Quarry

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Quarry Walk Park, Cheadle

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Emma on 4th June, 2011

Add your review
Just came back from quarry walk campsite. First impression is the surroundings are beautiful. Staff on arrival were very abrupt. I felt the map on the web site was very deceiving. Fields were quite small. We couldn't get some of our pegs in the ground because of rocks and stones. The worst thing about the campsite is without question the facilities. For the tent pitches only four toilets and three showers in a porta cabin. These facilities were for both men and women to use. The toilets absolutely stank of sewage and one of the showers you could not use because the handle had fallen of the door! We stayed for six nights the smell of the toilets got worse and the door handle was never replaced. Washing up area was small and clean but no plugs for sinks! I feel this campsite could be a great place to pitch, if the staff would take some happy pills and they supply much better facilities. I would not stay here again.

Date visited: May 2011

Review by snowdon on 7th September, 2009

Add your review
we stayed in field 3 which is a little walk from toilets ect there is stone all underneath the ground so its impossible to get tent pegs in. we had electric & we had to have a exctension lead beacause it was so far away then when we woke up 1 more morning after a battering of wind & rain the wires was all in a massive puddle we had to go a day early. & omg how many bugs in all the toilets &shower dont recomend it but its nice & close 2 alton towers which was wicked

Date visited: 31st august 09

Review by Chelsie on 19th June, 2009

Add your review
First things first, if you are YOUNG, HAPPY and looking for a GOOD TIME this campsite is your worst nightmare! Upon arrival you are stereotyped & expected to pay a behaviour deposit of £100 which, in essence, you are never going to get back. Let me tell you about my 19th birthday nightmare on this site! When me and my 11 friends arrived, the did not have one of our bookings and we were made to pay again...which "was our fault" even though we had brought our confirmation which read "THANKYOU FOR YOUR PAYMENT". After this we were ordered to pay £100 deposit as mentioned above. On the first night we had our music on from the car and were told to turn it off - understandable, so we did as the owners asked. The second night, after returning from a lovely day at Alton Towers, we had a bbq as it was getting dark so when finished put a few twigs on it to keep warm. The disposable bbq was on a concrete slab and we had a bucket of water next to it. Next thing we know, the manager runs out shouting his mouth off and giving us a huge half an hour lecture about forest fires, £2,000 fines and reckless behaviour. We immediatly put out the "fire" which was, in reality, a small bbq with a few twigs on top and the managers then said we would not be getting the £100 returned. Obviously, as skint university students we queried this but were just faced with a huge argument that we were never going to win. After they had gone, we were simply sitting and talking about this unfairness and that we weren't happy about the £100 being taken. Because, of course, deposits are usually taken when damage has occurred to recover the costs of refurbishment etc..but we had not caused any damage at all. Next thing we know, the manager comes over and tells us that the police were on the way and that we had to pack up our tents and leave...even though it was 11pm and we had all consumed alcohol! We tried to talk to the manager about what exactly we had done wrong except from of course talking and he lost his cool completely and was basically just shouting his mouth off - he was absolutely unreasonable... a total ignorant pig and would not listen to a word we had to say. Soon after, we realised that a visit from the police would be a good idea as at least we could talk to them and communicate maturely. Upon their arrvial, after the manager had stupidly dialled 999, they realised that we were a good group and, in fact, there was no need for the manager to dial 999 and report an "emergency". Of course, we did not have to leave the site that night as the police did not see anything wrong with our behaviour. When we woke up the next day we were told to "leave in 10 minutes, or the police will be called again" and the managers were parading around the campsite and watching us pack away our tents. Furthermore, the facilities are VERY LIMITED...only a few toilets and ONE shower. You don't have a chance in hell of finding this campsite without a sat nav and the management here is disgusting - they are extremely rude, have very poor communication skills and are willing to risk, potentially, someone's life by making a 999 call for a bunch of uni students sat round a bbq talking. Pathetic! Campsite? More like a concentration camp! We even got wrong for standing in the doorway when we first arrived! From the very beginning we were judged for being young and as soon as we handed over that £100 we knew we would never see it again. They simply looked for a reason to not return the money...well I hope the £100 will go towards a personality transplant for the very moody manager...or better toilet/shower facilities. The only nice thing I can say about the campsite is that it is very beautiful, and with the right owners it has the potential to be a great site. But at the moment, I suggest that any young people look for another campsite in the area as thats what I'll be doing next time I return.

Date visited: 17th-19th June

Review by Roma on 15th June, 2009

Add your review
My experience at quarry walk park was also not up to standard. The facilities were good for the price however I felt the staff were rude and inhospitable. When we stayed it rained heavily and whilst waiting for taxis we were very cold and wet. They would not let us 'Hang around' in the shop. They refused to let us use their kettle for hot water and they did not let us use a socket for a hair dryer. They did not allow us to borrow a phone, and in stead one of us had to stand outside the camp in the rain to get signal. There seems to be an incongruity in the way people are treated in this camp. We felt discriminated against because we were young, despite behaving well. It was not much really to ask for the small things we did and ruined our day a bit, although we did have fun ranting about it.

Date visited: 6th to the 7th June 2009

Review by ally on 13th June, 2009

Add your review
Only advantage of the campsite is that it is near Alton Towers. Poor facilities - a far cry from what it is talked up to be on their website! We stayed in tent field 1 and our pitch happened to be on a slope, thankfully it didnít rain! Toilets were in porta cabins and very basic with only one cubical in the menís. There was also only one shower to share between tent fields 1 and 2 which was not ideal. Possibly one of the worst campsites I have visited would definitely not recommend!

Date visited: June 2009

Review by Adrian Clack on 15th September, 2008

Add your review
Yes the campsite is near Alton Towers which is why we were there but the owners were not welcoming despite not being busy, or even particularly helpful with places to eat. We were camping and while it shouldn't be that surprising at a site with quarry in the name it was annoying to find the ground was essentially a boulder field covered in little more than a layer of moss! Finally the "free showers" were never cleaned over the weekend and the few showers available were always busy with so many people on the site. Wont be going back...

Date visited: 5th-7th Sept '08

Review by Parker on 20th August, 2007

Add your review
The owners are very friendly. We stayed in a log cabin. Having stayed in one before in Bude this was very basic and small in comparrison. Very little storage space and only just big enough for 2 adults and 2 children.No door closed properly and the shower kept going cold. At over £500 for 3 nights I will not be going agian.

Date visited: 18 aug 07

Review by a haylett on 20th August, 2006

Add your review
Quarry walk could be so much better than it is. It is set in beautiful country side, but there are many aspects that let it down for me and for that reason I would not visit again. We had a tent, however the site seems to cater more for touring caravans. There are 3 camping fields , 2 of which are quite a hike to the facilities. Even if you are lucky enough to be on the closest field as we were you have access to only one toilet and shower which are in the same room! This means if someone is taking a shower you may have to wait a long time to access the toilets- not fun if you have small children! The toilets were only cleaned once a day, they were dirty and there was no soap.The reception staff were friendly, and the small shop had basic supplies, but not bread ,milk or papers! The staff also allowed their dogs to run free around the pitches, leaving crap around - as one of us discovered- not what you want when facilities are poor.The play area was limiting and a long way from the camping field. The fieldwe were on had a sheer cliff face, no fence at the top of it and only one a4 size warning that was covered by the tree leaves, again not good if you have small children.Unfortunately we attended when it poured with rain, and due to the field being on an incline we experienced excessive flooding inside of our tents.I would not recommend this site as I am quite fussy about clean showers and toilets however if you are a back to basics camper then this site may be for you as it is shelttered by trees, pretty location and the site has no regimental regimes about barbques, games etc.

Date visited: august 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All war represents a failure of diplomacy. - Tony Benn
More Quotes

On this day:
Alfred Becomes King of Wessex - 0871, English order of knighthood founded - 1348, Birth of Shakespeare - 1564, Death of Shakespeare - 1616, Charles II is crowned - 1661, First Broadcast by British Monarch - 1924, Death of Blair Peach - 1979
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages