know!!!!. ps pauline steven turnbull manage the site,and need some customer relations training.yours sincerely very dissapointed visitor.

Date visited: 18/8/12 24/8/12

Review by Jane Powell on 8th September, 2012

Add your review
Just got back from 5 day holiday at this park booked through the sun, and have to say had a fab time,van was clean and comfy all staff helpful and friendly. would go back anytime.

Date visited: 3rd September 2012

Review by dee on 7th September, 2012

Add your review
just returned from staying at this site caravan dirty drab and definatley seen better days first and last time at purn

Date visited: 3 sept 2012

Review by Andy Lake on 19th August, 2012

Add your review
My family and myself have just returned from 7 days at Purn Holiday Park.I find it very hard to believe anyone can have anything to complain about(except the weather lol),We had no problems at all,the staff were very polite and welcoming,the caravan was immaculate and we was able to park right outside...not 200yds up the road such as some sites we have stayed at before,the park was clean and well kept,in the games room,there was a handful of fruit machines(as well as 4 more in the clubhouse,a pool table,and a dart board.The meals that we saw being served were huge,bloody cheap too.If I was to critisise anything,it would be the swimming pool charging system you have in place,It should be free for all to use I believe.I asked my two lads(17yrs and 13yrs)if they enjoyed their stay....the reply was yes,it was great.I could go on and on and on,but I'm sorry to those who have had a crap stay at Purn,we certainly didnt.

Date visited: 11th August 2012

Review by jim on 18th August, 2012

Add your review
i camped here for a few nights got flooded out, showers were dirty and out dated, food from the bar was {asda no frills chips} breakfast took them 30 minutes to cook and come out on a childs plate the people who run this site should be sacked the owner must be mad to have them carry on the way the do

Date visited: 12/7/12

Review by Turnbull on 6th August, 2012

Add your review
In reply to Mrs Kaur, as I was the person that dealt with you I think I should give my side off events, as you stated you booked a sun £9.50 holiday for 2 adults 1 child, on check in you were asked if you had any extra people with you, your reply was No, have you got any extra cars, your reply was No, the following morning as your caravan could be seen from reception I counted 6 people coming in and out from your caravan!! Your car was parked outside the caravan, I then watched you walk to the car park and open the door to a second car!! As stated on you paper work extra cars are £15.00 also you only paid the Sun £9.50 holidays for 4 people, a member of your party came into Reception and I asked them if you could come to reception, I was not Rude or Abrupt when asking you if you had an extra car and extra people, at first you told me the people were not staying, and the car belonged to your friend, and the car would be staying!!!!! I asked you why would your friend leave her car? You replied well they might be staying, I asked if you could find out because their would be an extra charge for the people and car, you came back and said yes there staying, after looking at our CCTV you all arrived together on the Friday night, so you not only tried to deceive Purn Holiday Park Ltd you lied on you paper work to the Sun £9.50 Holidays stating you were only 3 people, I’m sure they would not be happy if I passed this information on, like you said you have been doing sun holidays for 15 years and if you pulled the same trick each time you have done the sun promotion out of £270.00, I think the only reason you have put this review on is because you were caught sneaking extra people and car onto the park. On check in you are told someone will be round between 9am & 10am to collect your bedding as the laundry company collect the bedding early, your bedding was collected at 9.25am check out is 10am at 10.20 you came to reception with your key & barrier pass know one came to ask you for the key!!!! Now for the best bit!!!! Racist!!!!! Is a very strong word and being told that WE are RACIST again because of your dishonesty and being caught you used this word.

Date visited: 6 Aug 2012

Review by nicola on 5th August, 2012

Add your review
The staff were exceedingly unfriendly and helpful, upon arrival they barely spoke to us, had to wait for the receptionist to finish smoking before she came back into reception ! I was told that it was an extra £10 to use the indoor heated pool, obvisouly i oaid is as my 5 yr old wanted to swim, i was given brief directions how to get to my caravan.Went swimming the next day, to discover it didnt open till 10am, but it wasnt ready as "Steve" hadnt checked the water ! We waited for ten mins, we're then allowed in, it was a comminial changing area, luckily we were the only ones ! the water was bitterly cold, they had music playing so loud, you couldnt hear each other, finally, it was an unsupervised pool, but had 24hr cctv, monitored by reception, which did not happen, as they were mainly outside smoking !! The clubhouse, was a dated old hut, which was mainly used by the residents, had no holiday feel to it, the amusement arcade, consisted of a pool table and 2 fruit machines !! Now, the caravan !! Where to start ! Mould on all curtains, no curtain on the door that faced all bedrooms, neighbours lights shone through all night, no handle on the grill,the neighbours that lokked out from the kitchen side, had 5 dogs & 2 cats, they had the same wahing on the line all week, didnt clear up any of the dog mess and we're very loud day and night !!! When i asked if i could talk to a manager, i was told that if i came back at 5pm, he may be there ! Sure enough i made sure we got back from the beach at 4.45pm & reception was closed, no sign of manager or note left in our caravan !! All in all absoluley awful !! Please readthis and take note, i had saved very hard to take myself and son away, and absolutley gutted by the cost i have lost.

Date visited: 30th july 2012

Review by David Hill on 5th August, 2012

Add your review
Me and my friends were cycling from Lands End to John O'Groats. On the third day it rained, and we were all a bit down, but we were hoping that when we arrived at the holiday park, we would be able to relax and enjoy some nice food. However, i am sorry to say we were very disappointed! We arrived, set up camp, then headed off to shower. The shower facilities were very poor, some taps were powerful, some were too weak, some of the locks on the toilet cubicles were broken so didnt close and the hand dryers were useless. As for the showers.. well i think i would of had a more enjoyable shower stood under my friends wee. At this point we thought some food would cheer us up! We entered the main community area and we were instantly frowned upon by the regular visitors and the staff working there. Eventually we decided to order some food! I ordered a Cheeseburger and chips with salad.. however, when my food arrived, there was no salad? I decided to dismiss this as a mistake, but it came to my attention that noone else in the group had recieved their salad either! As well as this, there was no vegetarian menu which became a problem for one of my vegetarian friends who therefore could not eat. We thought things couldnt get much worse, but we were wrong. One word. Bingo. This tipped us over the edge along with the music 15 years out of date. We decided to leave to our tents and as we left we recieved what can only be described as 'evil' looks from some of the people in the room. As we were due to get up early, we decided to have an early night. Although this was far from possible as the pitch we were given was more uneven than the number 3! When we woke up in the morning we exited our tents and stepped into what appeared to be a puddle the size of an olympic swimming pool. My socks and shoes were wet for the rest of the 2 week trip!! Thankfully we soon departed Purn International Holiday Park and i shall never return there again. I will not be stepping one foot in a 15 mile radius of the park! I do not recommend it to anyone! I'm not sure if i would even give it a half star out of 1000! 3 words to sum up this park: Shoddy/Rude/Awful

Date visited: 03/07/2012

Review by Gary Meek on 31st July, 2012

Add your review
As a family we loved this site and spent many wonderful holidays there from 1995 on and off,We were there in a touring caravan. In 2008 we completely fell out of love with this site however and have not returned since. I was trying to coax the family into returning this summer. My main problem was with the change of management, which had arrive in 2007, they were attempting very cheap repairs and upgrades to facilities.Travelling from Scotland I had always considered Somerset and it's people to be absolutely fantastic. The last year very nearly changed my previous beliefs. The site seemed so unfriendly and staff and many seasonal pitchers were not at all welcoming and bordered on being downright nasty. I would love to return to this site for all it's good qualities which I will list also. The club, the Somerset people, the lovely child friendly pool, the exquisite setting, the weather is fabulous, the close proximity to so many local attractions, the lovely woman who made all the holiday makers a great chinese curry, the free entertainment & the wonderful static owners who made even us northeners feel welcome. Sadly though Purn lost it's appeal for this family 4 years ago and we have not returned since. The reason for this was the unfriendly management and unfriendly changes to what was!!! a fantastic site.

Date visited: August 2008

Review by Chris Bailey on 28th July, 2012

Add your review
Just to let others know that we booked a holiday at Purn through Sun Holidays to commence in November. Purn insisted that their policy on bedding was to charge £20 pounds even if you do not intend to use it. We have had several Sun holidays and all have given the choice regarding bedding. We always take our own due to a skin complaint which means we have to take special bedding that has been laundered with a a particular product. I cancelled our forthcoming short break on priciple as Purn would not budge on their policy and told me to contact Sun Holidays and they would re-allocate us to another site. Sun holidays were very good and did this to a location in Poole where laundery was as usual optional.

Review by Mrs Kaur on 24th July, 2012

Add your review
What can l say? I have been booking Sun Holidays for the past 15 years and never ever had a problem. This site is the worse l have even know, staff were very rude and abrupt, no manners what so ever.The caravan was disgusting that you wouldn't even take a dog in there, carpet was disgusting, cutlery was odds and bods. The worse thing they come knocking the door on Monday at 9am for the linen, CHECKOUT wasn't until 10am , so what was the rush??????? I hadn't even locked the caravan door and they were back asking for the key????? This site is awful and l would never recommend it to anybody, my children were appalled. We felt as us being a asian family, like they have never seen asians on ther site were racist.

Date visited: 20th July 2012

Review by Liz McCann on 21st July, 2012

Add your review
Just back from a super holiday at Purn Holiday Park. I don't understand what the other reviews are on about as we had a fabulous time. This holiday park is not a "Haven" Holiday, where you have to be constantly shelling out money. It is a beautifully kept park and the club is a "social club" which is fabulously laid back, the staff are all friendly and obliging. I am a great believer in that if you are friendly and polite then you get the same back and visa versa!! I travelled down with my husband, son & dog from Scotland and the journey was well worth it. The caravan was clean and bright and that's all you can ask for. The club had Bingo, Hoy a quiz and karaoke while we were there and we had a ball, all the staff were up for a laugh and joined in with everything and made you feel as if you were with friends. A big Hello to Tracey & her hubby who ran the TK's kitchen and cooks fab food!! They are a lovely couple and seem to work incredibly hard but still have time for a smile and a chat also Pam who was running the entertainment on the nights we were in and tried to include everyone (well done!) and the bar and site staff who joined in with the Karaoke and gave us a laugh with their antics! all in all a fabulous holiday. Oh and one last thing, yes we did manage to lose our barrier pass and were not in the slightest put out at not getting our deposit back as it was entirely our own fault! Keep up the good work Purn Holdiay Park as we would go back in a heartbeat!

Date visited: 16/07/12

Review by Jill Andrews on 18th July, 2012

Add your review
I was so worried after reading all the terrible views of this place that we nearly didnt go!! I'm so pleased that we did though because it turned out to absolutly nothing like i was dreading. We booked through the Sun newspaper deal for 3 nights (we have done alot of these cheap sun holiday over the past 8 years & never been disappointed) We do not expect much for such a bargain break & therefore were pleasantly surprised by the standard of our accommodation we did not upgrade just the basic sun holiday caravan for 2 adults & 2 children age 13 & 9. Our caravan was lovely clean comfortable spacious & equiped with all we need for the long weekend inc. free heating which we did use even though it was june cos the weather was terrible. Check in was quick & easy we arrived at 4pm on the fri, didnt have to queue, the chap who checked us in in the shop was charming took his time to explain everything as we were new to the site. I would point out though, that the shop is very small & although i bought a newspaper there every morning we did the rest of our grocery shopping in the nearby supermarket. To be fair i can not comment on the club we tend to use these types of holidays as a base to explore an area we have never been to before & so we didnt go in to the club at all, the children however did use the pool ( yes you do have to pay extra to use the pool but to be honest it was resonable for a few hours entertainment) children had the pool to them selves & were quite happy playing & i could sit & read my book & keep an eye on them in relative peace. Weston Super Mare didnt have much to do but we did find some interesting place to visit & the pier & museum are well worth a look (my children loved the fun fair at the end of the pier). Unfortunately the weather was awful while we were there so we couldnt enjoy the beach. All in all though we had a great family break & i have no complaints at all about Purn Holiday Park, please dont be put off by the bad reviews if you want a cheap but cheerful caravan holiday then this place is just fine.

Date visited: 8th June 2012

Review by rjl on 17th July, 2012

Add your review
Just wanted to warn others intending to stay here. Booked holiday for later in year, confirmation came through with £15 compulsory fee for bedding on. I have had many breaks through the sun over the years and have never paid for bedding I always take my own All sun newspaper literature states linen is optional however purn park say it's compulsory, pay or they'll cancel my holiday - nice ! I'm currently awaiting advice from trading standards and the sun.

Date visited: na

Review by Lesley Burns on 29th May, 2012

Add your review
We have just got back from a Sun holiday at Purn Holiday Park and myself, my husband and grand daughter, had a fabulous time. I have taken the time to read some of the reviews, before writing my own and i dont think that half of these people have been to the same site as us, or are they just being 'nasty'. Firstly on entering the site we checked in at the office, and the lady there was very friendly and helpful gave us our key and yes we did pay £10 deposit for the barrier to the site but we got it back when we checked out, so whats the problem. Our caravan although not new was clean and suitable for us. We had clean sheets, yes we had to light the gas cooker with a match but its hardly rocket science is it. We went into the club on Friday night and had a laugh to ourselves as we also thought it resembles the Phoenix club, and belive me there are a few characters in there, but we had such a laugh. The guy doing the entertainment was great and tries hard to come up with family entertainment, we played deal or no deal, family fortunes and catchphrase. Then karaoke. Saturday up and off to the beach 5 minutes in the car so again location a strong point. Saturday night singer on in the club, was ok, got up myself and had a dance, but once again in fits of laughter with the people in the club who made us feel like we had known them for ages. We had sunday lunch in the club and it was fab, meat cooked to perfection along with the parsnips and roasties, would definately eat there again. To sum up we had a great weekend, we didnt use the pool so i cant comment on that, but overall the site is kept clean, they do their bit for the environment by having various recycling bins, all the staff are very friendly,food in the club is excellent, bar prices are reasonable, i felt that my grand daughter was safe whilst she played on the park, and we cant wait to go back again, also we would have no reservations in recommending it to friends and family. A BIG THUMBS UP FOR PURN

Date visited: 25th May 2010

Review by Andrew Walker on 28th April, 2012

Add your review
Well, where do you start with this one, I'm not sure to be honest, after years of sun holidays staying at perhaps hundreds of different sites, some bad some good but none have been so shocking as this, it's a well out dated site with the original " the Pheonix Club " Onsite, the management are extremely rude with no manors or respect " the like it or just go F**K off attitude" . The 1st caravan we were given was ready for being collected for scrap, it was old, very damp, had been patched up by some weekend DIYer & nothing matched, painted in all different colours ( pretty much like the donkey outside the shop ), we couldnt have stopped 5 mins in there without serious health issues so we went back to the site shop to ask if we could be moved, only ask I tell you, but was met with a barrage of abuse, it's not damp and is the best Onsite she told me, which was a concern, anyway they would not move us without a charge of £70 as they said I must upgrade baring in mind that only 10 minutes earlier there was no upgrades & remember his caravan is the best one here, so as we really couldn't stay here n there's no vacancies in the nr by resort we had to stay, the upgraded caravan was no different apart from being a little cleaner, the extras which were supposed to be the upgrade were missing or just not available, the heating was plug in oil burners, the tv was a 12" flat screen, so al in all the same van but adding 2 heaters warrants the charge of £70, they wouldn't budge on the price and said it was the silver service from hoeseasons, which I think they need to send a rep down to look at because all I can say is that it's damaging there reputation as I won't stay at another site with their name in the title, the site has people living on it by the look of it all year, it felt like a travellers site, it's very small but could be a gold mine, it needs a compete over haul to bring upto date, i never complain usually but felt the need here, and one last thing, if you come here with kids, don't let them wander alone, the residents here drive like nutters, so be careful, I would never stay here again, shame tho,

Date visited: 27/4/12

Review by Pauline on 27th April, 2012

Add your review
Why do people leave a comment in the caravan when they check out and not come into reception if they have a problem, it makes me so mad that they can say I’m going to plaster comments about your caravan park all over the internet!!! Ms Tucker from Gloucestershire was on a sun £9.50 Holiday, she was in a 35’x12’ heated caravan and paid us £20.00 for a 4 person bedding pack & £18.00 service charge, Ms Tucker arrived at 2pm, check in is 4pm we have a system were you can pay for an early check in for £10.00 as we had four people paid for this when Ms Tucker tried to check in she was told she would have to pay the £10.00, that did not seem to be a problem, We have a security barrier to get out of the park that requires a swipe card, we ask for a £10.00 deposit for this and we return it on departure, why should this be a problem!!!!! You get the money back, Ms Tucker did not have a car, but we explained what would happen if she got a Taxi!! How would the Taxi driver get out, also if they needed an ambulance? Then she goes onto our new indoor heated pool, it costs £10.00 for all her party to swim for her short break that works out 62.5 pence per day to use the pool from 10am until 7pm, Ms Tucker also comments about one day when she was in the pool some one was mopping the pool floor!!!!!!! This had upset her! WHY I ask myself , when people are getting in and out of a pool the floor gets wet, is it not better to get it moped up!!!!!! Or would you rather some one slip over!!!!!!!! Next complaint the information booklet in your caravan is full of Do’s and Don’ts (Ms Tucker’s words) in the booklet we have, how to light your gas fire & oven, club open times, menu’s, if you have a problem out of hours what to do, Recycling information, pool rule’s, and the ONE DON’T, please do not touch the gas bottles if you think you have a problem with your gas report it to reception or after hours a on call warden!!!!! Well I suppose Ms Tucker does not like Health & Safety. Now I really think this next one did upset Ms Tucker, the only night they went into the club house a off duty staff member who lives on the park was playing bingo and won, not once but twice, Well Ms Tucker sorry you did not win but that is the name of the game, we are a small caravan park and off duty staff are allowed to play bingo, like you said in your comment WE ARE A JOKE, Well sorry love you are the JOKE, now if you want to plaster comments over the internet like you state go ahead love.

Date visited: 23 april 12

Review by M B on 6th January, 2012

Add your review
It is such a shame when you work hard for your money, book a holiday that is not cheap and have a vision of up to date, clean accomodation as according to the brochure only to find on arrival it is nothing like that.....! I will never return to this site again. Central heating was 2 halogen heaters..No double glazing. Filthy carpets and overall shoddy tired accomodation.....

Date visited: oct 2011

Review by G Brassington on 17th September, 2011

Add your review
First and last time at Purn. Could not believe Hoseseasons caravan, carpets filthy and badly stained, gas fire rusty, fridge rusty and only worked on full, shower/bath had no mixer tap control so either scalding or cold, shower curtain filthy with mildew, shower hose and taps green, couch and cushions faded and grubby, single bed mattress stained and springs prodded through, cooker not easy to light and grill pan rack rusty, no bread bin, no covered rubbish bin and draughts through doors and windows terrible. For just under £300 for week not a good experience at all. Foolishly I unpacked but if anyone else gets this van Y9 suggest you don't and get moved

Date visited: 9 - 16 Sept 2011

Review by Robesh Strokimovski on 5th September, 2011

Add your review
family and us stay in uK in may for holidays. its was first time in UK. sorry for delay writing this review since we have family emergency means we have no computer because of the bear. we all stay in van very nice. we liked the water in the van it was very clean. nice for children to bath with other children in big pool. only few miles walk is local shops and attractives. we loved the beach and fishing from sand. my smallest children enjoy many entertain from the bar and reasonable prices drinks always. also not speak good english but the staff understand us well BY TALK loud and show. When we save money we come back to uK for holidays in their clean places.

Date visited: may

Review by Purn Holiday Park on 22nd July, 2011

Add your review
Further to the review by "Lee" on the 11th July 2011, following an alleged stay at Purn Holiday Park, we would like to respond as follows: "We have checked both our booking system and complaints file and can find no such record of this person having stayed at our Park on the 12th May 2011 as stated, neither can we find any record of a complaint. We would like to point out that Purn Holiday Park staff are highly tained and certainly not rude or abrupt. Our staff are here to ensure that guests have a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and to assist guests in any way they can. Our caravans are cleaned to the highest standards by our fully trained staff, along with the swimming pool which is checked every hour between 9am and 7pm by our Resort Manager. Our Clubhouse was fully refurbished 18 months ago, so we cannot understand how it can be described as "dated". Our Clubhouse is open between 9am and 11am and 5pm to 11.30pm, 12.30pm on a weekend. Our Arcade, Toilets and Laundry are open throughout the day between 9am and 11.30pm. Our prices are extremely competitive, with Breakfasts starting at 99p and Dinner starting at £3.50. We believe that this complaint by "Lee" is a Hoax, as no record of this guest staying at Purn Holiday Park on or near this date can be found. However, if we are mistaken, we would like to invite this person to contact us regarding this complaint so that we can discuss and look into this matter appropriately. Kind Regards

Date visited: n/a

Review by lee on 11th July, 2011

Add your review
OH god where do i start... from minuute we arrived we were poorly treated.. rude staff, abrupt. caravan was filthy... swimming pool grotty. dated club.. hardly open expensive. just dont bother...

Date visited: 12/5/2011

Review by Susan Allen on 14th June, 2011

Add your review
I have booked a holiday through the Sun newspaper back in February at this park. No confirmation received from Purn so I phoned them 7 June, they confirmed the booking, said they had sent out a confirmation back in February (I didn't receive it) however a sum of £40 was due to cover facilities etc (I have no problem with that). I asked about a caravan upgrade and was told I would be called back the following day I also asked for the confirmation to be sent again. 13 June still no contact and no written confirmation, called the park again, no upgrade available (fine no problem) but an extra fee of £50 in addition to £40 is added because of late booking??? I spoke to the site manager to query this, she was extremely rude, told me I have to pay the extra £90 and then put the phone down!!!! Would that give you confidence about this park????

Date visited: July 2011

Review by John Mortimer on 17th April, 2011

Add your review
My wife and I booked a holiday through Hoseasons with no hassle at all when we got to Purn Holiday Park we were pleasently suprised. We had read some of the reviews but our experiance and holiday was very good lovely new caravan small shop with fresh milk and bread daily breakfasts from 99p daily very good club the weather was very warm shame the out door pool was not open but it was very clean I would have liked a swim can't understand where the previous reviewer Tom went we only wish our booking was the Royal wedding weekend Purn is putting on a good show,after our visit we dont belive all we read now and we will be back.

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Tom Kertoi on 5th April, 2011

Add your review
Strange place, lacks atmosphere, feels dated, cold showers, crappy pool, old but clean caravan, mixed opinion on staff; management rude, site staff pleasant

Date visited: March 2011

Review by Emile Keyway on 7th March, 2011

Add your review
We stayed quite a while ago and the mixed reviews on here are interesting. We had a reasonable caravan. However the site feels quite old and dated and there are better ones further out of town. Brean down is worth a visit. We also lost an item which was reported to reception but they didnt hint at helping us to find it or even take our details. We might stay again but I doubt it.

Date visited: September 2010

Review by Mr Darge on 11th December, 2010

Add your review
I know that these websites can be used by unscrupulous persons to reap havoc and settle old scores and I can see that this may be the case here, My family and I holidayed at Purn Holiday Park this year and I must say that from the start of the holiday to the finish of the holiday it was great, we arrived Friday afternoon and was booked in by a very friendly staff member who gave us lots of information regarding the park, when we got to our caravan it was not a new one but was very clean, the sheets we had ordered were at the foot of the beds, my wife and child were very pleased as we have had problems at other site regarding soiled sheets, we unpacked and went into Weston Super Mare we saw the big wheel was open and went onto it, what fabulous views over to Wales, we then went onto the new pier, that was a tad expensive but it was eye opening I had a job to get my son away from it. My wife decided not to cook so we had a meal at the club house, I must say very well priced and a very good meal, we had a game of bingo and a game called twingo, we even won £35.00 we had a really good night. We returned to the club house on the Saturday night and saw a very good free cabaret, the bar staff were very nice and remember our names; on the Sunday we decided to have the Carvery at the club house, what a wonderful Sunday lunch that was the veg was fresh and the meat was cooked to perfection, all in all we had a great weekend at Purn and would recommend this park to all my family and friends, we will be coming back in 2011,

Date visited: oct 2010

Review by Booth on 29th October, 2010

Add your review
To the lady who lost her ipod iwould just like to say my hubby droped his wallet in the club house one night, the following morning a member off staff came to our caravan and said that when the bar staff were closing they found the wallet, the reception staff went through all the bookings to find what caravan we had, all our spending money was in the wallet, i some how dont think that the staff would of not been intrested in your ipod, I would once again like to thank the staff at Purn Holiday Park. we will be booking for 2011.

Date visited: Sep 10

Review by Mrs Heeley on 29th October, 2010

Add your review
Visited Somerset and stayed at Purn Holiday Park,had a great time staff lovey and very helpful, clubhouse cheap to drink and eat in, entertainment on every night kids loved it. Caravan clean and well equipped. Will try to go back next year.

Date visited: 22thOctober 2010

Review by David on 28th October, 2010

Add your review
Hi Everyone, All I can say on here is its easy to follow the leader and slate Purn Holiday Park, however im not going to do that cos genuinely me and my family had a fantastic time. I came from the scottish borders and it was well worth the drive down. The accommodation was clean and tidy, and the receptionists were very friendly, as were all the staff. nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment in the club house was great and again the staff in the bar took time to talk to us and took an interest in our kids as well with good entertainment. Thoroughly enjoyable and I will definitely be recommending this park to my friends and family and we are already planning to book up for next year as well.

Date visited: 1st October 2010

Review by marks on 25th October, 2010

Add your review
spoilt holiday, daughter left ipod touch in clubhouse just before closing time, on return was nowhere to be found and staff not really interested. this hit home really hard as it was the last thing her grandad bought her before he passed over.

Date visited: 22nd oct - 25th oct 2010

Review by Karen hunter on 4th October, 2010

Add your review
booked a sun holiday they put us on purn holiday park. arrived Friday. booked in and was allocated green 5 caravan. when we opened the door to this caravan the stench of dogs was so overwhelming. this caravan looked and smelt like it had not been cleaned for a year. we asked to be moved to another caravan which there did straightaway .this caravan was not much better.we did not even unpack. we packed up the car and booked in to the haven park at burnham on sea. (wot a great park.) returned to purn in the morning (2/10/2010)to hand back the keys and was greeted with oh are you leaving. to sum up purn holiday park i would not let a dog stay in the caravans that they allocated to us. so give this site a very wide berth. we will be emailing the sun with a very strong complaint.

Date visited: 1/10/2010

Review by Mr Mrs Bailey on 21st September, 2010

Add your review
we stayed at purn holiday park 6 years ago and was shocked at the state of the place, it was very run down so we decided to keep away until some friends went early this year and said we should go back and give it a try, what a change, it has been upgraded to a very high standard the staff are very polite we had a great time and i would say if you have not been back to this park in a few years you must take a look at it now, the price's are very cheep to, well done to the new owners who have turned this park around, thank you and we will be back very soon.

Date visited: September 10

Review by K Dyer on 9th August, 2010

Add your review
We stayed here about 10yrs ago, and this was the first time back, it has not changed much. The touring facilities are way outdated, there is not that much for the children to do, kids entertainment is limited. There is an out door pool which is supposed to be heated!! The camp is mainly for statics and seasoned tourers, there are alot of regulars, who seem not to use the club house or shop etc. The showers need a total refurb. As there are only 1 set of toilets between the camping field and the club house, there is a tend for them to be a bit unclean. overall it is not for the tourer.

Date visited: 3rd aug -8th aug

Review by Rachel Phillips on 8th June, 2010

Add your review
Just came back from Purn Holiday Park and we had a fantastic time! The people were very friendly and always remembered your name. The children loved the play area, which was small but is it exactly what it says on the tin - a play area, and the pool was spotless and a great place to sit and enjoy the sun. The clubhouse was very reasonable with good entertainment ie a quiz and karaoke each night. The caravan was of very high quality, very clean and had been well looked after. The site is a great base for many local attractions too. Will definately go back some day and will definately recomment to others.

Date visited: 31.05.2010

Review by Robert hurd on 29th May, 2010

Add your review
My wife and i have been to Purn holiday park for our last 3 holidays through the sun and we have always had a very nice time the staff are always friendly and the caravans are well equipped.The lady on reception always remembers us when we come for our holiday.

Date visited: 3 may 2010

Review by colin & jackie on 14th May, 2010

Add your review
Just returned from a great week at Purn. Although the season has just started it was very quiet. All the staff and "residents" are very frendly, The pool looks really good and will be great in the hot sunshine, with the seating area. The caravan we stayed in was very comfortable with loads of storage and everthing we needed. We didnt try the food on site, but the Cathrine's inn (Hungry Horse) just over the road was very reasonable. The only downside I can write about is the number of "residents" although very frendly, and speak to you evertime you see them, they will be the downfall of this camp, because they will not use the club, site shop, and other facility's through the week because they are not on holiday and some may have work. even the touring vans look like they are on prermanat pitches.

Date visited: 10 May 2010

Review by Dan Soulknight on 13th May, 2010

Add your review
Bit run down now really, everything needs a lick of paint and freshening up, i agree with the person about the carvery but the rest is bland. I would like to see a more modern entertainment scene as this feels a bit brian potter and pheonix nights, much like him (brian potter) there seems to be lots of corner cutting to save money, current climate I suppose. Probably wouldnt stay again as theres much better value for money closer in town.

Review by Terry and Tess Stickle on 13th May, 2010

Add your review
nothing bad but nothing great, was just ok. I dont believe in writing on here to vent any problems, i think that should happen direct with the managers, a few things raised but generally sorted straight away. Pleasant enough just shame the local teenagers hang around its a little un-nerving walking back from the bar with them sat on benches. I asked the boss man to move them on but they just come back again. Music a bit loud at times too but depends what you're looking for in a holiday. I'd prefer somewhere more peaceful.

Review by Jenny Taylor on 25th February, 2010

Add your review
I stayed with my girlfriend and her sister. We've been to many parks together and they were very welcoming, especially due to our relationship (some parks dont allow same sex parties) the owner Jeff and his wife Rose were polite. Its nice to have a real sense of family atmosphere on the park, this starts with the owners and his mum running reception.

Date visited: Aug 2009

Review by keith on 14th February, 2010

Add your review
i have just read most of the reviews on purn and i must say my wife and i visited the site in 2003 with friends in a touring van we had just bought. we made three more visits after the first visit we then decided to leave the caravan on site as there was a pitch available and we took it.we met so many lovely people young and old in the time spent at purn we seen a lot of changes some good some bad but that's life we seen staff changes through the years and they all tried had we are one of the couples that walked around the site with a can in the hand visiting other vans that's what its all about chilling out.the people that took over purn as owners we found very fair and willing to help in many ways don't forget people you only get out what you put in. PS see you all soon

Date visited: 2004 to 2009

Review by Sophie on 11th February, 2010

Add your review
I have just been reading these reviews and feel that I should have a say. I stayed with my family last year over the May bank holiday. During our stay there was a terrible accident where a young girl fell through a glass door in the toilet block damaging her face. The site was completely shabby and very dangerous. I am pleased to hear that some improvements have been made but do feel that it is probably due to the accident last year. The site at that time was completely not safe for children, the pool was empty under construction with no fencing round and the play area dangerous. Hopefully in years to come the site will turn around and become a better place to stay.

Date visited: 23/05/2009

Review by suzanne creel on 15th January, 2010

Add your review
having been on a few parks in brean and weston we have been on purn this is are second year thing are great jeff and the staff are lovely they are all help full had a lovely year and hope to have many more all the site is being up dated new pool and playground which is great and more changes to come. thank you jeff for a great new year party ther is nine of us moved our vans on at the same time and none of us got any problem things are great to all of you reading the reviews go to purn

Date visited: seasonal pitch

Review by Chris Peacock on 8th January, 2010

Add your review
I stayed with my Wife and 2 small children. I must say the pool was in a terrible mess, I even heard (hopefully rumour) of a claim of some children that had been injured around the pool area and showers. To Rose's defence the owners werent too bad, they look like they need a blooming good holiday themselves, the madam looked a bit like a tired susan boyle! Maybe she could do a song in the bar as the entertainment was at best like Britains got talent rejects. All in all a poor park well under par. Update and revitalise and get some new life and it would be great.

Date visited: July 2009

Review by Rose on 17th November, 2009

Add your review
Re: Lesley Knott's Review I have had a Static Holiday home on Purn Holiday Park for about eight years so read Lesley Knott's review with disbelieve. The present owners bought the Park approximately three years ago, since then we as owners have had new showers & toilets and a new Laundry unit. The swimming pool this year was completly re-furbished from new tiles inside to a new Patio area around the pool.As for being green on the date of the supposed visit 9/10/09, the pool closed at the end of September so she couldnt have gone near it as it is fenced off & padlocked at the gate.As for being green the pool was at its clearest all summer and even now as I write has not turned green! Maybe this person was at another park as I spoke to the office about this review, which in my view is totally unfair and not true and wait for it there is not a booking for this person on the said date.It is a shame people can use this website for a vendetta. I am sure the owners would welcome any reviews if founded good or bad but please if you have comments use your own name but speak to the office first to try and sort out your problems.

Date visited: 11 months

Review by Lesley Knott on 21st October, 2009

Add your review
This is a very run down park. Having been in the business myself I know first hand what to expect as a minimum from a holiday park. Unfortunately this site is severely under par. The swimming pool is a death trap the sides are covered in a slimey film that children can slip on, thats if the green water didnt put you off already! The food on a sunday carvery was edible but basic at best. However the most disappointing aspect of our holiday was the management and staff attitude. I often say that my husband is a child at heart however to have a withered lady talk to your 54 year old husband like a 14 year old is more than condasending! we tried to let it not ruin our holiday but these managers/receptionists need to realise they are what make the holiday and assist in good reviews. I think they are maybe too old to be in this business now. A YOUNG vibrant couple could run the park with more sucess. We would not return to this park.

Date visited: 09/10/09

Review by S.Stone on 30th September, 2009

Add your review
I read the bad comments after I had booked at Purn Holiday Park so went for my short break with trepidation. On arrival with my paperwork I was checked in by a friendly reception lady, given the caravan key & shown where it was, she said if there were any problems in the caravan to come straight back and it would be sorted. When I got to the caravan I was pleasantly surprised, it was very clean and had all you would expect for a self catering break, the sheets & pillowcases were in the bedroom as ordered. After we unpacked we decided to explore, the swimming pool was very clean and the water clear with plenty of tables, chairs & sun loungers for the number of people by the pool.We decided to join them and after our swim used the showers in the toilets, the toilets were very clean & showers great infact my husband & son used them sometimes as there were four of us it saved time. We went to reception for leaflets on places to go and the man there advised us to go to Clarkes Village with Wells Catherdral & Cheddar nearby, he was very helpful with directions, we visited Weston & went on the Big Wheel with fantastic views, all in all we had a lovely break the caravan park clean & well kept, we will certianly visit again next year.

Date visited: 4/9/09

Review by JOHN on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
We stayed in a caravan on a sun holiday 07/09/09 we read bad reviews about the the camp manager (grey haird man)and the and the cleanliness. However we were plesently surprised to find that the caravan was very clean, The camp manager and his wife could not be more helpfull and plesant. We would not hesitate to book another holiday there. John from essex

Date visited: 07/09/09

Review by Henry on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
Being a very open minded person, I try to steer clear of these ‘user’ review sites, however after reading the reviews posted on this site, I feel I must write a review myself. I have recently returned from a weeks stay at Purn Holiday Park. On arrival, I noted that there is a balance of both new and old static caravan’s, to which look very well looked after. When entering the office, I was greeted by the owner Eve. She was very accommodating and was willing to answer any questions we had. When shown to our caravan, were pleasantly pleased however, the caravan smelt as though people had previously been allowed to smoke indoors. We ventured down to the clubhouse for our evenings entertainment. It was ok. The staff were friendly, however one felt sorry for the young ‘girl’ left to compare the evening. She was sadly unable to gain control of the ‘small’ audience when trying to call and compare her way through both bingo and game show sessions. We continued to use the clubhouse of an evening and was content to accept that, being a small caravan park, it’s entertainment budget was small. How wrong were we? We ventured down to the clubhouse on our final night to be greeted by a larger-than-life character that, to my understanding isn’t on the payroll. This ‘compare’ should be on the payroll. He was amazing. He held us and I believe everybody in the club in his hands and knew exactly what we as a family and indeed all who were present wanted. When not in the dilapidated dj box, he made a point of speaking to everybody including us, who he didn’t know. He truly made us part of the holiday park. My children absolutely loved him. He made an appropriate amount of fuss over them telling us that he too worked with children of their age. The only suggestion I would make to the management is to snap this young man up as an entertainments secretary or entertainments manager. Give him a pay, make him staff. He would pull the crowds into the club. He was super. HE MADE OUR HOLIDAY! Thank you Purn for introducing this ‘star’ to our holiday. We are coming back – but only when this guy is in the DJ box! Cheers!

Date visited: Early Sept. 09

Review by Geoffrey Carol on 2nd September, 2009

Add your review
Just read the comments and have just had a weeks holiday at Purn Holiday Park. I cant believe I have been to the same place, friendly reception, clean toilets, clean showers, FREE club entertainment, very good large playing field for football, cricket and games for the children. Swimming pool is excellent and safe, there are rules and so they should be, plenty to do in the area, the wheel on weston front is excellent, roll on the pier being finished to put the icing on the cake. I shall keep on going to Purn Holiday Park and judging by the previous terminology I wouldnt think he was a true caravaner anyway. Keep up the good work you are doing Purn.

Date visited: 08/08/09

Review by Carol on 27th August, 2009

Add your review
Just read the comments and have just had a weeks holiday at Purn Holiday Park. I cant beleave that I have have been to the same place. Friendly reception,clean toilets, clean free showers, club entertainment very good,large playing field for football, cricket and general games for the children, swimming pool is excellent and safe there are rules and so there should be, plenty to do in the area the wheel on Weston front was brilliant, roll on the Pier being finished to put some iceing on the cake. I shall keep going to Purn Holiday Park and judging by the previous writers terminoligy I hardly think he is a true caravaner, anyway keep up the good work you are doing Purn

Date visited: 8th August 2009

Review by carl on 23rd August, 2009

Add your review
We have just got back from a weekend at purn in our tourer. We have been going there now and again for the last 15 years and in that time it has gone down and down and down, its now at rock bottom. The site is shabby to say the least, tents and tourers are crammed in so close you cant breath. There is nowhere for children to play because every bit of space is being used by campers and long stay tourers. The kids park has gone they had to take it down before it fell down, oh but dont worry there is now a usable swiming pool, BUT BEWARE OF MR AND MRS HITLER ( the owners of the site) because if the kids are splashing about or look as if they are enjoing there selfs then THEY WILL GET YA. Bye the way i have no young children me and my wife are in our 50s. The worst thing about the site is the owners they are arrogant arseholes (both of them) they treat you like somthing they have stood in. AS i said we have been here several times over the last few years and three times since Hitler took over the site, the last twice we had no real problem with them but we had heared people on site telling of the problems they have had with them. We have a friend on the site in a tourer who was there all last week, we asked him to book us a pitch for this weekend, we told him we would be ariving at aprox 7pm friday eve. He booked the pitch and told us to ring him when we are near the site and he will show us where the pitch is, ( we have done this before on several occations) as the office is closed at 5pm. We arived at the site at 8pm due to traffic jams on m5, our friend was there and took us to our pitch, we set up van and went for somthing to eat and a drink. Next morning i went to office to pay for pitch 2 nights £50 ( its the school hollidays £££££££). When i walked in i said hello i have come to pay for pitch, with a smile. The smile was soon wiped of my face as mrs hitler soon lashed into me telling me i should have booked in at the club and payed last eve, i said well i did not know otherwise i would have and i explained i did this last time i came paid the next morning. Then Mr Hitler started well i came out feeling like a 2 year old being told off for paying for my pitch. This ruined my weekend and has led me to write this review. THIS SITE IS SO BAD NOW I WILL NEVER GO BACK, THE OWNERS WHO ARE IM TOLD IN THER 70S SHOULD NEVER BE RUNNING THIS SITE THERE ATTITUDE IS DISGUSTING. BEST PLACE FOR BOTH OF THEM IS THE VILLA IN FRANCE OR THERE YACHT.

Date visited: 21/8/09

Review by Abbey on 20th July, 2009

Add your review
We stayed in a 6 berth caravan which was a nice size and was clean although it could have done with a good dust in some corners. I think that there could have been a better website for this site and answering emails would be helpful. After reading the other reviews YES the older gentleman who runs the park is totally condescending both on the phone and in person. His wife was better.

Date visited: 17.6.09

Review by helen balamir on 14th July, 2009

Add your review
We took a sun holiday to Purn Holiday park.I read really bad reviews before I left and was quite worried.But was very surprised when we got there.The owner and his wife were lovely.(the owners wife couldnt of been more helpful!)It is a small park and was very quiet alot of the caravans are park homes so was more like a retirement village.There wasnt alot to do for the children.But apparently there is more entertainment in the summer holidays.Also I understand the childrens play area will be rebuilt for the school holidays(it had been pulled down due to its poor condition.)One good thing about it being quiet was that we had the swimming pool mostly to ourselves and we were very lucky with the weather!There is a family friendly pub accross the road and an Indian restaurant /take away just down the road a bit.Not a bad park(all be it very quiet for families,out of season)Plenty of great attractions nearby.

Date visited: 29th july 2009

Review by PAUL on 5th July, 2009

Add your review
Just reading some of the reviews here about purn farm, couldn't resist writing a few words. Used to stay in our caravan on holiday here every year when I was a kid in the seventies. Used to be just a field, with a shop, and toilets, and a kids playground with nothing more than a sandpit, swings, and a really big slide, that was great fun. Anyone else remember? Site used to be fab, then it got over commercalised in the late eighties, and was totally ruined, and attracted all the wrong kinds of people. Judging by the reviews here, that is still the case. Makes you wonder if progress is really all its cracked up to be. Oh for the good old days......

Date visited: 10/06/08

Review by hml on 21st April, 2009

Add your review
Went to view this site as I considered taking a seasonal pitch. I usually ignore reviews and keep an open mind. It's quite a large site and on entrance looks ok, however, on inspection it does look rather shabby and 'tired'. I could see there were materials around by the pool which would suggest a makeover in place, this is badly needed. I think with a fresh burst of decorating/updating this could be a lovely site. The showers smelt very damp on entrance which was offputting, but again, a makeover could do wonders

Date visited: 18/04/09

Review by Honest Reviewer on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
Shabby, unkempt, diabolical, rude, unprofessional - these words don't do justice to what I thought of this park. After a recent visit in our tourer, we were taken to an old static pitch by a tall, grey haired man who talked 'down' to us. Both my wife and I are retired teachers and do not appreciate being talked down too. We are seasoned caravaners and will never, ever, ever visit this dirty, unloved caravan park again. We will venture further into Brean Sands and be happy to pay the extra fuel cost rather than stay here. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING- One other thing, a FAMILY holiday park that doesn't have locking doors on shower cubicles is absolutely appalling. Couples who have children, don't visit, anything could happen in their toilet blocks. A Horrific Incident waiting to happen! If somebody asked me to comment on this site I would say - GOD HELP THE HOLIDAY HOME OWNERS, THEIR STUCK WITH THE MANAGEMENT - GOOD ON THE TOURING VANS, THEY CAN LEAVE WHEN THEY WANT TO OR SHOULD I SAY - WHEN THEIR TOLD TO AS THE CASE SEEMS TO BE!

Date visited: February 2009

Review by Sophie on 14th November, 2008

Add your review
i visited purn for a short break from matters at home and when i got there i was warmly welcomed by lovely jeoff and his lovely wife ev.. the caravan i stayed in was nice but not the best ive seen ... But my holiay was okaii x

Date visited: 26th january

Review by mandy on 29th October, 2008

Add your review
In 2007 i decided to take advantage of a seasonal pitch at purn.After 2weeks on site i wanted to leave and asked the management for a refund of eighteen hundred pounds and was told sorry i don,t do refunds but if you want to leave you can.We decided to stay as we had paid in full. Showers were a disgrace there are no doors on the cubicles only a flimsy cheap curtain which are still there to date, the shop had no stock to speak of, and opening times were a joke. The takeaway was good at the start of the season when Tracy ran it but when it changed it went rapidly down hill.In July T4 on the beach in weston was a campsite nightmare 400 rowdy drunken teenagers desended on the site welcome by the owners making all the residents on site a living nightmare. there was no security, inadequate showers and toilet facilities. In general there are always people drunk,or walking round the site with beer cans in hand.I would not recommend this site to anyone especially families with young children and i would not return if it was free.

Date visited: feb-nov 2007

Review by Jim Jones on 11th October, 2008

Add your review
Having Just returned from a short break Sun Holiday at Purn Holiday Park we had a wonderful time we were welcomed by the friendly reception staff taken to our very clean caravan they gave us a free box of matches and lots of advice on where to go and asked if we had any problems of any kind to let them know this was the beginings of a memerable holiday thank you Purn.

Date visited: 12 September 2008

Review by Sally on 15th September, 2008

Add your review
The caravan we hired was perfect with lovely furnishings. But there was no waste bin, no washing up bowl, no handle on the grill, no toilet brush. Also other equipment I would have expected to find, but could live without (and had to), were a toaster, a chopping board, a bucket, a hoover, a gas lighter. Other camps I have been to were much more welcoming and provided a welcome pack (eg,matches,jcloth,scourer,tea and coffee emergency pack so welcome after a long long journey). I called at Reception to ask initially for a waste bin and a washing up bowl.The lady I spoke to just looked at me with a vacant expression and then asked the old guy to come and deal with me. He said that they don't provide bins or bowls as they are left filthy by the holidaymakers and the cleaner has to clean them.I resented the inference that this was how I would leave them.He wanted to cut down on the cleaning time and said I should use a Tesco bag! He didn't say what I should use to clean the toilet.He didn't care.He was just in it for the money and had no interest in providing equipment for basic hygiene.He was a rude and arrogant arsehole.In contrast his wife was polite and helpful. The club was never open in the evening,and the shop had very little to buy and closed before we arrived at the camp at 4pm so that was no use. The tourer vans were crammed in so close to the staic caravans that when we were laid in bed we could hear the occupants of the tourer awning zipping and unzipping their cases morning and night, and all their bodily emissions.. Would I go back- not whilst his lordship is running it.Too many decent camps to chose from, where holidaymakers requests are treated with respect.

Date visited: 8 September 2008

Review by Michelle on 24th August, 2008

Add your review
when we arrived there was no one there, it took half and hour to find a duty warden. There are no facilities for the children the playground was flooded and dangerous, the pool was dirty, there was no week day entertainment, pitches were small and flooded, the shop had no stock, the showers were usless on the hole a very dirty site with rude management.

Date visited: 9th August 2008

Review by madam on 16th August, 2008

Add your review
I think purn has improved quite a bit over the past few months and the pool may not be heated but is definatly clean and safe there and the entetainment is superb and there is a small take away with astonashing tasty food and a veryity of choice and their a shop it needs a tiny bit of improving but it quite good!

Date visited: 16/08/08

Review by Jane on 15th July, 2008

Add your review
Having been to many holiday parks we were keen to visit this one. Never again! Rude owners, place looks like it is falling apart- I'd never let anyone near the swimming pool-it's appalling. The facilities are pretty dire and to be honest you couldn't pay me to stay there again!

Date visited: July 2008

Review by Wendy on 12th July, 2008

Add your review
I have been to this caravan site a few times over the years and it has been going down hill rapidly. The pool is not heated and is very dirty. The shop is open at certain times of the day and the essentials that you may need to buy are rarely in stock. There is nothing for the children to do so it can't be classed as a family site. The club is good and the entertainment is brilliant. If the last time I went there was my first,I wouldn't go back again.

Review by Sir on 28th June, 2008

Add your review
I am really enjoying my time on Purn Holiday park. Yes the park has changed ownership, but they are approachable and willing to listen. The people who either visit or own Holiday homes on park are friendly, welcoming and most of all 'TRUE CARAVANERS'. I have and always will recomend this park to friends and family, and advise anybody to come and have a visit. The clubhouse comes alive on a weekend, with various artists and 'own' entertainment. People make the park what it is! A real flag for the park is it's kareoke sessions on a Sunday evening - they make the park a holiday venue! Come and visit - I love it!

Review by linda on 15th May, 2008

Add your review
in november purn holiday site would not have its pool area open ,there would also not be teenages around ther as the pool is closed,the shop is open for 3 hours a day if you want to buy anything there is a phone number on the door of the shop and someone will come within 3mins to open up.the site is in the hands of new owners are not rude at all.

Date visited: october 07

Review by Andrea on 8th November, 2007

Add your review
Have been a regular visitor to Somerset for the last 22 years. We have stayed at this site on three previous occasions and have been relatively happy, we spend most of our time visiting places of interest in the region. This year was SO different as we were unable to do so much travelling spend much more time 'on site'. I am unsure,but think that this site has changed ownership. The pool area was full of unruly teenagers, the shop never seems to be open and is barely stocked. As a family we found the management to be rude and very unwelcoming. Needless to say, this is one site that we will NEVER venture back to.

Date visited: 11/08/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I left England when I was 4 when I discovered that I couldnt be king - Bob Hope
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages